State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident, $5,000 limit on property damage subject to a $200 dedeuctible

Underinsured Motorist

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident, $5,000 limit on property damage subject to a $200 dedeuctible

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Washington DC AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

In Washington D.C., an officer can give a driver a citation for holding a cell phone even if no other driving offenses are taking place.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers with a Learner's Permit cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

Text messaging is banned for all drivers in Washington D.C.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There are increased penalties for drivers with a BAC of 0.20 and 0.25 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Washington D.C., law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 2-90 days, or until disposition, if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Washington made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for all offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

Minimum penalties for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for at least one year, impoundment or immobilization of offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and imprisonment or community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see longer imprisonment or community service sentences.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any bottle, can, or other receptacle containing any alcohol that has been opened, the seal broken, or with partial contents removed in his or her possession or in any area of the vehicle where it would be easily accessible by the driver or passengers.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 16 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 40 hours of supervised driving.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16.5
Night Driving Restriction: September to June: 11pm-6am (Sun. - Thurs.), Midnight-6am (Fri. - Sat.); July to August: Midnight-6am
Passenger Restriction: No passengers (first 6 months), no more than 2 passengers (for the rest of the period) Required Supervised
Driving Hours: 10

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 and six months are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 11pm and 6am Sunday through Thursday and midnight to 6am Friday through Saturday during the months of September to June. In July and August, the night driving restriction is midnight to 6am. These drivers cannot drive with any passengers for the first six months and no more than two passengers for the rest of the intermediate stage.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 18

(Full driver's license): At the age of 18, D.C. drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
Posted MPH
SPEED LIMIT
Posted MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
Posted MPH
SPEED LIMIT
Posted MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Washington DC
Department of Insurance

Website: disb.dc.gov/
Address: 810 First Street, NE, Suite 701, Washington, DC 20002
Phone: Phone: (202) 727-800
Call Center Hours: Monday to Friday, 8:15 am to 4:45 pm, except District holidays

Washington DC
DMV Information

Website: dmv.dc.gov/
Phone: (202) 737-4404