Minimum Auto Insurance Required by State
There is usually a minimum car insurance required by states. Requirements are different from state to state. The national average for state minimum car insurance is $47 a month. The minimum amount of automobile insurance coverage required by law is usually not enough coverage in the event of an accident. Adding collision and comprehensive insurance will allow you to be covered in many instances. Learn how to find affordable rates for minimum auto insurance required by state now.
Compare Quotes Now
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
A Concise Overview
- Minimum car insurance requirements vary from state to state.
- Only two states don’t require minimum auto insurance.
- The national average for liability-only car insurance is $47 a month.
- Usually, the minimum auto insurance required is not enough coverage in the event of an accident.
In most instances, there is minimum car insurance requirements by states. Each state is different and has its own rules for how much coverage is necessary.
Driving without your state’s required insurance level is illegal. Uninsured driving can lead to fines and even jail time. You’ll also still be responsible for any damages you cause.
There are many types of auto insurance coverages out there; as long as you meet the minimum requirements, you can add coverages to your policy that meet your needs. Shopping around for car insurance finds you the best deals that meet your state requirements. For affordable minimum auto insurance required by state, enter your ZIP code to compare quotes for minimum auto insurance required by state, whether you want minimum auto insurance or full coverage.
State Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
Almost all states require some sort of car insurance to drive legally. But what states have no car insurance? Our list of states that don’t require car insurance is short: There are only two. The two states that don’t follow the normal requirements for car insurance are Virginia and New Hampshire. All other states require drivers to have some sort of minimum coverage.
What insurance is required by state law? Most states require a driver to at least carry liability coverage. If a driver causes an accident, liability insurance will cover the damages to the other person’s property and any bodily injuries. This type of coverage offers the at-fault driver no help with damages or injuries.
What is the minimum insurance coverage required by most states?
Before we look at the specific minimums required by each state, let’s look at the types of coverages that may be required.
|PD||Property Damage Liability|
|PIP||Personal Injury Protection|
Get Your Rates Quote Now
Bodily injury, property damage liability, personal injury, uninsured motorist, and underinsured motorist are all coverages your state may require you to carry.
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverages are very important if you are in an accident caused by someone without proper auto insurance. According to the Insurance Information Institute, 13 percent of drivers in the US didn’t have the minimum coverage required in 2015.
The following table details car insurance laws by state and what auto insurance coverage each state requires a driver to carry. It also shows you the average annual and monthly rate of car insurance that meets those requirements.
|States||Insurance Required in the State||Minimum Liability Limits Required by the State||Average Annual Liability Insurance Rates in the State||Average Monthly Liability Insurance Rates in the State|
|North Dakota||BI & PD Liab, PIP, UM, UIM||25/50/25||$282.55||$23.55|
|South Dakota||BI & PD Liab, UM, UIM||25/50/25||$289.04||$24.09|
|Iowa||BI & PD Liab||20/40/15||$293.34||$24.45|
|Wyoming||BI & PD Liab||25/50/20||$323.38||$26.95|
|Maine||BI & PD Liab, UM, UIM, Medpay||50/100/25||$333.92||$27.83|
|Idaho||BI & PD Liab||25/50/15||$337.17||$28.10|
|Vermont||BI & PD Liab, UM, UIM||25/50/10||$340.98||$28.42|
|Kansas||BI & PD Liab, PIP||25/50/25||$342.33||$28.53|
|Nebraska||BI & PD Liab, UM, UIM||25/50/25||$349.07||$29.09|
|North Carolina||BI & PD Liab, UM, UIM||30/60/25||$357.59||$29.80|
|Wisconsin||BI & PD Liab, UM, Medpay||25/50/10||$359.84||$29.99|
|Indiana||BI & PD Liab||25/50/25||$372.44||$31.04|
|Alabama||BI & PD Liab||25/50/25||$372.57||$31.05|
|Ohio||BI & PD Liab||25/50/25||$376.16||$31.35|
|Arkansas||BI & PD Liab, PIP||25/50/25||$381.14||$31.76|
|Montana||BI & PD Liab||25/50/20||$387.77||$32.31|
|New Hampshire||FR only||25/50/25||$393.24||$32.77|
|Tennessee||BI & PD Liab||25/50/15||$397.73||$33.14|
|Missouri||BI & PD Liab, UM||25/50/25||$399.41||$33.28|
|Virginia||BI & PD Liab, UM, UIM||25/50/20||$413.12||$34.43|
|Illinois||BI & PD Liab, UM, UIM||25/50/20||$430.54||$35.88|
|Mississippi||BI & PD Liab||25/50/25||$437.38||$36.45|
|Minnesota||BI & PD Liab, PIP, UM, UIM||30/60/10||$439.58||$36.63|
|Oklahoma||BI & PD Liab||25/50/25||$441.57||$36.80|
|Hawaii||BI & PD Liab, PIP||20/40/10||$458.49||$38.21|
|New Mexico||BI & PD Liab||25/50/10||$462.21||$38.52|
|California||BI & PD Liab||15/30/5||$462.95||$38.58|
|Utah||BI & PD Liab, PIP||25/65/15||$471.26||$39.27|
|Colorado||BI & PD Liab||25/50/15||$477.10||$39.76|
|Arizona||BI & PD Liab||15/30/10||$488.59||$40.72|
|Georgia||BI & PD Liab||25/50/25||$490.64||$40.89|
|Pennsylvania||BI & PD Liab, PIP||15/30/5||$495.02||$41.25|
|South Carolina||BI & PD Liab, UM, UIM||25/50/25||$497.50||$41.46|
|Texas||BI & PD Liab, PIP||30/60/25||$498.44||$41.54|
|West Virginia||BI & PD Liab, UM, UIM||25/50/25||$501.44||$41.79|
|Kentucky||BI & PD Liab, PIP, UM, UIM||25/50/25||$518.91||$43.24|
|Alaska||BI & PD Liab||50/100/25||$547.34||$45.61|
|Oregon||BI & PD Liab, PIP, UM, UIM||25/50/20||$553.43||$46.12|
|Washington||BI & PD Liab||25/50/10||$568.92||$47.41|
|Massachusetts||BI & PD Liab, PIP||20/40/5||$587.75||$48.98|
|Maryland||BI & PD Liab, PIP, UM, UIM||30/60/15||$599.48||$49.96|
|District of Columbia||BI & PD Liab, UM||25/50/10||$628.09||$52.34|
|Connecticut||BI & PD Liab, UM, UIM||25/50/20||$633.95||$52.83|
|Nevada||BI & PD Liab||25/50/20||$647.07||$53.92|
|Rhode Island||BI & PD Liab||25/50/25||$720.06||$60.01|
|Michigan||BI & PD Liab, PIP||20/40/10||$722.04||$60.17|
|Louisiana||BI & PD Liab||15/30/25||$727.15||$60.60|
|Delaware||BI & PD Liab, PIP||25/50/10||$776.50||$64.71|
|New York||BI & PD Liab, PIP, UM, UIM||25/50/10||$784.98||$65.42|
|Florida||PD Liab, PIP||10/20/10||$845.05||$70.42|
|New Jersey||BI & PD Liab, PIP, UM, UIM||15/30/5||$865.55||$72.13|
Get Your Rates Quote Now
The average monthly cost of meeting these basic requirements is just $47. How did your state do? Does your state have comparatively strict or lenient requirements for auto insurance coverage?
You can see how much requirements change from state to state. For example, minimum car insurance coverage in California is higher than the state minimum car insurance in Florida. Watch this video to learn more about what liability car insurance covers.
Liability coverage will minimum auto insurance required by states, but won’t offer you much protection if you cause an accident.
Compare Quotes Now
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Is state minimum insurance enough?
Usually, the minimum amount of insurance required by law is not enough coverage in the event of an accident. Paying for property damage to a vehicle you’ve hit in an accident you’ve caused may put you over your limit. If bodily injury is also involved, you could be paying thousands out of pocket.
Most experts believe that you should raise your liability limits and add collision and comprehensive coverages as well. Collision insurance will cover damages to your car and bodily injury to the people in your car if you cause an accident. Comprehensive insurance will cover damages to your car that aren’t the result of an accident. This would include theft, fire, flood, hail, or vandalism. Without these added coverages, you would have to pay for damages to your car out of pocket.
Sometimes, you are required to carry additional coverage. For example, minimum coverage for a financed car will be much higher than the state requirements. Your lender will generally require you to carry additional insurance to protect their investment.
Whether you’re looking for the state minimum car insurance or you want full coverage, you will find the best rates if you shop around. Compare auto insurance quotes to get the coverage you want at a great price.
Ready to buy the minimum auto insurance required by state? Enter your ZIP code to request quotes that meet the minimum auto insurance required by your state.