State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$50,000 limit per person / $100,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$25,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Alaska AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

No

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

No

Texting Ban:

In Alaska, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty (at the specific judge's discression) for driving with a BAC 0.15 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Alaska, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 90 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted after 30 days.

Ignition Interlocks:

Ignition Interlocks: These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Alaska has made ignition interlocks mandatory for all convicted drunk drivers, even first-time offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

None in Alaska.

Open Container Law:

None in Alaska.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 14 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 40 hours of supervised driving hours, 10 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: 1am-5am
Passenger Restriction: No passengers under 21 for the first 6 months

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): 16-year-old drivers who passed the driver's test are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 1am and 5am and they cannot have any passengers under 21 for the first 6 months.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 16.5

(Full driver's license): At the age of 16 and 6 months, Alaska drivers can get a standard driver's license without restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Alaska
Department of Insurance

Website: commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/ins/Home.aspx
Address: 333 Willoughby Ave, 9th Floor, Juneau, Alaska 99801
Phone: 1-800-467-8725 or 1-800-INSURAK

Alaska
DMV Information

Website:  doa.alaska.gov/dmv/
Phone:  855-269-5551 or 907-269-5551