AAA Auto Insurance Review for 2022

AAA offers several options for car insurance coverage with exciting perks, but you must be a member to be eligible for coverage.

UPDATED: Nov 21, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

UPDATED: Nov 21, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Nov 21, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Nov 21, 2022Fact Checked
4.1
buyautoinsurance.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

AAA

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$2,409.00

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Med

Pros

  • Discounts that save policyholders a significant amount on their coverage
  • Options for bundling AAA insurance policies to save more
  • Membership perks
  • Perks for people who travel regularly

Cons

  • Higher-than-average rates for every category except teen drivers
  • Low customer service ratings
  • Low claims handling ratings
  • Lack of availability in certain areas

The Bottom Line

AAA offers car insurance to its members with plenty of perks, like roadside assistance, travel discounts, travel insurance, and much more. AAA is a well-known company offering car insurance policies throughout the U.S.

Unfortunately, you must be a AAA member to get car insurance with the company. Additionally, AAA has its fair share of negative reviews concerning the company’s customer support and overall claims handling process.

Read reviews from customers online before you buy a AAA car insurance policy. Always compare AAA insurance quotes to quotes from other providers to ensure you don’t end up paying too much for coverage on your vehicle.

If you’re looking for an insurer that saves you money on your policy by bundling insurance policies, you may want to consider AAA car insurance. With AAA insurance, you can bundle policies and save money on your coverage. AAA also offers helpful perks to its policyholders.

Unfortunately, you must be a AAA member to purchase car insurance with the company. However, you can easily become a member by searching for the closest AAA club near you. A membership with AAA costs anywhere from $60 to $120 annually.

Before choosing AAA auto insurance for your car insurance needs, check out other companies and compare quotes with other providers to ensure you get the right coverage and a good price that works for you and your budget.

Is AAA a Good Choice?

AAA is a trusted company — many drivers have used AAA roadside assistance and other perks for years. Regarding car insurance, AAA offers several types of car insurance, and the company also has add-ons for people who want more protection.

AAA doesn’t have the best customer reviews. In addition, the company offers car insurance coverage that is often significantly more expensive than other similar providers. These two things are why AAA may not be the best choice for car insurance for some drivers.

What’s wrong with AAA’s customer service?

Most AAA customers don’t express satisfaction with the company’s customer service options. Instead, many discuss confusing policies, difficulty speaking with a representative, and trouble finding a resolution to their problems. 

Only 39% of AAA policyholders say they’re satisfied with the company’s customer service, meaning 61% of AAA customers believe the company should improve its customer service options.

How does AAA handle claims?

Customers feel similarly toward AAA’s claims handling process as they do the company’s customer service. Most AAA policyholders say the company needs a better process for handling claims.

The top complaint on the Better Business Bureau website concerning AAA car insurance claims is that the company denied claims that should have been approved based on its regulations and individual policy.

Are AAA customers loyal?

Under 40% of AAA customers who filed a car insurance claim stated they were happy with their policy and would renew their car insurance policy again.

AAA is a good company and offers many options for car insurance coverage. Still, you should read customer reviews online to learn more about the company and see if the coverage and customer service would work for you.

AAA Rates

You’ll never know how much you’ll pay for insurance with AAA until you get a AAA car insurance quote. While you can get an average of how much a customer might pay for an auto insurance policy with AAA, several factors could impact your rate differently.

Most insurance companies consider specific factors when determining a policyholder’s coverage rates.

With AAA, you can expect the following factors to impact your overall rates:

  • Age
  • ZIP code
  • Driving history
  • Credit score
  • Car make and model 
  • Desired coverage

You should get a direct quote from AAA if you’re curious about how much you would pay for car insurance with the company. Still, you can use averages to understand better how much a car insurance policy with AAA would cost.

The Average Cost for AAA Coverage

The national rate for car insurance with AAA is $2,409 annually or $201 per month. This cost is nearly 60% higher than the national average for car insurance, which is $1,539 annually or $129 per month.

AAA’s rates are more than double USAA’s rates for similar coverage. USAA is only available to military members, veterans, and military families, but if you think it may be the right choice for you, visit our USAA auto insurance review. In addition, AAA’s rates are the highest compared to most popular car insurance providers aside from rates for teen drivers.

AAA Rates for Teen Drivers

While AAA’s rates on auto insurance for teenage drivers are not the highest of any company, they’re much higher than the national average.

Annual Full Coverage Teenage Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies
Insurance Company16-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record16-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record18-Year-Old Male with a Clean Record18-Year-Old Female with a Clean Record
Allstate$7,654$7,299$6,223$5,381
American Family$5,761$4,682$4,684$3,452
Farmers$8,901$9,330$7,238$6,879
GEICO$3,743$3,573$3,043$2,635
Liberty Mutual$9,339$8,592$7,593$6,335
Nationwide$5,714$4,926$4,646$3,632
Progressive$9,766$9,617$7,941$7,090
State Farm$4,191$3,730$3,408$2,750
Travelers$10,762$8,506$8,750$6,271
National Average$7,315$6,695$5,947$4,936

AAA female teen drivers pay nearly 20% more than the national average of $490 per month. Male teenage drivers pay 25% more than the national average, at $591 monthly. 

AAA Rates for Adult Drivers

Females who purchase a AAA policy will pay nearly $1,000 more than the national average for car insurance. 

Similarly, men who purchase a AAA policy pay nearly $1,200 more for coverage annually than the national average.

Young adult driver rates for AAA are over $1,000 more annually than rates for a similar demographic with GEICO auto insurance. According to studies, AAA young adult driver rates are the most expensive of any well-known insurer.

AAA rates for adult drivers are more than 50% higher than the national average for the same demographic.

Annual Full Coverage Adult Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies
Age and GenderAllstateFarmersGEICONationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersNational Average
30 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$2,118 $1,925 $1,041 $1,667 $1,633 $1,234 $1,274 $1,646
30 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$2,021 $1,843 $1,078 $1,519 $1,569 $1,122 $1,173 $1,523
45 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$1,919 $1,595 $962$1,376 $1,261 $1,032 $1,169 $1,411
45 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$1,941 $1,602 $958$1,355 $1,340 $1,032 $1,154 $1,413
Get Your Rates Quote Now

A 35-year-old female will pay nearly $2,270 annually or $190 per month for car insurance coverage. The national average is $123 per month. For a 35-year-old adult male, car insurance costs around $2,271 annually or $191 per month, while the national average for an adult male is $124 per month.

GEICO offers rates $1,100 cheaper for this same demographic. 

AAA Rates for Senior Drivers

AAA has the highest rates of any company in terms of auto insurance for older adults.

Annual Full Coverage Senior Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies
Insurance Company60-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record60-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record
Allstate$1,847$1,797$1,878$1,900
American Family$1,190$1,175$1,291$1,276
Farmers$1,474$1,383$1,561$1,568
GEICO$892$872$941$938
Liberty Mutual$1,890$1,758$2,022$1,991
Nationwide$1,253$1,189$1,347$1,327
Progressive$1,143$1,105$1,234$1,312
State Farm$912$912$1,010$1,010
Travelers$1,065$1,052$1,145$1,130
National Average$1,296$1,249$1,381$1,383

Female seniors pay $2,110 annually or $176 per month for coverage, while the national average is $111 per month. Similarly, male seniors pay $2,116 annually or $177 per month, while the national average per month is $114.

GEICO rates are more than $1,000 cheaper than AAA rates.

AAA Rates After a Speeding Ticket

Expect higher-than-average car insurance rates if you have a speeding ticket on your driving record, as with most insurance companies. However, AAA’s car insurance rates for people with speeding tickets on their records are higher than normal.

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$225$160
American Family$175$117
Farmers$198$139
GEICO$132$80
Liberty Mutual$234$173
Nationwide$161$115
Progressive$186$105
State Farm$102$86
Travelers$139$99
Average$152$123
Get Your Rates Quote Now

The national average for people with a speeding ticket on their records is $1,818 annually or $151 per month. AAA charges $3,204 annually or $267 a month. This price is $1,800 more than a State Farm auto insurance policy.

AAA Rates After an Accident

Car insurance rates change after an accident, especially if you don’t have accident forgiveness. AAA rates are much more expensive than the national average for people with an accident on their driving record.

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with an Accident
Insurance CompanyRates with an Accident
Allstate$237
American Family$166
Farmers$198
GEICO$132
Liberty Mutual$236
Nationwide$165
Progressive$190
State Farm$107
Travelers$157
Average$176

AAA charges $3,433 annually or $286 per month for people with an accident on their driving record. The national average for car insurance for this demographic is $2,123 or $177 per month.

Rates with State Farm are nearly $1,900 cheaper than AAA’s.

AAA Rates With a DUI

DUI or DWI conviction significantly impacts your car insurance rates. Most people who need auto insurance after a DUI see an increase within a few months.

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUI
Allstate$303
American Family$177
Farmers$191
GEICO$213
Liberty Mutual$325
Nationwide$252
Progressive$146
State Farm$124
Travelers$230
Average$218

AAA’s rates for people with a DUI on their record are extremely high at $5,129 annually or $428 per month. The national average for someone with a DUI is $2,619 annually or $216 monthly. Therefore, AAA’s rates for this demographic are nearly double the national average. 

Allstate offers coverage for people with a DUI, around $2,100 less than AAA’s. Additionally, State Farm rates are nearly $3,400 less. 

AAA Rates for Drivers With Poor Credit

If you have bad credit, your credit will likely impact your rates. AAA does not offer cheap auto insurance for drivers with bad credit.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
American Family$203$136$116
Farmers$269$161$139
GEICO$148$100$82
Liberty Mutual$357$226$176
Nationwide$165$132$120
Progressive$206$137$109
State Farm$200$117$90
Travelers$194$127$107
Allstate$296$196$166
Average$226$148$123

While the national average is $230 per month, AAA’s rates are $405 per month, nearly $3,000 more than GEICO’s rates for the same demographic.

Liability-Only Coverage With AAA

A liability car insurance policy is the cheapest insurance you can get to drive legally in your state. Unfortunately, AAA’s rates in this category are still high.

Minimum Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
Allstate$605
American Family$582
Farmers$674
GEICO$290
Liberty Mutual$771
Nationwide$588
Progressive$484
State Farm$408
Travelers$471
Average$541
Get Your Rates Quote Now

AAA charges $190 per month for minimum coverage car insurance, but the national average for this type of coverage is just $122 monthly.

Full Coverage With AAA

A full coverage auto insurance policy can be expensive, but it offers peace of mind for virtually every scenario.

Average Full Coverage Annual Rates for the Top 10 Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$1,993
American Family$1,386
Farmers$1,674
GEICO$984
Liberty Mutual$2,120
Nationwide$1,445
Progressive$1,310
State Farm$1,091
Travelers$1,287
USAA$753
Average$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

AAA charges $213 per month for full coverage, while the national average for this coverage is $135. USAA and GEICO both charge significantly less for a similar policy.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

AAA Discounts Available

AAA has car insurance discounts its policyholders can benefit from, including:

  • Discounts based on education
  • Discounts based on occupation
  • Discounts for using Anti-theft devices
  • Loyalty discounts
  • Safe driver insurance discounts
  • Good student discounts
  • New young driver discounts
  • Student away at school discounts
  • Discounts for taking a driver training course
  • Multi-car discounts
  • Multi-policy discounts
  • Paid-in-full discounts
  • Automatic payments

You’ll need to check with a AAA representative to see how much you could save on your policy with the abovementioned discounts. Some discounts could help you save up to 25% on your car insurance. 

What is AAADrive?

AAADrive is another way policyholders can save money on coverage. With AAADrive, you can allow AAA to monitor your driving habits. If you drive safely, the company could lower your insurance premiums. 

AAA uses its mobile app to monitor your stops, starts, overall speeds, driving time of day, weekly distances, and more. However, AAA won’t increase your insurance rates if your driving techniques don’t correlate with cheaper rates. If you stay accident free, your rates will stay the same or improve.

AAA Coverage Options

There are several AAA clubs throughout the U.S., and each may offer products that differ slightly from others. To know the availability in your area, you’ll need to search for your local AAA club and read about that club’s car insurance coverage options.

While car insurance coverage with AAA may differ from one club to the next, some coverages likely extend to all, such as:

  • Bodily injury liability. Suppose you’re at fault in an accident, and one or more people get injured. In that case, AAA’s bodily injury liability pays for the medical attention they need up to your policy limits.
  • Property damage liability. If you’re at fault in an accident and one or more vehicles or pieces of property get damaged, property damage liability with AAA pays for the repairs up to your policy limits.
  • Personal injury protection (PIP). If you or a passenger in your vehicle get injured in an accident, personal injury protection car insurance covers your medical bills and other expenses.
  • Medical payments (MedPay). Like PIP, AAA’s MedPay insurance covers medical expenses associated with a covered incident.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. If you’re in an accident with a motorist who doesn’t have car insurance or doesn’t carry enough coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage helps pay for your vehicle damages. 
  • Collision coverage. If you’re at fault in an accident, collision insurance with AAA covers your vehicle repairs. If you’re in the same scenario and only carry liability coverage, you must pay for repairs out of pocket.
  • Comprehensive coverage. If your vehicle gets damaged in a non-accident-related incident, such as inclement weather or vandalism, comprehensive insurance with AAA pays for your car repairs. 

While these coverages are standard with most car insurance companies, AAA offers its policyholders additional coverage options, including: 

  • GAP insurance. If you owe money on a loan or lease and your car gets totaled, GAP insurance coverage helps pay the difference between what you owe on your vehicle and your car’s worth after depreciation.
  • Rental car reimbursement. If your vehicle gets damaged in a covered event, rental car reimbursement pays for a rental car while your car is in the shop.
  • Rental car coverage. AAA membership car rental insurance pays for any damage you cause to a rental car while you’re driving it.
  • Rideshare insurance. If you drive for a rideshare company like Uber or Lyft, rideshare auto insurance ensures you’re protected if you get in an accident on the job. 
  • Roadside assistance. Many people enjoy roadside assistance’s protection, especially if they get stranded. Roadside assistance helps with flat tire repair, fuel delivery, lockout services, and more.
  • Non-owner insurance. If you drive a vehicle that doesn’t belong to you, AAA’s non-owner coverage ensures you have proper liability coverage.
  • Pet insurance. Pet insurance with AAA covers medical bills if your pet gets injured in a car accident.
  • Accident forgiveness. It’s no secret that being in a car accident can cause your rates to increase. You can stop stressing about how an accident impacts your car insurance premiums with accident forgiveness.

If you want the cheapest policy, you may need to stick with a liability-only car insurance policy. This minimum coverage helps you drive legally, but it won’t cost as much as other options.

Many drivers, especially people who owe money on their vehicles or have newer cars, choose a full coverage auto insurance policy, including liability, collision, and comprehensive coverage, to ensure their vehicle stays protected. If you know you’ll want full coverage on your car, compare AAA auto insurance quotes to ensure you don’t pay too much.

Speak with a AAA representative or find a local insurance agent for more information about the coverage you may need. There’s no need to pay for unnecessary coverage, but you don’t want to buy a bare-bones policy only to learn you needed more coverage after an accident.

What is a AAA club membership?

You can’t purchase AAA car insurance unless you have a membership with the company. A AAA membership costs anywhere from $60 to $120 annually, and the membership comes with many perks and advantages.

AAA is most well-known for its roadside assistance coverage. Roadside assistance with AAA includes jump-starts, flat tire repair, towing, emergency fuel delivery, minor roadside repairs, and more. If you drive a lot, a AAA membership could be extremely helpful.

However, AAA offers more than just roadside assistance. As a AAA member, you can get discounts on hotel rooms, rental cars, flights, and more. In addition, the company negotiates discounts on behalf of its members to find the cheapest travel options in any area.

Additionally, if you purchase a trip through AAA’s discounted options, you’re also covered by the company’s travel insurance. This coverage protects your trip if you lose something, have to cancel for certain reasons, or need assistance during travel. 

What other insurance does AAA sell?

Along with auto insurance, AAA sells the following insurance products:

  • Home
  • Condo
  • Renters
  • RV
  • Flood
  • Life
  • Umbrella
  • Educators

If you’re looking for another insurance product, like home insurance, you could save money by bundling your home and auto insurance policies with AAA.

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I file a claim with AAA?

You can call the local claims number in your area to file a claim or use the company’s mobile app.

Do I have to be a AAA member to purchase insurance?

You must be a member to purchase car insurance with AAA.

How do I cancel my AAA car insurance policy?

Call 1-877-387-8378 to speak with a representative about canceling your policy. You may need to provide specific details and information, and you’ll likely have to answer specific questions about your policy. You can ask a representative to send you a confirmation email once the process is complete to ensure you have proof of the cancellation.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

Reviews
for AAA

4.12 (2,931 reviews)
1
September 12, 2022

cordarei

inefficient claims

I am dealing with a claim right now. Good luck getting one on the phone. I've only lucked out of reaching a live person 2 out of every 10 calls made, and they NEVER return your call back. I'm sitting on a claim for almost 30 days because they can't reach their insured. They sent a person out to the insured's house and the claim agent doesn't have a status of that. I was told that it will be 2 days before they can get in touch with the person who ...
I am dealing with a claim right now. Good luck getting one on the phone. I've only lucked out of reaching a live person 2 out of every 10 calls made, and they NEVER return your call back. I'm sitting on a claim for almost 30 days because they can't reach their insured. They sent a person out to the insured's house and the claim agent doesn't have a status of that. I was told that it will be 2 days before they can get in touch with the person who went to the insured driver's house. How hard should it be to pick up a phone and call the person who went out? They can't get in touch with their insured driver, and they can't tell me what the protocol is if they are unable to get in touch. Their claim adjusters are highly inefficient.
1
February 28, 2022

tom_pop

Breach of Trust -- Raises Premium Without Notifying Consumer

AAA increased my annual premium by $319 a year after just one month on the plan -- and without giving me any notice. I only happened to catch it because I saw the cost of my next bill was significantly higher. I feel like AAA has a pretty stellar reputation, so I was shocked when this happened. When I cancelled my policy, I was hit with a huge fee as well, but I was so discouraged by this customer service experience that I just wanted out -- even...
AAA increased my annual premium by $319 a year after just one month on the plan -- and without giving me any notice. I only happened to catch it because I saw the cost of my next bill was significantly higher. I feel like AAA has a pretty stellar reputation, so I was shocked when this happened. When I cancelled my policy, I was hit with a huge fee as well, but I was so discouraged by this customer service experience that I just wanted out -- even if other insurers are going to charge me similar rates.
5
July 25, 2021

CCADE

Excellent, Fast Professional & Friendly Service

Locked Out Of Car. [REDACTED NAME] Did A Excellent & Professional Job! & AAA Service Was Exactly Worth My Premier Membership For Our Family. We R Very Grateful For His Service. On Such A Hot Day He Gave Service With A Smile👏Thank U [REDACTED NAME] For Being Such A Dedicated Young Man To Your Job. We Will Tell Others About AAA! & 👌EXCELLENT SERVICE.
1
April 2, 2021

vintagemx465

Home Owners Insurance

I have been a AAA member for over 27 years (one way or another). I received a letter saying they no longer could insure my home because the dangers of my house location. I called and asked what Dangers and they could not answer after several attempts (intimidation)? I later received another letter stating I had to have a video review of my home (invasion of privacy). After the video, was contacted by phone stating they wanted to see permits (hara...
I have been a AAA member for over 27 years (one way or another). I received a letter saying they no longer could insure my home because the dangers of my house location. I called and asked what Dangers and they could not answer after several attempts (intimidation)? I later received another letter stating I had to have a video review of my home (invasion of privacy). After the video, was contacted by phone stating they wanted to see permits (harassment). In that same phone conversation, I told the person that I wanted to see the renewal amount and then we could talk. I received my renewal and AAA gave me a 40% increase on my policy. Bottom line is after the intimidation, invasion of privacy and the harassment, I will not renew my homeowners, auto and Roadside Service with this terrible company... Just check the reviews on AAA's reputations on paying claims (or lack of). They like "Kicking the Can Down the Road" (a claim), but really kick the policy owners to the curb.
1
January 24, 2021

Always_Cold

Good customer service

I made my call about 10 am or so today (Sunday 1/24/2021). I was assisted by a AAA member, and I let her know that my mother's car has a dead battery and for them to come and take a look at it. My mother is also a AAA member. The AAA battery was purchased on 2/7/2020 (it is less than a year old) by me on her behalf, and I have told her to limit going out since she is immunocompromised. A Deerfield (company that is contracted by AAA) gentleman [RE...
I made my call about 10 am or so today (Sunday 1/24/2021). I was assisted by a AAA member, and I let her know that my mother's car has a dead battery and for them to come and take a look at it. My mother is also a AAA member. The AAA battery was purchased on 2/7/2020 (it is less than a year old) by me on her behalf, and I have told her to limit going out since she is immunocompromised. A Deerfield (company that is contracted by AAA) gentleman [REDACTED NAME] came out and asked me how long the car has been sitting there. I told him about 2 weeks. He flat out refused to replace my battery which is under a 6-year warranty after showing me that it is a bad battery (after he hooked it to his machine; it said BAD battery in RED). I talked to [REDACTED NAME], a AAA customer service employee, who was wonderful and assisted me (on behalf of my mother) in every way while [REDACTED NAME] was rude to [REDACTED NAME] and me. [REDACTED NAME] called his supervisor [REDACTED NAME] who was also rude to me and [REDACTED NAME]. [REDACTED NAME], the Deerfield supervisor, told me and my mother to drive around and if the car goes dead again, to call AAA back. How ethical is it of Deerfield to let my elderly mother drive around on a bad battery waiting for it to fail while putting her in an unsafe position (should she get stalled in a bad place; and what if I was not there to help her since I'm a healthcare worker and can't just leave)? This is just begging for bad things to happen. [REDACTED NAME] connected me with the Resolutions Dept; I talked to [REDACTED NAME] in the Resolutions Dept and [REDACTED NAME] apologized and said he would send someone out to replace the battery since he himself agreed that the battery was under warranty. In about 45 mins or so I got a call from Auto-to-go who said they will NOT replace my mother's battery. So, I called AAA AGAIN. I spoke to [REDACTED NAME] in the Resolutions Department who tried to help and said [REDACTED NAME] (who is her supervisor) would call me as he was a supervisor in the Resolutions Department. 2.5 hours later, no call. So, I called AGAIN and spoke to [REDACTED NAME] who said she couldn't do anything but put in a complaint against Deerfield and the "Service Monitoring Dept" would be calling me in about 5-7 business days. She did end up giving me a complaint #; she did do at least that much for me. But obviously, that didn't help me in my current situation. I and my mother have been loyal PLUS members for 13 years and have never encountered such terrible customer service from AAA or Deerfield. Is the Resolutions Dept in name only because no one has been able to help me/my mother or been able to resolve this? After an hour long wait (I was on hold that whole time), I was finally able to talk to the supervisor in the Resolutions Dept, [REDACTED NAME], who I thought would help me. But my luck - not only was [REDACTED NAME] rude, but she was also of no help. She said I need to get my (mother's) battery recharged myself by driving to Autozone with no offer to tow us there- seems like AAA was putting me and my mother in harm's way (they didn't care if the battery or me and/or my elderly mother was stalled on the road) just so I could get off their back - at least [REDACTED NAME] made it seem like that. She said "we have to follow the battery protocol." I told her all she had to do was offer to tow the car to the nearest AAA and have them charge the battery for us, but she didn't. I had to come up with that idea all on my own. Later, she claimed it to be her idea. Unbelievable. My mother and I are very shocked and terribly disappointed in the customer service shown by the Resolutions Department. It is now almost 4 pm with no resolution and me calling them 4 times, and on hold for an hour each time I called. They must think I have nothing better to do than be on hold. [REDACTED NAME], then, tells me to call again in the morning so they can tow my mother's car to a AAA shop and get the battery recharged. That was all she had to do to help a customer out, but she didn't even do that! [REDACTED NAME] was continuously clacking on the keyboard and who knows what all she was typing/saying about me. She didn't even have the courtesy to answer me when I asked a question; she said "I'm making notes about this." She just continued to type without apologizing as she never answered my question. Unclear why they have people like [REDACTED NAME] as supervisors in a Resolution Department. Maybe I should be a supervisor at AAA because here would have been my response, and the response I was hoping for (that never happened). It would have also been a way to have kept a 13-year loyal member happy. What should have been said was: I'm so sorry this happened to you/your mother's car. Let's fix this by towing you to the nearest AAA location, getting your battery charged; if it's bad, we'll replace it; if it's not, it is charged now and you will not have any further trouble. Once charged, let's tow it back to your house so you don't have to worry about this. Now THAT would be good customer service to a loyal member that would have kept me and my mother a loyal member, and I would give AAA stellar reviews. Now instead I've got to call AAA in the morning, have my mother's car towed, have to worry about missing AAA's call as I'm seeing patients (and murphy's law dictates that's bound to happen), and have to worry about how to get the car back as I'll be at work and will not be able to get to it in time. Being a healthcare worker/essential worker, I do everything in my power to protect my elderly parents, one of whom has cancer, by telling them not to go anywhere unless absolutely necessary. In these covid times, when people are sick, AAA expects us to be on the road and not leave our cars in our driveway (which means we are doing the socially responsible thing in not going out and socially distancing per CDC recommendations). It also means you can't get sick from covid or go out of town or in non-covid times, on a vacation -if you do and your car is sitting there, it hasn't followed "the battery protocol," and AAA will not be able to help you, nor will they replace your battery that is less than a year old and under a 6-year warranty. I mean why do I or my mother even have AAA especially if they can't help me or my elderly mother when we need them the most? Now I have to call AAA AGAIN tomorrow regarding the tow, and I can only hope I am available as I'm a healthcare worker who is actually taking care of covid patients. I will NEVER be buying AAA batteries -they will die on you before the year is up; and I certainly will not be renewing mine and my mother's AAA membership. I currently have a very poor opinion of AAA which I have never before had in the 13 years that I have been with them; this would have been my 14th year had I renewed. They have shown me in more ways than one that this membership, nor I/my mother, as a customer is worth much to them.
5
January 22, 2021

kathleenl1963

Best Insurance Ever

The price for this homeowners and auto insurance is fantastic. When I switched from Liberty Mutual I saved more than 1000 a year.
5
January 17, 2021

Random_

AAA Review

The company was a good company but the customer service was very irritating, it was unbearable and I am considering to switch companies.
4
January 10, 2021

ted_mulkey

my pro and con with AAA

it was a very good experience there are multiple discounts that are amazing and quite helpful and their costumer service is good but it is a little bit expensive
5
January 7, 2021

Sherry1982

How I feel

AAA has been amazing and any time I need there help they are there with answers. They offer so many good deals with there road side assistance
5
January 7, 2021

Trustme

AAA Insurance!

This company was very good because it gave us protection and security of our autovehicle. I would recommend this insurance company.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.buyautoinsurance.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption