State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident, but may be rejected in writing

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Indiana AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

No.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers under the age of 18 cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In Indiana, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for driving with a BAC 0.15 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Indiana, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 180 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted after 30 days.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Indiana made the installation of ignition interlocks discretionary.

Repeat Offenders:

Minumum penalities for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have a container of alcohol with a broken seal in his or her possession or in any passenger area of their vehicle. Any previously opened alcoholic beverage containers may be transported in a vehicle's trunk.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years of age if taking driver's education and 16 years of age if not taking driver's education, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving hours, 10 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16.5 (w/ driver's ed); 16.75 (w/o driver's ed)
Night Driving Restriction: First 180 days: 10pm-5am; After 180 days: 11pm-5am (Sun-Thurs) and 1am-5am (Fri-Sat)
Passenger Restriction: No passengers for the first 180 days

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 years and 6 months (if they took driver's ed) and at 16 years and 9 months (if they didn't take driver's ed) are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 10pm and 5am or have any passengers for the first 180 days. After 180 days, their driving restrictions change to 11pm-5am Sunday through Thursday and 1am and 5am Friday through Saturday.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 17 (no more passenger restrictions, if took driver's ed); 17.25 (no more passenger restriction, if didn't take driver's ed); 18 (no more night driving restrictions)

(Full driver's license): At the age of 18, Indiana drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions. At the age of 17 years, drivers who took driver's education no longer have any passenger restrictions. If a driver didn't take driver's education, their passenger restrictions last until they are 17 and three months.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
55 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
60 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
60 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Indiana
Department of Insurance

Website: www.in.gov/idoi/
Address:  311 West Washington Street # 300, Indianapolis, Indiana 46204-2787
Phone:  317-232-2385 or 1-800-622-4461

Indiana
DMV Information

Website:  www.state.in.us/bmv/
Phone:  888-692-6841
Call Center Hours:
 Hours:  8:15 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. (ET) Monday through Friday