New York

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

$50,000 limit

Uninsured Motorist

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Underinsured Motorist

Combined with uninsured motorist coverage

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

New York AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

In the state of New York, an officer can give a driver a citation for holding a cell phone even if no other driving offenses are taking place.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

There is a ban.

Texting Ban:

In New York, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for drivers with a BAC of 0.18 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In New York, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 6 months for those under 21 and for 90 days for those 21 and over, if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. New York made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for all offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

Minimum penalties for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any open container of alcohol in any area of the vehicle where it would be easily accessible by the driver or passengers. Open containers of alcohol must be transported in the trunk of a vehicle.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 16 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving, 15 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16.5
Night Driving Restriction: 9pm-5am
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger under 21

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 and six months are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 9pm and 5am and cannot drive with more than one passenger under the age of 21.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 17 (with driver's ed), 18 (without driver's ed)

(Full driver's license): At the age of 17, New York drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions if they took driver's education. For those who do not take driver's education, the age is 18 to get a full license.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

New York
Department of Insurance

Website: www.dfs.ny.gov/insurance/dfs_insurance.htm
Address:  Empire State Plaza, Agency Bldg. # 1, Albany, New York 12257
Phone:  800-342-3736 or 212-480-6400
Call Center Hours:  Monday through Friday, 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM

New York
DMV Information

Website:  dmv.ny.gov/
Phone:  212-645-5550 or 718-966-6155 or 718-477-4820 or 518-486-9786 or 518-473-5595
Call Center Hours:
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. weekdays (except state holidays)

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption