Hawaii

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$20,000 limit per person / $40,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

$10,000 limit

Uninsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Hawaii AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

In the state of Hawaii, an officer can give a driver a citation for holding a cell phone even if no other driving offenses are taking place.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers under the age of 18 cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

Text messaging is banned for all drivers in Hawaii.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for driving with a BAC 0.15 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Hawaii, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 3 months if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted after 30 days.

Ignition Interlocks:

Ignition Interlocks: These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Hawaii made ignition interlocks mandatory for all drunk driving offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

Minumum penalities for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any container of alcoholic beverage in his or her possession. Previously opened bottles of alcoholic beverage must be in the trunk of the vehicle.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years and six months of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving hours, 10 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: 11pm-5am
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger under 18

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 11pm and 5am and they cannot have more than one passenger under 18.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 17

(Full driver's license): At the age of 17, Hawaii drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
60 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
60 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
60 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
60 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Hawaii
Department of Insurance

Website: cca.hawaii.gov/ins/
Address:  250 South King Street 5th Floor, Honolulu, Hawaii 96813
Phone:  808-586-2790 or 808-586-2799
Call Center Hours:  7:45 AM – 4:30 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.

Hawaii
DMV Information

Website:  www1.honolulu.gov/csd/
Phone:  808- 768-9311

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption