Vermont

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

$50,000 limit per person / $100,000 limit per accident (bodily injury), $10,000 limit (property damage)

Underinsured Motorist

Combined with uninsured motorist coverage

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Vermont AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

In the state of Vermont, an officer can give a driver a citation for holding a cell phone even if no other driving offenses are taking place. Effective November 2014.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers under the age of 18 cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In Vermont, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

None in Vermont.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Vermont, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 90 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Vermont made the installation of ignition interlocks discretionary.

Repeat Offenders:

None in Vermont.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any bottle, can, jar or other receptacle containing any alcohol that has been opened, the seal broken, or with partial contents removed in his or her possession or in any area of the vehicle where it would be easily accessible by the driver or passengers.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period lasting a minimum of twelve months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 40 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: None
Passenger Restriction: No passengers without exception (first 3 months), no passengers except family (following 3 months)

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers cannot drive with any passengers (no exception) for the first three months and during the following three months, they are allowed to have family as passengers. There are no night driving restrictions for Vermont intermediate drivers.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 16.5

(Full driver's license): At the age of 16 and six months, Vermont drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
50 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
50 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Vermont
Department of Insurance

Website: www.dfr.vermont.gov/insurance/insurance-division
Address:  89 Main Street, Montpelier, Vermont 05620-3101
Phone:  802-828-3301

Vermont
DMV Information

Website:  dmv.vermont.gov/
Phone:  888-99-VERMONT (888-998-3766) or 802-828-2000

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption