Colorado

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Collision

$15,000 limit

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Colorado AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

No

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers under the age of 18 cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In Colorado, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for driving with a BAC 0.17 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Colorado, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 3 months if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted.

Ignition Interlocks:

Ignition Interlocks: These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Colorado has made installing ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers, even first-time offenders, heavily incentivized.

Repeat Offenders:

Minumum penalities for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

Opened bottles of alcohol, such as resealed wine, must be stored in the trunk of a vehicle. No driver or passenger in a vehicle may have an open alcohol container.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): Individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of 12 months starting when they are 15 (if they are taking driver's education), 15 years and 6 months (if they take a driver awareness program), or 16 (if they don't take any of these. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving hours, 10 of which must be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: Midnight-5am
Passenger Restriction: No passengers under 21 for first 6 months, no more than 1 passenger under 21 the following 6 months

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): 16-year-old drivers who passed the driver's test are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of Midnight and 5am and they cannot have any passengers under the age of 21 for the first 6 months, and no more than one passenger under 21 the following 6 months. The only exception is family.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 17

(Full driver's license): At the age of 17, Colorado drivers can now get a standard driver's license without restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Colorado
Department of Insurance

Website:  www.colorado.gov/dora
Address:  1560 Broadway, # 850, Denver, Colorado 80202
Phone:  303-894-7499 or 303-894-7490 or 800-930-3745

Colorado
DMV Information

Website:  www.colorado.gov/revenue/dmv
Phone: 303-205-5600

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption