Maryland

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$30,000 limit per person / $60,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$15,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

$2,500 limit (can be waived in some situations)

Uninsured Motorist

$30,000 limit per person (bodily injury) / $60,000 limit per accident (bodily injury.$15,000 limit (property damage)

Underinsured Motorist

Combined with uninsured motorist coverage

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Maryland AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

In the state of Maryland, an officer can give a driver a citation for holding a cell phone even if no other driving offenses are taking place.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers under the age of 18 with a Learner or Provisional License cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In Maryland, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for driving with a BAC of 0.15 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Maryland, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 45 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted under certain circumstances.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Maryland made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for offenders with a BAC .15 or above.

Repeat Offenders:

Minumum penalities for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have an open or unsealed container of alcohol in his or her possession. Any previously opened alcoholic beverage containers may be transported in a vehicle's trunk.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years and nine months of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of nine months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 60 hours of supervised driving hours, 10 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16.5
Night Driving Restriction: Midnight-5am
Passenger Restriction: No passengers under 18 for the first 5 months

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 and six months are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of midnight and 5am and cannot drive with with any passengers under the age of 18 for the first five months.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 18

(Full driver's license): At the age of 18, Maryland drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions. At 16 and 11 months, there are no more passenger restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Maryland
Department of Insurance

Website: www.mdinsurance.state.md.us/Pages/default.aspx
Address: 200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone:  410-468-2000 or 1-800-492-6116 (toll free)

Maryland
DMV Information

Website:  www.mva.maryland.gov/
Phone:  410-768-7000 or 1-800-492-4575 (TTY)

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption