Ohio

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$25,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

$12,500 limit

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Ohio AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

There is no ban.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers under the age of 18 cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In Ohio, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for drivers with a BAC of 0.17 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Ohio, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 90 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted after 15 days.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Ohio made the installation of ignition interlocks discretionary.

Repeat Offenders:

None in Ohio.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any open containers of alcohol in a vehicle where they can have access.. Open containers of alcohol must be transported in the trunk of a vehicle.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years and six months of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: Midnight-6am (age 16); 1am-5am (age 17)
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger unless supervised

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of midnight and 6am and cannot drive with more than one passenger unless supervised. At age 17, the night driving restriction hours change to 1am through 5am.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 18

(Full driver's license): At the age of 18, Ohio drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions if they took driver's education. At age 17, there are no more passenger restrictions for the drivers.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Ohio
Department of Insurance

Website: insurance.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odi
Address:  50 W. Town Street, Third Floor - Suite 300, Columbus, Ohio 43215
Phone:  614-644-2658 or 1-800-686-1526

Ohio
DMV Information

Website:  www.bmv.ohio.gov/
Phone:  614-752-7500
Call Center Hours:
 Monday - Friday 7:00 a.m. - 5:45 p.m. (EST) and Saturday 8:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. (EST)

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption