South Carolina

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$25,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

South Carolina AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

There is no ban.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Only text messaging is banned.

Texting Ban:

In South Carolina, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for drivers with a BAC of 0.15 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Pennsylvania, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 1 month if he or she has a BAC of .15 or above. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. South Carolina made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

Minimum penalties for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for at least one year, impoundment or immobilization of offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and imprisonment or community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see longer imprisonment or community service sentences.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any open container of beer or wine in any area of the vehicle where it would be easily accessible by the driver or passengers. Open containers of alcohol must be transported in the trunk or luggage compartment of a vehicle.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 40 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 15.5
Night Driving Restriction: 6pm-6am (eastern standard time), 8pm-6am (daylight savings time)
Passenger Restriction: No more than 2 passengers under 21 unless to and from school

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 15 and six months are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 6pm and 6am (8pm-6am after daylight savings time) and cannot drive with more than two passengers under 21 unless it is to or from school.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 16.5

(Full driver's license): At the age of 16 and six months, South Carolina drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

South Carolina
Department of Insurance

Website: www.doi.sc.gov/
Address: 1201 Main St., Suite 1000, Columbia, SC 29201
Phone:  803-737-6160

South Carolina
DMV Information

Website:  www.scdmvonline.com/DMVNew/
Phone:  803-896-5000
Call Center Hours:
 Mon, Tues, Thurs, and Fri, 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. On Wed, open from 9:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption