Minnesota

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$30,000 limit per person / $60,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

$40,000 combined limit

Uninsured Motorist

$30,000 limit per person / $60,000 limit per accident

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Minnesota AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

No.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers with Learners' or Provisional Licenses cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In Minnesota, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for drivers with a BAC of 0.20 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Minnesota, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 90 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted after 15 days.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Minnesota made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for high BAC and repeat offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

None

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any open or unsealed bottle, can, or other receptacle containing any alcoholic beverage or distilled spirit in his or her possession.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 40 hours of supervised driving, 15 of which need to be at night. This is effective January of 2015.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: Midnight-5am
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger under 20 (first 6 months), no more than 3 passengers under 20 (following 6 months)

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of midnight and 5am and cannot drive with with more than one passenger under the age of 20 for the first six months and no more than three passengers under 20 for the following six months.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 17

(Full driver's license): At the age of 17, Minnesota drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions. At 16 and 6 months, there are no more night driving restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Minnesota
Department of Insurance

Website: mn.gov/commerce/
Address:  85 Seventh Place East, Suite 500, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101
Phone:  651-539-1500 or 800-657-3602 (in state)

Minnesota
DMV Information

Website:  https://dps.mn.gov/Pages/default.aspx
Phone:  651-215-1328

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption