New Jersey

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$15,000 per person / per accident

Property Damage Liability

$5,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended.

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended.

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

$15,000 limit

Uninsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended.

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended.

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

New Jersey AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

In the state of New Jersey, an officer can give a driver a citation for holding a cell phone even if no other driving offenses are taking place.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers with a Permit or Provisional License cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In New Jersey, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for drivers with a BAC of 0.10 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

None in New Jersey.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. New Jersey made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for offenders with a BAC of .15 or above and repeat offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

Minimum penalties for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger may have an open container of alcohol in a motor vehicle.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 16 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period lasting a Minimum of six months. In this stage, no set number of supervised driving hours are required for novice New Jersey drivers.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 17
Night Driving Restriction: 11pm-5am
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger (exept for drivers' dependents)

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 17 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 11pm and 5am and cannot drive with more than one passenger with exception given to the drivers' dependents.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 18

(Full driver's license): At the age of 18 and one month, New Jersey drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

New Jersey
Department of Insurance

Website: www.state.nj.us/dobi/index.html
Address:  20 West State Street, PO Box 325, Trenton, NJ 08625
Phone: 609-292-7272 or 1-800-446-7467

New Jersey
DMV Information

Website:  www.state.nj.us/mvc/
Phone:  888-486-3339 toll-free in NJ or 609-292-6500 out-of-state
Call Center Hours:
 8:30 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption