North Dakota

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$25,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

$30,000 limit

Uninsured Motorist

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Underinsured Motorist

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

North Dakota AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

There is no ban.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers under the age of 18 cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In North Dakota, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for drivers with a BAC of 0.18 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In North Dakota, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 91 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted after 30 days.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. North Dakota made the installation of ignition interlocks discretionary.

Repeat Offenders:

Minimum penalties for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for at least one year, impoundment or immobilization of offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and imprisonment or community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see longer imprisonment or community service sentences.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any bottle, can, or other receptacle containing any alcoholic beverage that has been opened, the seal broken, or with partial contents removed in his or her possession. Open containers of alcohol must be transported in the trunk of a vehicle or in an area not normally occupied by the driver or passengers.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 14 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period lasting a minimum of twelve months. If not under 16, then the period must last a Minimum of six months or until the driver turns 18, whichever comes first In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving if under 16. Otherwise, no supervised driving hours are required.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16 (15 for parent restricted license)
Night Driving Restriction: Sunset or 9pm (whichever is later) - 5am
Passenger Restriction: None

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 (15 for parent restricted license) are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between sunsent or 9pm (whichever is later) and 5am. There are no passenger restrictions for North Dakota intermediate drivers.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 16

(Full driver's license): At the age of 16, North Dakota drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions if they took driver's education.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

North Dakota
Department of Insurance

Website: www.nd.gov/ndins/
Address: 600 E Boulevard Ave, Bismarck, ND 58505
Phone: (701) 328-2440

North Dakota
DMV Information

Website:  www.ncdot.gov/DMV/
Phone: 919-715-7000
Call Center Hours:
 Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m.-5 p.m.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption