Temporary Auto Insurance
|Summary Details||From the Experts...|
|About 13 percent of drivers are currently uninsured in the United States||Insurance Information Institute|
|Every state but New Hampshire required drivers to carry at least the state minimum limit for auto insurance coverage in order to legally drive||Insurance Information Institute|
|The penalties of having your insurance lapse or driving uninsured vary according to the state in which you live, but can mean fees and fines of anywhere between $25 and $5,000||States' Department of Motor Vehicles|
Get Your Rates Quote Now
To be a responsible and legal driver you need to buy short term auto insurance plans during any lapse in standard coverage.
Temporary auto insurance coverage is an important coverage option that many people may not know about. This page will answer all of the questions you may have about how to get temporary insurance so you can make an informed coverage decision.
In this article, we will answer all the questions you may have about a short term car insurance policy, 14-day car insurance coverage, cheap three-day car insurance, five-day car insurance, seven-day insurance, and more so you can make an informed short term auto insurance decision.
Not many companies offer this type of coverage, but we’ll help you find auto insurance coverages that fit your needs.
Looking for temporary auto insurance quotes? Before we get started, enter your ZIP to get your first quote on cheap temporary car insurance so you can find emergency car insurance when you need it.
So what is temporary auto insurance and when might you need it?
Is it possible to get short term car insurance? Let’s consider a few scenarios:
- You have a car in the shop for repair and need to borrow a friend’s vehicle.
- You are trying to buy a new or used car but cannot find one. In the meantime, you are using someone else’s vehicle that is not registered in your name.
- If someone uses your car and you want to make sure they are covered in addition to their own temporary car insurance policy.
- You could be helping a friend move a car or multiple cars need to be sure you have the necessary temporary insurance to move a vehicle so you’re covered for this.
- For rental cars, it could be a good idea to buy temporary car insurance.
- If you use a moving van and want to make sure you are insured behind the wheel this could be good additional coverage (a week of insurance could be all you need).
- If you are selling a car you don’t drive but want it insured for other people test driving it, this could be a good option.
- If you drive for work and need coverage until you can verify the company policy coverage fully includes you as a driver.
- If you are a student away from home and only drive occasionally
- Even if you are between insurance policies or are storing a vehicle and driving it very little, but want to make sure your insurance doesn’t lapse, then finding affordable temporary auto insurance could be right for you.
There are other names for temporary car insurance and even other forms of temporary coverage.
Non-owners car insurance is a popular choice for those who will be using another driver’s vehicle on a more regular basis. Rental car insurance is also an option for short term, long term, or regular rental car usage.
Should You Buy Temporary Auto Insurance?
Every state but New Hampshire (they require personal responsibility) requires drivers to carry auto insurance to be on the road legally (Virginia also has some special conditions). If you are caught driving without auto insurance you could be facing hefty fines and points against your driver’s license (this is especially important because about 13 percent of drivers are currently uninsured, according to the Insurance Information Institute).
Take a look at this table to see what you could be facing if you’re caught driving uninsured in your state. Carrying a temporary auto insurance card can prevent this.
|State||Fine and/or citation for driving uninsured||DMV fees for lapsed insurance|
|Alabama||$500-$1,000||Registration reinstatement fee of $200 on first offense and $400 on second offense|
|Alaska||$500||License reinstatement fee of $100 for first lapse or $250 if combined with another non-DUI related offense|
|Arizona||$500-$1,000||License reinstatement fee of $50|
|Arkansas||$50-$250||License reinstatement fee of $50|
|California||$100-$200||License reinstatement fee of $14|
|Colorado||$500||Reinstatement fee of $40|
|Connecticut||$50-$200||Reinstatement fee of $200|
|Delaware||$1,500-$3,000||DMV lapse fee of $100 per vehicle and $5 per day after first 30 days|
|District of Columbia||Not Available||DMV lapse fee of $150 and $7 per day after first 30 days to a maximum of $2,500|
|Florida||$150-$500||Registration and license reinstatement fee of $150 for first lapse, $250 for second reinstatement, $500 for third or more within three years|
|Georgia||$25-$185||Lapse of more than 10 days incurs a $25 fee if not paid within 30 days along with a $60 reinstatement fee|
|Hawaii||$500-$5,000||License reinstatement fee of $20 in Honolulu County; other counties may differ|
|Idaho||$75-$1,000||License reinstatement fee of $85|
|Illinois||$500-$1,000||Reinstatement fee of $100|
|Indiana||$250-$1,000||Reinstatement fee $150 for the first offense, $225 for a a second offense, or $300 for a third offense|
|Iowa||$250||Need to show proof of financial responsibility only after an accident, at which time at least $485 in penalties and fees incurred|
|Kansas||$1,000-$2,500||Reinstatement fee $100 for first offense, $300 for second offense within one year|
|Kentucky||$1,000||registration reinstatement fee of $40|
|Louisiana||$100-$700||DMV lapse fee of $125 for up to 30 days, $225 for 31 to 90 days, $525 for over 90 days|
|Maine||$100-$500||License reinstatement fee of $50, plus $20 to $30 additional fee and $35 registration reinstatement fee|
|Maryland||$1,000-$2,500||Uninsured motorist penalty fee of $150 for the first 30 days, $7 for each day thereafter, and registration restoration fee of up to $25|
|Massachusetts||$500-$5,000||Reinstatement fee of $500|
|Michigan||$200-$500||Registration reinstatement fee of $50 plus $25 if license was suspended|
|Minnesota||$200-$3,000||License and registration reinstatement fee of $30|
|Mississippi||$500||License reinstatement fee of $30|
|Missouri||$500||License reinstatement fee of $20 after first suspension, $200 after second suspension, $400 after third suspension|
|Montana||$250-$500||No charge for first lapse of insurance|
|Nebraska||$50||Reinstatement fee of $500|
|Nevada||$250-$1,000||Reinstatement fee of $251 plus a fine of $250 if lapse was 31 to 90 days, $500 if lapse was 91 to 180 days, and $1,000 if lapse was more than 181 days|
|New Hampshire||Only proof of financial responsibility is required||Only proof of financial responsibility is required|
|New Jersey||$300-$5,000||Restoration fee of $100|
|New Mexico||$300-$1,000||Registration reinstatement fee of $30|
|New York||$150-$1,500||Civil penalty of $8 per day for lapses of insurance for the first 30 days, $10 per day for the second 30 days, and $12 per day for the third 30 days|
|North Carolina||$50-$150||Civil penalty of $50 for the first insurance lapse in a three-year period, $100 for the second lapse, $150 for third and subsequent lapses|
|North Dakota||$150-$5,000||No loss of license or registration on first offense|
|Ohio||$160-$660||Compliance fees up to $60, plus reinstatement fee of $100 for first offense, $300 for second offense, $600 for third offense|
|Oklahoma||$250||Reinstatement fee of $275, plus $125 administrative fee|
|Oregon||$130-$1,000||License and registration reinstatement fee of $75|
|Pennsylvania||$300||Restoration fee of $88|
|Rhode Island||$100-$1,000||Reinstatement fee of $30 to $50|
|South Carolina||$100-$550||DMV lapse fee of $5 per day up to $200, plus $550 uninsured motorist fee|
|South Dakota||$100-$500||License reinstatement fee of $50 to $200, depending on length of non-compliance, and $28 application fee|
|Tennessee||$25-$300||License and registration restoration fee of $65, plus $50 administrative fee|
|Texas||$175-$300||Reinstatement fee of $100|
|Utah||$400-$1,000||Reinstatement fee of $100|
|Vermont||$0-$500||Driver’s license reinstatement fee of $71|
|Virginia||$500||Registration reinstatement fee of $145|
|Washington||$450-$1,000||Reinstatement fee of $75|
|West Virginia||$200-$5,000||Registration reinstatement fee of $100|
|Wisconsin||$510||License reinstatement fee of $60|
|Wyoming||$250-$1,500||Reinstatement fee of $50|
Get Your Rates Quote Now
You can also watch this video to see an example of what you may face if you’re caught driving uninsured in Texas.
As you saw, if you don’t meet the insurance requirements in Texas, you’ll pay for it.Not to mention that because of this when you go to get an insurance policy your rates will be higher because of the legal infractions.
No driver should allow a lapse in their insurance coverage of more than 30 days. This kind of lapse will cause your rates to be much higher when you do go to finally get a regular insurance policy, even basic liability car insurance. By buying temporary auto insurance, you will protect yourself from this kind of problem. However, the time that you have temporary coverage can show up as a lapse in coverage since it’s not traditional coverage.
If you have an accident while driving without some kind of car insurance, the legal and financial ramifications could be extremely costly. If you even buy temporary car insurance, you can protect yourself from a large percentage of car repair or replacement costs, not to mention the medical expenses.
Medical bills alone can include prolonged hospital stays, surgery, expensive prescriptions, and follow-up aftercare such as physical therapy. This could be something you would have to pay for yourself, another driver, or both out of your own pocket if you lack insurance coverage.
Remember even if you think you are covered by your friend, spouse, or employer’s policy do not wait to find out the hard way that you are not. In the event of an accident, if you are driving without insurance you will be held liable.
A large percentage of drivers each year get left picking up the pieces in the aftermath all because they thought they were covered as a driver. Unfortunately, there is no way to fix this situation after an accident.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
What else should you know about temporary auto insurance?
If you think you might buy temporary auto insurance coverage there are a few other things you should know. For example:
Commonly, temporary insurance policies are taken out for anywhere from one to 28 days. A very popular option is the seven-day car insurance policy. You can extend this longer. You should have a temporary policy for however long you need to make sure you are an insured motorist.
There are different options for your temporary policy. Make sure you get the one that works best for you, not just the cheapest or the one an insurance agent decides you should have. How much is temporary car insurance? That depends on a lot of factors, but like all policies, you can shop around for cheap temporary auto insurance rates.
Keep in mind if you are driving a car of higher value you should never settle for too basic of an insurance policy. Repairs will cost more and you are going to be left paying the difference out of your own pocket anyway.
Consider what you will be using your car for during this temporary period and make sure you are covered for things like collisions with other vehicles and structures, as well as animals.
With that in mind, make sure you also have protection from things like theft, fire, storms and acts of God. Too many drivers assume this is part of their standard coverage and it is not. Even vandalism can be covered in a temporary auto insurance policy but only if you make sure it is included.
You may even want or need to have a policy that could offer coverage in the event of a breakdown. It could be helpful if you are using or sharing another person’s car, or if you need coverage for your rental car.
Where can I get temporary car insurance? It’s also important to note that not all companies will offer this coverage. However, there are temporary auto insurance companies that specialize in this type of coverage.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
The Bottom Line for Temporary Auto Insurance
A lapse in insurance can cost you in a number of ways including being caught driving uninsured, paying reinstatement fees for any loss of driving privileges, and increasing rates based on the now higher risk you pose as a driver because of that lapse in coverage.
But you don’t have to find yourself in this situation. If you purchase temporary auto insurance, which can be anything from five-day car insurance coverage and one-week insurance for new drivers to 30-day car insurance coverage, you’ll be able to protect yourself from a lapse in coverage or driving uninsured.
Make sure you purchase the level of coverage you need, based on how you plan to drive under this temporary insurance. There’s no excuse for a lapse in coverage, especially because you can purchase seven-day car insurance online, as well as other temporary coverage.
Where can I find cheap seven-day car insurance near me? What about cheap two-day or 14-day car insurance? The best way to find cheap seven-day car insurance or any other form of temporary coverage is to shop around.
Enter your ZIP and you could find the best temporary car insurance by comparing quotes today.