State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$10,000 limit per person / $20,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

$10,000 limit Emergency medical condition / $2,500 Non-emergency medical condition

Uninsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Florida AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

No

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

No

Texting Ban:

In Florida, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for driving with a BAC 0.20 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Florida, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 6 months if he or she is convicted of a DUI and for 12 months for refusal. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted after 30 days for DUI and after 90 days for refusal to submit to chemical test.

Ignition Interlocks:

Ignition Interlocks: These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Florida made ignition interlocks mandatory for all drunk drivers with a BAC of .15 or higher.

Repeat Offenders:

Minimum penalties for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any container of alcoholic beverage, which is immediately capable of being consumed from, or the seal of which has been broken in his or her possession. If an open container is in the possession of a passenger, or located in a locked glove compartment, locked trunk, or other locked nonpassenger area of the vehicle, then it is not considered in the possession of the driver.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of twelve months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving hours, 10 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: 11pm-6am (age 16); 1am-5am (age 17)
Passenger Restriction: None

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 11pm and 6am. Once they turn 17, their driving restrictions change to 1am-5am.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 18

(Full driver's license): At the age of 18, Florida drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Florida
Department of Insurance

Website: www.floir.com/
Address:  200 East Gaines St., Larson Building, Tallahassee, FL 32399
Phone:  850-413-3140

Florida
DMV Information

Website:  www.flhsmv.gov/
Phone:  850-617-2000
Call Center Hours:
 Monday – Friday 7 a.m. – 5:45 p.m., (EST)