Iowa

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$20,000 limit per person / $40,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$15,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Iowa AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

No.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers with Restricted or Intermediate Licenses cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

Text messaging is banned for all drivers in Iowa.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for driving with a BAC 0.15 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Iowa, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 180 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted after 30 days.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Iowa made the installation of ignition interlocks discretionary.

Repeat Offenders:

Minumum penalities for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any open or unsealed bottle, can, jar or other receptacle containing any alcoholic beverage in his or her possession. Open or unsealed receptacles containing an alcoholic beverage may be carried in the trunk of a vehicle.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 14 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of twelve months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 20 hours of supervised driving hours, 2 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: 1230am-5am
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger under 18; parents may waive

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 1230am and 5am and cannot drive with more than one passenger under 18 for the first six months. These drivers are also required to have 10 supervised driving house, 2 of which need to be at night.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 17

(Full driver's license): At the age of 17, Iowa drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Iowa
Department of Insurance

Website: www.iid.state.ia.us/
Address:  Iowa Insurance Division, 601 Locust St., 4th Floor, Des Moines, IA 50309-3738
Phone:  515-281-5705 or 877-955-1212 Toll Free (within Iowa)

Iowa
DMV Information

Website:  www.iowadot.gov/mvd/
Phone: 800-532-1121 or 515-244-9124 or 515-244-8725

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption