Oregon

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$20,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

$15,000 limit

Uninsured Motorist

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Oregon AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

In the state of Oregon, an officer can give a driver a citation for holding a cell phone even if no other driving offenses are taking place.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers under the age of 18 cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In Oregon, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for drivers with a BAC of 0.15 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Oregon, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 90 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted after 30 days.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Oregon made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for offenders and diversions.

Repeat Offenders:

Minimum penalties for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for at least one year, impoundment or immobilization of offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and imprisonment or community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see longer imprisonment or community service sentences.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any bottle, can, or other receptacle that contains any amount of alcohol that is open or unsealed in his or her possession or in any area of the vehicle where it would be easily accessible, including the glove compartment, by the driver or passengers. Open alcoholic beverage container can remain in the trunk of a vehicle or behind the last upright seat or in an area not normally occupied by the operator or passenger in a vehicle with no trunk.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving if taking driver's education. If they aren't taking driver's education, they are required to get 100 supervised driving hours.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: Midnight-5am (with licensed passengers under 25 exempt)
Passenger Restriction: No passengers under 20 (first 6 months), no more than 3 passengers under 20 (following 6 months)

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of midnight and 5am (with licensed passengers under 25 exempt) and cannot drive with more than one passenger under 20 for the first six months and no more than three passengers under 20 the following six months.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 17

(Full driver's license): At the age of 17, Oregon drivers who took driver's education can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Oregon
Department of Insurance

Website: dfr.oregon.gov/Pages/index.aspx
Address:  350 Winter Street N.E., Room 200, Salem, Oregon 97310-0200
Phone:  503-947-7980 or 1-888-877-4894 (toll-free)

Oregon
DMV Information

Website:  www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/Pages/index.aspx
Phone:  541-388-6322 or 541-686-7855 or 503-299-9999 or 503-945-5000 or 7-1-1 (Statewide Relay)
Call Center Hours:
 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday thru Friday, excluding statewide holidays

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption