Kansas

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

$4,500 per person for medical costs. 85% of wages up to $900 per month for loss of income or disability. $25 per day for in-home services. $2,000 for costs pertaining to funeral, burial or cremation. $4,500 for rehabilitation costs

Uninsured Motorist

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Underinsured Motorist

Combined with uninsured motorist coverage

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Kansas AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

No.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers with a Learner or Intermediate License cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

Text messaging is banned for all drivers in Kansas.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for driving with a BAC 0.15 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Kansas, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 30 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Kansas made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for all offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

Minumum penalities for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

Transporting an open container of alcohol is an unclassified misdemeanor. A first offense can result in a fine of $200 and/or imprisonment for 6 months.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 14 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of twelve months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving hours, 10 of which need to be at night. At 15, new drivers can driver to and from work or school without supervision

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: 9pm-5am (for the first 6 months)
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 non-sibling (for the first 6 months)

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 9pm and 5am and cannot drive with more than one non-sibling passenger for the first six months.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 16.5

(Full driver's license): At the age of 16 and 6 months, Kansas drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Kansas
Department of Insurance

Website: www.ksinsurance.org/
Address:  420 S/W Ninth Street, Topeka, Kansas 66612-1678
Phone:  785-296-3071 or 800-432-2484 (In State)

Kansas
DMV Information

Website: www.ksrevenue.org/vehicle.html
Phone: 785-368-8222

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption