Connecticut

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$20,000 limit per person / $40,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000 limit

Collision

$20,000 limit per person / $40,000 limit per accident

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Connecticut AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

In the state of Connecticut, an officer can give a driver a citation for holding a cell phone even if no other driving offenses are taking place.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers under the age of 18 cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In Connecticut, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for driving with a BAC 0.16 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Connecticut, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 90 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted.

Ignition Interlocks:

Ignition Interlocks: These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Connecticut has made ignition interlocks mandatory for all convicted drunk drivers, even first-time offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

Minumum penalities for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

None for Connecticut.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 16 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of four months for someone with driver's education and six months for someone without driver's education. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 40 hours of supervised driving hours.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16 and 4 months
Night Driving Restriction: 11pm-5am
Passenger Restriction: No passengers except parents or instructor for first 6 months, no passenger except immediate family or instructor for second 6 months

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 11pm and 5am and they cannot have any passengers other than parents or their driving instructor for the first six months. For the following six months, they can only have their parents, instructor, or immediate family as passengers.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 17 and 4 months (full passenger privileges), 18 (full night privileges)

(Full driver's license): At the age of 17 and 4 months, Connecticut drivers can now drive without passenger restrictions and at 18, they can now get a standard driver's license without night driving restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Connecticut
Department of Insurance

Website: portal.ct.gov/cid
Address:  153 Market St. Hartford, Connecticut 06103
Phone:  860-297-3800 or 800-203-3447

Connecticut
DMV Information

Website:  www.ct.gov/dmv/site/default.asp
Phone:  860-263-5700 (Within Hartford area or outside of Connecticut) or 800-842-8222 (Elsewhere in Connecticut)
Call Center Hours:
 Monday- Friday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption