Arizona

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$15,000 limit per person / $30,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Arizona AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

No.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

No.

Texting Ban:

No.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for driving with a BAC 0.15 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Arizona, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 90 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted after 30 days.

Ignition Interlocks:

Ignition Interlocks: These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Arizona has made ignition interlocks mandatory for all convicted drunk drivers, even first-time offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

None in Arizona.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any bottle, can, jar or other receptacle containing any spirituous liquor that has been opened, the seal broken, or with partial contents removed in his or her possession.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years and 6 months of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 30 hours of supervised driving hours, 10 of which need to be at night and 0 with driver's education.

Intermediate Stage:

Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: Midnight-5am
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger under 18 for first 6 months

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): 16-year-old drivers who passed the driver's test are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of Midnight and 5am and they cannot have more than 1 passenger under 18 for the first 6 months.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 16.5

(Full driver's license): At the age of 16 and 6 months, Arizona drivers can get a standard driver's license without restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Arizona
Department of Insurance

Website: www.azinsurance.gov/
Address:  2910 N. 44th Street, Ste. 210 (2nd Floor), Phoenix, AZ 85018-7269
Phone:  602-364-2499 or 800-325-2548 (In Arizona but outside the Phoenix area)
Call Center Hours:  Monday - Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 (Except state holidays)

Arizona
DMV Information

Website:  www.azdot.gov/MVD/
Phone:  602-712-7355 or 602-255-0072

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption