Nevada

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$15,000 limit per person / $30,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

$15,000 limit per person / $30,000 limit per accident, may be rejected in writing

Underinsured Motorist

Combined with uninsured motorist coverage

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Nevada AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

In the state of Nevada, an officer can give a driver a citation for holding a cell phone even if no other driving offenses are taking place.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

There is a ban for all novice drivers.

Texting Ban:

In Nevada, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for drivers with a BAC of 0.18 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Nevada, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 90 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted after 45 days.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Nevada made the installation of ignition interlocks discretionary.

Repeat Offenders:

Minimum penalties for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for at least one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have an open container of alcohol in the passenger area of a vehicle while it's being driven.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years and six months of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: 10pm-5am
Passenger Restriction: No passengers under 18 (first 6 months)

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 10pm and 5am and cannot drive with with any passengers under the age of 18 for the first six months.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 18

(Full driver's license): At the age of 18, Nevada drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions. At 16 and 6 months, the passenger restrictions end.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Nevada
Department of Insurance

Website:  doi.nv.gov/
Address:  788 Fairview Drive, Suite 300, Carson City, Nevada 89701
Phone: 888-872-3234
Call Center Hours:  8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. State Holiday Closed

Nevada
DMV Information

Website: www.dmvnv.com/
Phone: (702) 486-4368 or (775) 684-4368 or (877) 368-7828
Call Center Hours:
 8:00-5:00 CDT (Mon-Fri),  8:00-4:00 CDT (Saturday) State Holiday Closed

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption