Georgia

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$25,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Georgia AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

No.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers under the age of 18 cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In Georgia, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for driving with a BAC 0.15 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Georgia, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 1 year if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted.

Ignition Interlocks:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Georgia, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 1 year if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted.

Repeat Offenders:

Minumum penalities for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any open container of alcohol in his or her possession. The law applies to open containers in the passenger areas of the vehicle and unlocked glove compartments.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of twelve months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 40 hours of supervised driving hours, 6 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: Midnight-6am
Passenger Restriction: No passengers (first 6 months); no more than 1 passenger under 21 (second 6 months); no more than 3 passengers (the rest of the period)

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of Midnight and 6am. For the first 6 months, they cannot have any passengers. For the second six months, they cannot have more than one passenger under 21. For the remainder of the intermediate period after that, they cannot have more than three passengers.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 18

(Full driver's license): At the age of 18, Georgia drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Georgia
Department of Insurance

Website: www.gainsurance.org/
Address:  2 Martin L. King Jr. Drive (704 West Tower), Atlanta, Georgia 30334
Phone:  404-656-2070 or 800-656-2298

Georgia
DMV Information

Website:  georgia.gov/
Phone:  1-800-georgia (1-800-436-7442) toll-free or 678-georgia (678-436-7442) in the Atlanta calling area.
Call Center Hours:
 Mon – Fri 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. EST, closed state holidays

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption