State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$15,000 limit per person / $30,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$5,000

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

California AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

In the state of California, an officer can give a driver a citation for holding a cell phone even if no other driving offenses are taking place.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers under the age of 18 cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In California, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

0.15 or above

1st offense Suspension:

In California, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 4 months if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted after 30 days.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Four counties in California (Alameda, Los Angeles, Tulare, and Sacramento) have made ignition interlocks mandatory for all convicted drunk drivers, even first-time offenders. For all other counties in California, the decision to install ignition interlocks is at the discretion of the local judge.

Repeat Offenders:

None in California.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any bottle, can, or other receptacle containing any alcoholic beverage that has been opened, the seal broken, or with partial contents removed in his or her possession.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years and 6 months of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving hours, 10 of which must be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Age: 16 years
Night Driving Restriction:
11pm to 5am Passenger Restriciton: First 12 months no passengers under 20 years old

(some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): 16-year-old drivers who passed the driver's test are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 11pm and 5am and they cannot have any passengers under the age of 20, except family, for the first 12 months.

Full Privilege Age:

17 years

(full driver's license): At the age of 17, California drivers can now get a standard driver's license without restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

California
Department of Insurance

Website: www.insurance.ca.gov/
Address: Consumer Services Division, 300 South Spring Street, South Tower, Los Angeles, CA 90013
Phone: 800-927-HELP (4357) or 213-897-8921
Call Center Hours: 8am to 5pm (PT) Monday through Friday, except state holidays.

California
DMV Information

Website: dmv.ca.gov/
Phone: 1-800-777-0133
Call Center Hours:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday: 8am to 5pm (PT) Wednesday: 9am to 5pm (PT)