New Mexico

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident (bodily injury) / $10,000 limit (property damage), may be rejected in writing

Underinsured Motorist

Combined with uninsured motorist coverage

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

New Mexico AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

In the state of New Mexico, a hand-held cell phone ban is in place for drivers or state vehicles.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers with a Learner or Provisional License cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In New Mexico, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for drivers with a BAC of 0.16 or above with mandatory imprisonment in all offenses.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In New Mexico, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 1 year for those under 21 and for 6 months for those 21 and over, if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted immediately if ignition interlocks are installed.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. New Mexico made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for all offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

None in New Mexico.

Open Container Law:

New Mexico has an outright ban on any open containers of alcohol in vehicles.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years and six months of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 15.5
Night Driving Restriction: Midnight-5am
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger under 21

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 15 and six months are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of midnight and 5am and cannot drive with more than one passenger under the age of 21.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 16.5

(Full driver's license): At the age of 16 and six months, New Mexico drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
60-70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
60-70 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

New Mexico
Department of Insurance

Website: www.osi.state.nm.us/
Address:  4th Floor, 1120 Paseo De Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87504
Phone:  1-855-4ASK-OSI (1-855-427-5674) or 505-827-4601

New Mexico
DMV Information

Website:  www.mvd.newmexico.gov/
Phone:  888-683-4636 or 888-MVD-INFO

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption