Delaware

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$15,000 limit per person / $30,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Delaware AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

In the state of Delaware, an officer can give a driver a citation for holding a cell phone even if no other driving offenses are taking place.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers with a Learner or Intermediate License cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In Delaware, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for driving with a BAC 0.16 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Delaware, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 3 months if he or she exceeds the legal limit.

Ignition Interlocks:

Ignition Interlocks: These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Delaware will make ignition interlocks mandatory for all convicted drunk drivers, even first-time offenders, as of February 2015.

Repeat Offenders:

Minumum penalities for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

None in Delaware.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 16 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving hours, 10 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16 and 6 months
Night Driving Restriction: 10pm-6am
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 years and 6 months are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 10pm and 6am and they cannot have more than one passenger in their vehicle.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 17

(Full driver's license): At the age of 17, Delaware drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Delaware
Department of Insurance

Website: www.insurance.delaware.gov/
Address:  710 North King Street, Wilmington, Delaware 19801
Phone:  302-674-7300 or 1-800-282-8611 toll-free in Delaware or (302) 674-7310

Delaware
DMV Information

Website:  www.dmv.de.gov/
Phone:  302-326-5000
Call Center Hours:
 Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday: 8am to 4.30 p.m. Wednesday: 12 Noon to 8 p.m.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption