State Coverage Requirements
New Hampshire Requirements
Bodily Injury Liability
$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident
Property Damage Liability
Not required, but recommended
Not required, but recommended
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident (bodily injury) / $25,000 limit (property damage)
Combined with uninsured motorist coverage
Property Protection (PPI)
Average rates vs National Average
New Hampshire AVG.
Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:
In the state of New Hampshire, an officer can give a driver a citation for holding a cell phone even if no other driving offenses are taking place. Effective July of 2015.
All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:
Novice drivers cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.
In New Hampshire, text messaging is banned for all drivers.
The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):
The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.
Increased penalty for high BAC:
There's an increased penalty for drivers with a BAC of 0.16 or above.
1st offense Suspension:
Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In New Hampshire, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 6 months if he or she exceeds the legal limit.
Mandatory for high BAC offenders
These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. New Hampshire made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for high BAC offenders.
Minimum penalties for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.
Open Container Law:
Drivers may only transport alcohol in their vehicles if it is in its original sealed container. If drivers wish to transport open containers of alcohol, the containers must remain in the trunk or in the area of the vehicle least accessible to the driver.
Graduated Drivers License
Min. Age: 15.5 Min.
Duration: None Required Supervised
Driving Hours: 40 (10 at night)
(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years and six months of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 40 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which need to be at night.
Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: 1am-4am
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger under 25 (first 6 months)
(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 1am and 4am and cannot drive with more than one passenger under the age of 25 for the first six months.
Full Privilege Age:
Age: 17 and 1 month
(Full driver's license): At the age of 17 and one month, New Hampshire drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions. At 16 and 6 months, the passenger restrictions end.
Other Limited Access Roads:
Page Source: ghsa.org
Department of Insurance
Address: 21 S Fruit St #14, Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 271-2261
Phone: 888-486-3339 toll-free in NJ or 609-292-6500 out-of-state
Call Center Hours:
8:30 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday
UPDATED: Apr 13, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.