State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$20,000 limit per person / $40,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$15,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

$20,000 limit per person / $40,000 limit per accident, but may be rejected in writing

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Illinois AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

In the state of Illinois, an officer can give a driver a citation for holding a cell phone even if no other driving offenses are taking place.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers under the age of 19 cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In Illinois, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for driving with a BAC 0.16 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Illinois, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 6 months if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted after 30 days.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Illinois made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for all drunk driving offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

Minumum penalities for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any container of alcoholic beverage that has been opened or the seal of which has been broken in his or her possession. Any previously opened alcoholic beverage containers may be transported in a vehicle's trunk.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of nine months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving hours, 10 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: 10pm-6am (Sunday-Thursday); 11pm-6am (Friday-Sat)
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger under 20 for the first year

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 10pm and 6am Sunday through Thursday and 11pm and 6am Friday through Saturday. They also cannot have more than one passenger under 20 for the first 12 months.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 17 (no more passenger restrictions); 18 (no more night driving restrictions)

(Full driver's license): At the age of 18, Illinois drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions. At the age of 17 years, drivers no longer have any passenger restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Illinois
Department of Insurance

Website: insurance.illinois.gov/
Address:  320 West Washington Street 4th Floor, Springfield, Illinois 62767-0001
Phone: 866-445-5364 or 217-782-4515

Illinois
DMV Information

Website:  www.cyberdriveillinois.com/
Phone: 800-252-8980 or 217-785-3000