Nationwide Car Insurance Review 2022

Nationwide car insurance costs depend on your location, driving history, and insurance needs.

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022Fact Checked
4.0
buyautoinsurance.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Nationwide

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$1,376

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Add-ons like vanishing deductible, accident forgiveness, and new car replacement
  • Usage-based insurance program, SmartRide, for drivers with good driving habits
  • Available in 46 states and Washington, D.C.
  • A+ rating from the BBB and A.M. Best
  • Wide network of local agents

Cons

  • No rideshare insurance coverage
  • Auto insurance coverage is unavailable in Alaska, Hawaii, Louisiana, or Massachusetts
  • Select discounts unavailable in some states
  • Select discounts only available to drivers of a certain age

The Bottom Line

Between its competitive rates and discounts, Nationwide has the potential to be a good fit for all drivers seeking affordable coverage. Drivers who don’t get behind the wheel often can likely save the most, thanks to SmartDrive, Nationwide’s pay-per-mile insurance option. 

If you are shopping around, it would be worth getting a Nationwide auto insurance quote and comparing it to quotes from other auto insurance companies. 

Nationwide has been in the auto insurance business for over 90 years. Formerly known as Farm Bureau Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, the Nationwide insurance company headquarters is in Columbus, Ohio. The company offers a wide range of insurance products, including auto insurance, its first product.

Residents in 46 states and Washington, D.C., have access to the company’s auto insurance coverage, making it an option for most U.S. drivers should they find it fits their car insurance needs. Of course, the decision to get insurance through Nationwide depends on many factors. 

Our guide covers Nationwide liability car insurance and full coverage car insurance costs, standard and add-on coverage options, discounts, and more to help you decide if Nationwide is the ideal car insurance company for you.

Is Nationwide a Good Choice?

Yes, Nationwide car insurance is good. With an A.M. Best and Better Business Bureau rating of A+, this auto insurer consistently meets obligations to its policyholders. When considering rates, available discounts, and coverage options, Nationwide offers its customers various ways to get the insurance coverage they need for an affordable price. 

Nationwide also offers customers several options for contacting customer service, including phone, social media, and the Nationwide mobile app. These options allow the company to work toward making customer interactions effortless, personal, and reassuring.

Nationwide Rates

Insurance rates are one of the most significant factors people consider when choosing a car insurance company. When shopping around, drivers can see different rates, and the most affordable is likely to win.

Like other auto insurance companies, Nationwide uses several factors to calculate insurance premiums, including age, location, vehicle type, and driving record.

Here’s a list of Nationwide car insurance premiums by state along with other top insurers.

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by State
StateAllstateFarmersGEICOLiberty MutualNationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersAverage
AK$1,667 $1,195 $807$1,223
AL$1,332 $1,644 $1,099 $1,999 $1,189 $1,388 $1,337 $972$1,370
AR$2,007 $1,120 $1,227 $1,581 $1,620 $989$1,367 $1,416
AZ$2,226 $1,664 $808$1,436 $1,039 $999$1,292 $1,352
CA$1,996 $1,553 $1,774
CO$2,054 $2,010 $1,161 $1,133 $1,324 $1,490 $1,168 $1,475
CT$2,421 $768$2,486 $1,382 $1,641 $1,126 $1,030 $1,550
DC$2,976 $855$2,126 $1,420 $1,371 $1,750
DE$2,555 $1,243 $6,117 $1,777 $1,115 $1,431 $1,019 $2,180
FL$2,263 $1,103 $1,995 $1,272 $1,889 $1,223 $1,624
GA$2,035 $754$3,259 $1,878 $1,417 $1,324 $1,778
HI$1,113
IA$1,008 $1,006 $1,432 $900$930$804$1,143 $1,049
ID$1,587 $1,139 $708$975$1,018 $653$707$992
IL$2,172 $587$935$1,146 $1,103 $796$1,077 $1,153
IN$1,729 $977$785$2,269 $1,198 $849$872$856$1,207
KS$1,973 $1,781 $923$2,148 $1,141 $1,575 $1,003 $1,071 $1,447
KY$988$2,080 $2,277 $1,377 $1,212 $1,725 $1,610
LA$2,547 $1,739 $1,990 $1,537 $1,953
MA$1,342
MD$2,481 $1,671 $1,313 $1,493 $1,322 $1,656
ME$1,334 $1,446 $454$1,485 $1,166 $724$759$1,053
MI$5,017 $4,140 $1,219 $5,250 $3,184 $1,880 $2,585 $2,268 $3,193
MN$1,977 $1,333 $1,118 $4,640 $1,070 $828$1,732
MO$1,831 $1,674 $1,112 $1,597 $816$1,212 $1,051 $1,326
MS$1,822 $886$1,477 $1,190 $1,487 $1,018 $1,092 $1,282
MT$1,903 $2,025 $1,020 $726$1,093 $2,109 $870$1,392
NC$2,095 $851$1,020 $1,367 $393$949$1,228 $1,129
ND$1,679 $1,324 $749$4,919 $949$1,364 $943$1,715
NE$1,545 $1,606 $1,139 $2,213 $952$1,175 $850$1,358
NH$1,585 $624$2,453 $953$785$729$1,188
NJ$1,948 $2,861 $917$3,446 $1,154 $1,403 $1,679 $1,915
NM$1,958 $1,615 $1,119 $1,186 $1,069 $855$1,300
NV$2,046 $1,915 $1,361 $1,375 $1,386 $1,018 $1,272 $1,122 $1,470
NY$1,820 $963$2,473 $2,026 $1,188 $1,695 $2,159 $1,761
OH$1,483 $1,193 $728$1,311 $1,408 $1,051 $863$784$1,065
OK$1,668 $1,684 $1,350 $2,279 $1,362 $1,122 $1,577
OR$1,896 $1,378 $1,155 $1,738 $1,372 $959$926$1,197 $1,326
PA$1,829 $843$2,704 $1,066 $1,834 $938$931$1,449
RI$2,333 $1,547 $2,905 $2,351 $1,438 $939$1,275 $1,827
SC$1,650 $2,059 $979$1,459 $1,294 $1,089 $1,422
SD$1,682 $1,398 $706$2,849 $943$1,298 $827$1,446
TN$1,777 $1,065 $970$1,464 $1,141 $895$1,090 $1,200
TX$2,488 $1,303 $1,908 $1,493 $1,109 $1,745
UT$1,442 $1,417 $906$1,466 $1,154 $1,174 $1,269 $1,266
VA$1,277 $859$1,061 $754$785$947
VT$1,759 $469$1,242 $954$2,233 $1,079 $1,289
WA$1,415 $1,260 $922$1,140 $866$746$858$1,042
WI$1,521 $1,346 $766$1,039 $2,797 $1,158 $721$1,265
WV$2,000 $1,030 $2,419 $1,288 $1,362 $979$1,513
WY$1,918 $1,604 $1,369 $922$1,017 $1,366

As mentioned, insurers consider location when calculating premiums, so rates vary depending on a driver’s location.

Let’s see how Nationwide car insurance costs compare to its competitors and the national average.

Nationwide Auto Insurance Rates for Teen Drivers

Due to their inexperience, teen drivers have high premiums. In fact, drivers between 16 and 19 have the highest premiums of any other age group. 

Annual Full Coverage Teenage Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies
Insurance Company16-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record16-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record18-Year-Old Male with a Clean Record18-Year-Old Female with a Clean Record
Allstate$7,654$7,299$6,223$5,381
American Family$5,761$4,682$4,684$3,452
Farmers$8,901$9,330$7,238$6,879
GEICO$3,743$3,573$3,043$2,635
Liberty Mutual$9,339$8,592$7,593$6,335
Nationwide$5,714$4,926$4,646$3,632
Progressive$9,766$9,617$7,941$7,090
State Farm$4,191$3,730$3,408$2,750
Travelers$10,762$8,506$8,750$6,271
National Average$7,315$6,695$5,947$4,936

Although rates for teen drivers can be high, Nationwide’s good student discount can lower the cost.

Nationwide Insurance Rates for Adult Drivers

Young adult drivers have more experience than teen drivers, making them less likely to file a claim. If a teen driver maintains a good driving record, rates for young adult drivers usually drop by 20% when they turn 20.

Like teen drivers, young adult drivers in college between 20 and 24 can save on Nationwide car insurance with a good student discount.

Ideally, adult drivers 25 and up have exhibited safe driving habits and improved their driving skills, so rates can drop significantly during this period.

Annual Full Coverage Adult Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies
Age and GenderAllstateFarmersGEICONationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersNational Average
30 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$2,118 $1,925 $1,041 $1,667 $1,633 $1,234 $1,274 $1,646
30 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$2,021 $1,843 $1,078 $1,519 $1,569 $1,122 $1,173 $1,523
45 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$1,919 $1,595 $962$1,376 $1,261 $1,032 $1,169 $1,411
45 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$1,941 $1,602 $958$1,355 $1,340 $1,032 $1,154 $1,413
Get Your Rates Quote Now

If you receive any traffic violation or get in an accident, rates can be higher than what you would expect for an adult driver, regardless of experience behind the wheel. 

Nationwide Auto Insurance Rates for Senior Drivers

Senior drivers 60 and up can expect higher insurance premiums. Even those with good driving records tend to have high rates. 

Annual Full Coverage Senior Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies
Insurance Company60-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record60-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record
Allstate$1,847$1,797$1,878$1,900
American Family$1,190$1,175$1,291$1,276
Farmers$1,474$1,383$1,561$1,568
GEICO$892$872$941$938
Liberty Mutual$1,890$1,758$2,022$1,991
Nationwide$1,253$1,189$1,347$1,327
Progressive$1,143$1,105$1,234$1,312
State Farm$912$912$1,010$1,010
Travelers$1,065$1,052$1,145$1,130
National Average$1,296$1,249$1,381$1,383

Since senior drivers may drive far less than they used to, Nationwide pay-per-mile coverage, SmartRide, could allow them to save, making it more fitting for their budget.

Nationwide Rates After a Speeding Ticket

Nationwide customers can expect a change in their premium after receiving a speeding ticket. However, a speeding ticket doesn’t always increase your insurance rates, depending on your driving record.

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$225$160
American Family$175$117
Farmers$198$139
GEICO$132$80
Liberty Mutual$234$173
Nationwide$161$115
Progressive$186$105
State Farm$102$86
Travelers$139$99
Average$152$123
Get Your Rates Quote Now

If your rates increase, it could impact them for the next three to five years. Avoiding additional speeding tickets can help lower rates once the initial speeding ticket fades from your driving record.

Nationwide Insurance Rates After an Accident 

It’s not uncommon for an accident to trigger an increase in your Nationwide insurance premium. Similar to a speeding ticket, an accident can impact your premium for up to five years. 

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with an Accident
Insurance CompanyRates with an Accident
Allstate$237
American Family$166
Farmers$198
GEICO$132
Liberty Mutual$236
Nationwide$165
Progressive$190
State Farm$107
Travelers$157
Average$176

Although an accident can negatively impact insurance rates, Nationwide offers accident forgiveness, so drivers with this optional coverage won’t have to worry about a rate increase following an at-fault accident. 

Nationwide Car Insurance Rates After a DUI

Generally, drivers can maintain insurance with their current auto insurer after a DUI or switch to another company, but a DUI negatively impacts rates no matter who insures you. 

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUI
Allstate$303
American Family$177
Farmers$191
GEICO$213
Liberty Mutual$325
Nationwide$252
Progressive$146
State Farm$124
Travelers$230
Average$218

Your rates may not increase immediately, but your insurer will review your driving record upon policy renewal. So, your insurer will eventually find out about the violation and raise your rates. 

Nationwide Rates for Drivers With Poor Credit

Car insurance companies frequently run credit checks to understand how risky someone may be to insure. To most insurers, poor credit means a higher likelihood that the driver will file a claim, while a driver with good or excellent credit may be less likely to file a claim.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
American Family$203$136$116
Farmers$269$161$139
GEICO$148$100$82
Liberty Mutual$357$226$176
Nationwide$165$132$120
Progressive$206$137$109
State Farm$200$117$90
Travelers$194$127$107
Allstate$296$196$166
Average$226$148$123

Nationwide may consider a person’s credit score when determining rates, but there are car insurance companies that don’t check credit if you’re worried about potentially high rates. However, coverage through a no-credit-check auto insurance company can still be expensive.

How much is minimum coverage with Nationwide?

As you know, the cost of minimum coverage varies by state. If you’re considering minimum coverage from Nationwide, you’ll want to look at the cost.

Average Minimum Coverage Monthly Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
Allstate$50
American Family$48
Farmers$56
GEICO$31
Liberty Mutual$64
Nationwide$49
Progressive$39
State Farm$33
Travelers$37
Average$45
Get Your Rates Quote Now

While most states require a specific amount of minimum coverage, some drivers opt for additional coverage offering them more financial protection after an accident.

How much is full coverage with Nationwide?

Full coverage car insurance often includes liability, collision, comprehensive, rental reimbursement, and roadside assistance.

Average Full Coverage Annual Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$1,993
American Family$1,386
Farmers$1,674
GEICO$984
Liberty Mutual$2,120
Nationwide$1,445
Progressive$1,310
State Farm$1,091
Travelers$1,287
Average$1,477

With this additional coverage, insurance premiums are higher than a policy with minimum coverage.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Nationwide Discounts Available

here are several ways for Nationwide customers to save on insurance thanks to the wide range of car insurance discounts listed below:

  • Accident-free discount. Earn a discount for being accident-free.
  • Anti-theft discount. Save money by having a vehicle with an anti-theft device.
  • Defensive driving discount. Earn a discount after enrolling and completing a state-approved driver’s safety course based on age. 
  • Automatic payments discount. Earn a discount when you sign up for automatic payment deduction from your checking or savings account.
  • Good student discount. Get a discount for drivers 16 to 24 with a high school or college average of a B or higher. 
  • Multi-policy discount. Get a discount for bundling your Nationwide car and homeowners insurance.
  • Paperless discount. Earn a discount for receiving bills and any other insurance-related documents electronically.
  • Safe driver discount. Get a discount on your insurance premium for five or more years without a traffic violation or accident.

Depending on your location and age, certain discounts may be unavailable. Check with your local agent to confirm which discounts are available in your area.

Nationwide Coverage Options

Nationwide offers many standard car insurance coverages, including: 

  • Bodily injury liability. Covers the cost of bodily injury to other drivers and passengers involved in an accident you caused.
  • Property damage liability. Covers the cost of property damage to other vehicles involved in an accident you caused. 
  • Personal injury protection. Covers the cost of medical expenses, death benefits, and lost wages for you and your passengers after an accident.
  • Medical payments. Covers the cost of medical expenses for you and your passengers after an accident. 
  • Underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage (UIM/UM). Covers costs associated with property damage and bodily injury following an accident caused by another driver with no insurance, insufficient insurance, or a hit-and-run-driver.
  • Collision insurance. Covers the cost of vehicle damage after a collision with a vehicle or object, regardless of fault. 
  • Comprehensive insurance. Covers the cost of vehicle damage resulting from theft, vandalism, or environmental factors, including floods and fires.

These standard coverage options meet the minimum insurance requirement, but drivers can choose higher limits to ensure sufficient protection.

For example, if your state requires $15,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $20,000 in bodily injury liability per accident, and $10,000 in property damage liability per accident, increasing each limit can save you money in the event of an accident. You’ll pay a higher premium, but you won’t have to pay out of pocket for bodily injury or property damage costs your policy didn’t cover.

Nationwide Add-On Car Insurance Coverage Options

Customers interested in coverage beyond the standard insurance offerings can opt for the following add-ons:

  • Roadside assistance. Assists in roadside emergencies, including fuel delivery, tire change, jump-start, or tow.
  • Towing and labor coverage. Reimburses drivers with comprehensive coverage for towing expenses and on-site vehicle repair following a breakdown. 
  • Rental reimbursement coverage. Provides access to a rental car or other transportation while your car is in a repair shop after a covered accident.
  • GAP insurance. Covers the difference between the car’s value and the remaining loan balance or lease if your car gets totaled in an accident.
  • Accident forgiveness. A no-cost feature that protects you from a rate increase following a minor violation or your first at-fault accident. 
  • Vanishing deductible. A no-cost feature that reduces your deductible by $100 every year, up to $500, for being a safe driver. 
  • Total loss deductible waiver. Waives your comprehensive or collision deductible in the event of a total loss.

While add-on coverage options vary by state, any additional protection can benefit drivers.

Does Nationwide offer rideshare insurance?

Standard car insurance policies don’t cover business use of your vehicle. Unfortunately, Nationwide doesn’t offer the necessary coverage if you drive for a transportation or rideshare company like Uber or Lyft. 

This means if you are involved in an accident while driving for a rideshare company, you’ll have to pay out of pocket for property damage, medical bills, and any other accident-related expenses. 

If your rideshare company doesn’t offer insurance, determine the insurance companies offering rideshare insurance and purchase coverage before driving.

Nationwide Usage-Based Car Insurance

SmartRide is Nationwide’s free usage-based insurance program. Drivers aren’t required to participate, but this is one of many ways to lower your insurance premium significantly. 

Here’s how the program works: 

  1. Enroll in SmartRide and download the SmartRide app. At the time of enrollment, drivers receive an initial discount of 15%. 
  2. SmartRide monitors your driving habits over a four to six-month period by tracking miles driven, acceleration, hard braking, and nighttime driving. All tracked information is available in the app for you to review.
  3. Based on this information, Nationwide applies a discount of up to 40% when your policy renews. Drivers who enroll in the program aren’t guaranteed a discount. Additionally, insurance premiums don’t increase if the app shows poor driving habits.  

We recommend drivers use the SmartRide app, but you can use a telematics plug-in device to monitor driving habits if your vehicle used to be in a Nationwide usage-based insurance program.

Nationwide Pay-Per-Mile Car Insurance

In addition to SmartRide, Nationwide offers a pay-per-mile car insurance program called SmartMiles. Designed for infrequent drivers, SmartMiles uses your monthly mileage to determine your rates. You’ll still get standard coverage and an automatic safe driving discount of up to 10%.

SmartMiles isn’t available in all states, but luckily, there are other ways to keep insurance premiums affordable.

Nationwide Insurance Mobile App

Nationwide customers can download the mobile app to quickly and conveniently complete the following tasks: 

  • Obtain insurance ID cards
  • Manage and make payments
  • File and track claims
  • Update, change, or edit coverage, drivers, and vehicles

The mobile app is a great way to promptly view your policy if you can’t log into your account from a computer. 

Purchasing a Nationwide Car Insurance Policy

Customers can buy Nationwide auto insurance by getting an online Nationwide insurance quote.

The online quote will ask for the following information:

  • Name
  • Sex
  • Date of birth
  • Address
  • Email address
  • Phone number
  • Social security number
  • Marital status
  • Vehicle make, model, year, body style, VIN, safety features, and weekly mileage
  • List of vehicle drivers, including their names, ages, and list of driver safety courses, if applicable

Once you receive your Nationwide quote, you can review the recommended coverage options and rates before purchasing.

Filing Nationwide Claims

Following an accident, drivers can file a claim with Nationwide by:

  • Visiting the Nationwide website
  • Using the mobile app
  • Contacting your local agent
  • Calling the Nationwide insurance phone number at 800-421-3535

When filing a claim, you’ll be asked to provide the following information: 

  • Name
  • Address
  • Policy number
  • Witness or involved party’s name and address
  • Loss information

Once you file the claim, Nationwide will begin the process and review the information. There may be additional information or documents necessary to complete the processing of your claim and investigation, such as legal notices or medical bills. 

Throughout the claims process, you can check the status by logging into your account, calling the Nationwide claims phone number at 800-421-3535, or texting 252467.

How do I contact Nationwide? 

Between filing claims, adjusting coverage, and updating addresses, customers have many reasons to contact Nationwide.

Customers can contact Nationwide in several ways:

You can find contact information for local agents using Nationwide’s online search tool for customers who prefer to connect with an agent instead of a customer service representative. 

Additional Insurance Products Offered by Nationwide

In addition to auto insurance, Nationwide offers its customers a host of personal insurance products, including:

  • Life
  • Pet
  • Dental
  • Umbrella
  • Identity theft
  • Specialty health
  • Travel
  • Wedding
  • Homeowners
  • Renters
  • Condo
  • Private client
  • Flood
  • Motorcycle
  • Snowmobile
  • Classic car
  • ATV
  • RV
  • Boat
  • Personal watercraft
  • Scooter
  • Golf cart

If you’re interested in any of the above insurance products, you could potentially save by bundling with auto insurance. Nationwide also offers various business insurance and financial products.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Nationwide good car insurance?

Yes, Nationwide is good car insurance. With this auto insurer, drivers can save significantly between the different coverage options, discounts, and insurance programs.

Who should get Nationwide car insurance?

Nationwide’s rates are competitive, so many drivers could be happy with Nationwide. However, it’s more suitable for drivers who don’t travel often. Its pay-per-mile insurance option, SmartMiles, allows drivers to pay a premium based on their monthly mileage, giving lower rates to infrequent drivers.

Where can I get Nationwide car insurance?

Nationwide offers car insurance in 46 states and Washington, D.C. You can get a Nationwide quote at www.nationwide.com, by phone at 1-888-869-5727, through the mobile app, or from a local Nationwide agent.

How do I contact Nationwide insurance?

Customers can contact Nationwide in several ways: 

 

You can find contact information for local agents using Nationwide’s online search tool for customers who prefer to connect with an agent instead of a customer service representative. 

How does Nationwide compare to other car insurance companies?

Compared to other insurance companies, Nationwide is a competitive option for rates, discounts, and coverage options.

Is Nationwide a dependable insurance company?

Yes, Nationwide is a dependable insurance company. It has an A+ A.M. Best and Better Business Bureau rating, which indicates it consistently meets its obligations to its policyholders.

Is Nationwide cheap?

Since insurers calculate rates using multiple factors, rates vary widely by company, including Nationwide. However, certain drivers can expect to pay higher rates. For example, a driver with a DUI or speeding ticket will have higher rates than a driver without violations.

 

Luckily, all drivers have access to several discounts to help lower rates to something affordable.

Who owns Nationwide?

As a mutual insurance company, the customers who carry Nationwide insurance policies own Nationwide.

What is the difference between roadside assistance and towing and labor coverage?

Roadside assistance and towing and labor coverage are add-ons for drivers with comprehensive coverage. Roadside assistance helps drivers experiencing a roadside emergency, such as a flat tire or lockout. Towing and labor coverage covers the cost of repairing a vehicle on-site or towing the vehicle following a breakdown.

How much can drivers save by enrolling in SmartRide?

Drivers who enroll in SmartRide can save up to 40% on their insurance premiums. Since the discount considers driving habits like speed, braking, acceleration, and nighttime driving, there’s no guarantee drivers will save the maximum amount. Additionally, drivers may not receive a discount.

Do I have to pay to add a vanishing deductible to my car insurance policy?

No, a vanishing deductible is a free add-on. Every year a driver maintains a good driving record free of traffic violations and accidents, their comprehensive and/or collision deductible will decrease by $100, up to $500. So you may have little to no deductible to pay if you get involved in an accident.

 

For example, say your deductible is $500, and you go accident-free for two years. In that case, if you get involved in an accident, your deductible is $300, a reduction of $200.

Who is eligible for the good student discount?

High school and college students aged 16 to 24 with a B average or higher can receive a good student discount.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

Reviews
for Nationwide

4.02 (3,017 reviews)
1
December 7, 2021

brycelefevre

Long phone wait times

Had to call in a few times now for the same auto claim. The first time was nearly 1.5 hours before anyone picked up. Today I have been waiting over 2 hours for an answer and still nothing. Nationwide should learn to take care of their customers and answer the phones so they can provide the service they are being paid to provide!
5
January 16, 2021

Wareagle256205

Is Nationwide REALLY on your side?

Happy with Nationwide so far. Premiums are not too shabby. The agent and customer service has been more than helpful. This is good after having horrible experience with another provider.
5
January 16, 2021

Danielle202

Best Insurance Company

its best insurance company for me. i like this company. this companies policy suit every person. so anyone like it.
5
January 5, 2021

Purple1992_

Great service and worth the money

I enjoyed their service and think that they really do put their customer first by accommodating them as much possible
4
December 24, 2020

Lawanda

Delighted to have auto insurance and roadside assistance.

It was wintertime and I wasn't thinking clearly. I started my car to let it warm up and locked my keys inside. I had to go to a neighbor's house and call for a lock out. I had to wait at my neighbors until they came, but had to keep an eye on my car at the same time. I was so happy to have insurance to cover this experience. It could have been a lot worse. They were there within 30 minutes or so.
5
December 22, 2020

Anna5N

Nationwide is the best

They have fantastic rates and good quality coverage for the price. The staff are very knowledgeable and always help me with my auto insurance needs.
5
December 15, 2020

Jencorbin

Nationwide really is on your side

I have had nationwide auto insurance since I started driving. I watched nationwide cover my parent's auto and homeowners needs. Nationwide has helped me through a decent amount of claims. I have the perfect coverage for my auto needs at competitive prices. Nationwide representatives are helpful and truly have your best interests at heart. I'm able to bundle my auto insurance with my renter's insurance to get more of a discoun...
I have had nationwide auto insurance since I started driving. I watched nationwide cover my parent's auto and homeowners needs. Nationwide has helped me through a decent amount of claims. I have the perfect coverage for my auto needs at competitive prices. Nationwide representatives are helpful and truly have your best interests at heart. I'm able to bundle my auto insurance with my renter's insurance to get more of a discount. I have no plan switching insurance providers anytime soon because I am so satisfied.
4
November 26, 2020

Adelbert

In Nationwide I Trust

My experience with nationwide is really fascinating. They vaule their customers very much. They care about their customers. Their service is up to the mark. I am really happy to be with them.
2
October 21, 2020

RD2371

Misleading adice

I was quoted 1 price but every time interest rate went up so did my payment and I got to where I come afford payment
5
October 21, 2020

JealousGull

Staying with another 10+ years

I’ve had Nationwide for years because of their loyalty to their customers. My agent goes above and beyond while making sure to help anyway possible should the need arise. I’ve had to have my vehicle towed quite a few times and always dread trying to find a towing company due to a past experience of a towing company trying to be sent from an entirely different city over a hour away, I immediately called my agent who straightened everything out...
I’ve had Nationwide for years because of their loyalty to their customers. My agent goes above and beyond while making sure to help anyway possible should the need arise. I’ve had to have my vehicle towed quite a few times and always dread trying to find a towing company due to a past experience of a towing company trying to be sent from an entirely different city over a hour away, I immediately called my agent who straightened everything out and had a tow truck on the way arriving in 15 minutes. I also like my yearly calendar!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.buyautoinsurance.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption