Pennsylvania

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$15,000 limit per person / $30,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$5,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

$5,000 limit

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Pennsylvania AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

There is no ban.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Only texting is prohibited.

Texting Ban:

In Pennsylvania, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for drivers with a BAC of 0.16 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Pennsylvania, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 6 months if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted with an Occupational Limited License (OLL).

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Pennsylvania made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

Minimum penalties for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for at least one year, impoundment or immobilization of offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and imprisonment or community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see longer imprisonment or community service sentences.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any receptacle that contains any amount of alcohol that is open or unsealed in his or her possession or in any area of the vehicle where it would be easily accessible by the driver or passengers.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 16 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 65 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which need to be at night and five need to be in inclement weather.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16.5
Night Driving Restriction: 11pm-5am
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger under 18

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 and six months are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 11pm and 5am and cannot drive with more than one passenger under 18.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 17 (w/ driver's ed and 1 year free of crash or conviction); 18 (without driver's ed)

(Full driver's license): At the age of 17, Pennsylvania drivers who took driver's education and have twelve months free of crash or conviction can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions. Drivers who didn't take driver's education must wait until they turn 18 for a full driver's license.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Pennsylvania
Department of Insurance

Website: www.insurance.pa.gov/Pages/default.aspx
Address:  1326 Strawberry Square, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120
Phone:  717-787-2317 or 1-877-881-6388

Pennsylvania
DMV Information

Website:  www.dmv.state.pa.us/
Phone:  1-800-932-4600 or 717-412-5300
Call Center Hours:
 Monday through Friday (except holidays), from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. ET.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption