State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$15,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident, but may be rejected in writing

Underinsured Motorist

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident, but may be rejected in writing

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Idaho AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

No.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

No.

Texting Ban:

Text messaging is banned for all drivers in Idaho.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for driving with a BAC 0.20 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Idaho, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 90 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted after 30 days.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Idaho made the installation of ignition interlocks discretionary.

Repeat Offenders:

Minumum penalities for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any container of alcoholic beverage that has been opened or the seal of which has been broken in his or her possession. Any unsealed alcoholic beverage container may be transported in an enclosed trunk or behind the last upright seat of a vehicle which has no trunk.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 14 years and six months of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving hours, 10 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 15
Night Driving Restriction: Sunrise to sunset
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger under 17 for the first 6 months

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 15 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive before sunrise or after sunset and they cannot have more than one passenger under 17 for the first 6 months.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 15.5 (no more passenger restrictions); 16 (no more night driving restrictions)

(Full driver's license): At the age of 16, Idaho drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions. At the age of 15 years and 6 months, drivers no longer have any passenger restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Idaho
Department of Insurance

Website: www.doi.idaho.gov/
Address:  700 West State Street 3rd Floor, Boise, Idaho 83720-0043
Phone:  208-334-4250 or 808-586-2799
Call Center Hours:  9:00 am - 1:00 pm Monday - Friday

Idaho
DMV Information

Website:  www.itd.idaho.gov/dmv/index.htm
Phone: 208-334-8000 or 208-334-4443