Wyoming

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$20,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident, may be rejected in writing

Underinsured Motorist

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident, may be rejected in writing

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Wyoming AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

There is not a ban.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers under the age of 18 cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

Text messaging is banned for all drivers in Wyoming.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There are increased penalties for drivers with a BAC of 0.15 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Wyoming, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 90 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Wyoming made ignition interlocks mandatory for all offenders with a BAC of .15 or above and repeat offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

None in Wyoming.

Open Container Law:

None in Wyoming.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period lasting a minimum of ten days. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: 11pm-5am
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger under 18

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 11pm and 5am and cannot drive with more than one passenger under 18.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 16.5

(Full driver's license): At the age of 16 and six months, Wyoming drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Wyoming
Department of Insurance

Website: doi.wyo.gov/
Address: 106 E. 6th Avenue, Cheyenne, WY 82001
Phone:  307-777-7401 or 800-438-5768

Wyoming
DMV Information

Website:  www.dot.state.wy.us/home.html
Phone:  307-777-4375

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption