USAA Auto Insurance Review for 2022

USAA’s rates are 35% lower than the national average, but only those with a military affiliation are eligible for coverage.

UPDATED: Dec 4, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

UPDATED: Dec 4, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 4, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 4, 2022Fact Checked
4.7
buyautoinsurance.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

USAA

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$753

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • USAA auto insurance is usually the cheapest option on the market for all demographics
  • The USAA mobile app receives mostly positive reviews and allows you to manage your account easily
  • USAA offers a good selection of add-ons and discounts

Cons

  • USAA has strict membership requirements
  • SafePilot, USAA’s usage-based insurance program, is not the best option on the market
  • USAA struggles with an increasing number of customer complaints

The Bottom Line

Although USAA has strict membership requirements, it’s considered one of the best insurance companies in the country. As long as you are an active or retired military member or a close family member, you should check if USAA auto insurance meets your needs.

However, you should still research other options. Even though USAA usually has the lowest rates, you might find a better price with another company. Comparing quotes is the best way to ensure you find the most affordable coverage.

Most car insurance companies let anyone purchase a policy, but USAA only sells to military members and their families. Although USAA offers affordable rates and highly-rated coverage, you won’t be able to buy a policy without meeting its membership requirements.

For people who qualify, USAA offers some of the most affordable rates on the market. From your state’s minimum requirements to full coverage, USAA is almost always the cheapest option for insurance.

Aside from car insurance, USAA also sells a variety of other insurance products, as well as banking, loans, and retirement services. USAA aims to be a one-stop-shop for all things finance for military members.

Read on to learn more about USAA and if it’s the right option for your insurance needs. Then, compare rates with as many companies as possible to ensure you get the best policy.

Is USAA a Good Choice?

Although it’s often hard to say if a company is overall good or bad, USAA makes the task easy. It’s a good insurance company. USAA would top most lists of the best insurance companies if it didn’t have such strict membership requirements.

USAA combines excellent customer service, quality products, and affordable rates into policies most customers renew yearly.

An integral part of how well a company performs is its financial strength. A.M. Best rates companies on their financial stability, and USAA earned its highest rating of A++. That means you won’t have to worry about USAA being unable to pay any claims you might make in the future.

Does USAA have good customer service?

USAA usually does well in customer satisfaction surveys, with many customers renewing their coverage every year. Some customer reviews report that representatives treat them courteously and resolve issues quickly.

However, USAA is plagued with numerous complaints about its customer service. Many USAA policyholders complain that representatives are hard to contact and give them the runaround during claims.

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) rates companies on the number of complaints they receive compared to their size. The national average is 1.0, with higher numbers meaning the company gets more complaints.

USAA currently has a 1.95, meaning it gets nearly double the complaints compared to similar companies. USAA’s NAIC rating has been on an upward trend, which means the company has been steadily getting more complaints.

Despite its NAIC rating, USAA receives favorable reviews from J.D. Power. Although USAA is ineligible for a ranking due to its eligibility requirements, it remains a top-rated company.

If you’d like to talk to someone about a customer service-related issue, you can call the USAA car insurance phone number to speak with a representative.

Does USAA have good claims handling?

USAA might struggle a bit with customer service, but it does well with its claims-handling process. According to J.D. Power, USAA is one of the top companies for claims satisfaction.

You have several options to file USAA claims. The easiest way is to use the mobile app, where you can upload pictures of any damage caused to your car. While wait times for claims processing are usually a few weeks, USAA says you might have an estimate after four hours if you use the photo tool.

Another option is to access your account online and fill out the form. This option isn’t as fast, but it is easy, and you don’t need all your information to get started.

Finally, you can call the USAA claims phone number and speak with a representative to start a claim. Unfortunately, there aren’t many physical locations, so you’ll need to call the USAA claims number if you want to speak with someone.

Does USAA give back to its community?

Aside from offering affordable coverage for military members, USAA also strives to give back to its communities.

USAA works with charities to promote the following goals with national and local organizations:

  • Education
  • Families in need
  • Workforce development
  • Natural disaster response
  • Arts and culture
  • Diversity and equality
  • Veteran services

USAA also allows organizations to petition the company for donations by offering USAA employees to donate directly. USAA then matches its employee’s contributions, dollar for dollar.

USAA Rates

Insurance companies look at a variety of factors to craft your rates. Everything from your age and gender to your credit score impact how much you’ll pay for coverage.

USAA usually offers the lowest rates for car insurance, no matter what demographic you look at. While there are many ways to determine who has the lowest insurance rates, it’s a good idea to start with coverage levels. Below, you can get an idea of how much USAA might charge you for minimum and full coverage insurance.

Monthly Minimum vs. Full Coverage Rates for the Top 10 Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage RatesAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$50$166
American Family$49$116
Farmers$57$140
GEICO$24$82
Liberty Mutual$64$177
Nationwide$49$120
Progressive$40$109
State Farm$34$91
Travelers$39$107
USAA$20$63
National Average$45$123

You might notice that some states have much lower rates than others, especially for minimum insurance. Some states require more insurance than others, which usually raises its overall rates. Other states have higher risks of extreme weather or accidents, which also drives up rates.

USAA Insurance Rates by Age and Gender

Another good place to start in your search for affordable prices is with your age and gender. Insurance companies keep careful track of claims numbers and know that young, inexperienced drivers and men file more claims on average.

Young drivers are more likely to engage in reckless behaviors like interacting with passengers or using their phones while driving. They also lack the know-how to deal with some dangerous situations they’ll eventually encounter.

Similarly, men are more likely to engage in bad driving habits, especially by engaging in road rage or driving under the influence.

For these reasons, young men pay some of the highest rates for car insurance. However, your rates will eventually lower as you get older, as long as you keep your driving record clean. Likewise, the gap between genders also lessens with age.

USAA offers relatively low rates for teen drivers, and the gap between males and females isn’t too noticeable at 16. The gap between genders becomes more noticeable for 18-year-olds, but rates for older drivers are practically the same.

USAA Insurance Rates for Low Credit Scores

Unless you live in Massachusetts, California, or Hawaii, insurance companies use your credit score to determine your rates.

Your credit score plays into your insurance rates for two reasons. First, insurance companies — and many other service providers — assume that people with higher scores pay their bills on time.

The second reason has to do with statistics. Insurance companies track who makes claims by their credit score, and people with low scores are more likely to file a future claim.

People with lower credit scores can pay up to 60% more for insurance than people with higher scores. However, some companies are more forgiving than others. Check below to see how USAA rates look compared to other companies.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
American Family$203$136$116
Farmers$269$161$139
GEICO$148$100$82
Liberty Mutual$357$226$176
Nationwide$165$132$120
Progressive$206$137$109
State Farm$200$117$90
Travelers$194$127$107
USAA$129$76$63
Allstate$296$196$166
Average$226$148$123

Although USAA offers relatively low rates, you might find better prices at Nationwide or GEICO. Before you write USAA off, though, remember that these numbers are just average prices. You might still find that USAA offers the lowest rates for your situation.

If your rates are higher than you’d like due to a low credit score, you should know you won’t be stuck with them forever. If you can raise your credit score, your rates will drop.

USAA Insurance Rates After Traffic Incidents

Most people know that their car insurance rates increase after an at-fault accident, but did you know other traffic violations affect them too?

Statistically speaking, people with one traffic incident on their driving record will probably add another in the future. To protect themselves financially, insurance companies charge more after a variety of traffic violations.

You can check what USAA rates look like after various traffic violations, but keep in mind that different infractions increase your rates at different percentages. For example, a speeding ticket increases your rates by about 23%, while driving with a suspended license increases rates by about 62%.

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies After an Accident
Insurance CompanyRates with an AccidentRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$237$166
American Family$166$116
Farmers$198$140
GEICO$132$82
Liberty Mutual$236$177
Nationwide$165$120
Progressive$190$109
State Farm$107$91
Travelers$157$107
USAA$996$63
Average$176$123

USAA offers rates much lower than the national average after most traffic tickets. For example, the national average after an at-fault accident is $181 monthly, while USAA’s price is $117.

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies After a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$195$166
American Family$131$116
Farmers$176$140
GEICO$107$82
Liberty Mutual$217$177
Nationwide$145$120
Progressive$143$109
State Farm$102$91
Travelers$148$107
USAA$859$63
Average$1,818$123

Just because your rates increase after a traffic ticket doesn’t mean you’ll pay that price for the rest of your life. If you keep your driving record clean of additional tickets, your rates will return to normal after about three years.

USAA Insurance Rates After a DUI

While some traffic violations affect your rates slightly, DUIs can double your rates. Some companies drop customers after a single DUI, and drivers with multiple charges often need to buy from a high-risk car insurance company.

If you get a DUI charge, it’s imperative that you compare rates with multiple companies, even if you already have a policy. It’s difficult to tell which companies offer the lowest rates after a DUI without comparing quotes.

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies After a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUIRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$303$166
American Family$177$116
Farmers$191$140
GEICO$213$82
Liberty Mutual$325$177
Nationwide$252$120
Progressive$146$109
State Farm$124$91
Travelers$230$107
USAA$1,335$63
Average$218$123

Once again, USAA offers some of the cheapest rates. USAA’s rates after a DUI are so affordable that every driver who qualifies for membership should request a quote.

Like with traffic violations, you won’t be stuck with high DUI rates forever. However, DUIs take much longer to clear your driving record. On average, you’ll be stuck paying higher prices for about seven years.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

USAA Discounts Available

One of the most important things to look for when shopping for a policy is how many discounts a company offers. Insurance can get pricey quickly, but finding the right discounts can help keep your rates low.

To help military members and their families save money, USAA offers the following discounts:

  • Defensive driver. Drivers who pass an approved defensive driving course can earn this discount.
  • Safe driver. USAA rewards policyholders who spend five or more years avoiding traffic incidents.
  • Driver training. You can cut your insurance rates by passing a driver’s education or training course.
  • New vehicle. USAA offers lower rates if you add a brand-new car to your policy.
  • Good student. Full-time students under 25 who maintain a 3.0 GPA earn a discount from USAA.
  • Multi-vehicle. If your household has more than one driveable car, you’ll get lower rates for both if you insure them on the same policy.
  • Vehicle storage. USAA will lower your rates if you plan to store your car for an extended period. You’ll see even deeper savings if you leave your vehicle on a military base.
  • Family. Young drivers who start an individual policy after being on a parent or guardian’s will earn discounted rates.
  • Loyalty. USAA rewards its long-term customers with insurance savings.
  • Low mileage. You’ll see lower rates if you drive less than 12,000 miles a year.
  • Multi-policy. USAA sells a lot more than car insurance. You can lower your rates by buying multiple policies from USAA.
  • Pay in full. Drivers who pay for their entire policy at once and skip the monthly payments will earn a small discount.

USAA might offer fewer discounts than companies like Farmers and American Family, but there are still plenty of ways to save. However, if simple discounts aren’t enough to lower your insurance, you should consider SafePilot.

SafePilot by USAA

SafePilot is USAA’s usage-based insurance program. Today, most of the larger companies offer a usage-based program. Also known as telematics insurance, these plans offer significant savings in exchange for monitoring your behavior.

So, how does SafePilot stack up to its competitors? USAA offers a decent 10% discount for signing up for SafePilot, and drivers have the opportunity to save an additional 30% by practicing safe driving behaviors.

To determine how much you should save, SafePilot tracks the following behaviors:

  • Touching your phone
  • Harsh braking
  • Making hands-free phone calls
  • What time you drive
  • Speeding
  • How much you drive

SafePilot gets decent reviews, but it’s not the best usage-based insurance because you can’t make hands-free phone calls. Most other telematics programs do not hold phone calls against you as long as you’re not holding your phone.

A common complaint about SafePilot is that the app doesn’t always work the way it should. For example, many drivers report frustration getting the app to recognize when they are a driver or a passenger. It’s also only available in 37 states, so you might not be eligible for coverage.

On the positive side, USAA promises that your rates will never increase from using SafePilot. It’s only used to calculate discounts.

USAA Coverage Options

All major car insurance companies sell enough coverage for you to meet both your state’s minimum insurance requirements and full coverage.

Most states require a minimum amount of insurance before legally driving or registering a car. Except for Virginia and New Hampshire, all states require liability insurance. Several others require either uninsured motorist or personal injury protection insurance.

No state requires full coverage, but you’ll probably need it if you have a car loan or lease. As its name suggests, full coverage offers a complete package of protection for your car.

In order to meet your needs, USAA sells the following types of coverage:

  • Property damage liability. As the first half of liability insurance, this covers damage you cause to other people’s cars, buildings, and other property.
  • Personal injury liability. This part of liability insurance pays for injuries you cause in an at-fault accident. Liability insurance does not cover your medical bills or repairs to your car.
  • Collision. Collision insurance pays for repairs to your car after an accident It also pays for damage if you hit a stationary object like a tree.
  • Comprehensive. To get coverage for things like weather, fire, animal contact, theft, and vandalism, you need comprehensive insurance.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist. If a driver without insurance hits you, you’ll need uninsured motorist insurance to pay for your car’s repairs. It also covers you if you’re the victim of a hit-and-run.
  • Personal injury protection/medical payments. These insurances help pay for medical bills for you and your passengers after an accident. The type you can buy depends on the state you live in.

When you’re in the market for full coverage, you’ll need every type of insurance listed above. However, you’ll probably only need liability insurance if you’re looking for your state’s minimum coverage. You don’t need to worry about knowing your state’s exact requirements — a USAA representative can help.

Does USAA sell car insurance add-ons?

Although the basic types of car insurance offer solid protection for your car, USAA offers add-ons to increase the value of your policy.

You can select the following options for your USAA policy:

  • Roadside assistance. If you find yourself stranded on the side of the road, USAA will send help with things like towing, fuel delivery, jump starts, and locksmith services.
  • Rental reimbursement. If your vehicle is stuck in the mechanic shop after a covered event, USAA will reimburse you part of the cost for a rental car.
  • Accident forgiveness. Selecting this add-on will protect you from increased rates after your first accident. USAA offers accident forgiveness for free to any driver who goes five years without an accident.
  • Rideshare. Lyft and Uber drivers can buy a rideshare add-on to protect themselves while working when their personal car insurance doesn’t cover them.
  • Classic car. American Collectors and USAA work together to offer specialized coverage for classic and collectible vehicles.
  • Car replacement assistance. USAA offers an additional 20% on top of your car’s actual cash value if it’s declared a total loss.
  • Glass coverage. If your windshield can be repaired instead of replaced, USAA will waive the deductible.

Although some of its competitors offer more customization options, most customers are satisfied with USAA’s selection. Most USAA members also enjoy the special perks that come with their policies.

Do USAA car insurance policies come with extra features?

USAA insurance requires membership. While you won’t see special features specifically for car insurance, your USAA membership qualifies you for a variety of special perks, including:

  • Goodyear tires. Members save up to 30% on new Goodyear tires.
  • Member travel. You get access to some of the lowest rates for cruises and get dining credits, drink packages, and shore excursions.
  • Rental cars. Budget offers USAA members a 35% discount for car rentals and a free upgrade.
  • Member theme park deals. USAA members get access to a variety of theme park deals, like $80 off a ticket to Disney World.
  • Cashback offers. You’ll get cash back at specific stores and restaurants.
  • Fitness and health. USAA offers gym memberships for just $25 a month.
  • Hotels. Members get up to 25% off at certain hotels, and some bookings can earn you $250 towards a future cruise.

Other USAA member benefits vary throughout the year, so you’ll never run out of ways that USAA can help you save. Not only does USAA offer members great deals, but it also helps them save on car insurance.

What other types of insurance does USAA sell?

USAA insures nearly everything important in your life, usually at some of the cheapest rates on the market. As a bonus, you’ll probably earn a bundling discount if you buy multiple policies from USAA.

Available policies include:

  • Boat
  • Motorcycle/ATV/UTV
  • Classic car
  • Aviation
  • Bicycle
  • Mobile home/renters/condo/motorhome
  • Valuable personal property/collectibles
  • Life/annuity
  • Health/Medicare
  • Dental/vision
  • Landlord
  • Personal or business umbrella
  • Small business
  • Commercial auto
  • Farm/ranch
  • Pet
  • Travel

Unlike other insurance companies, USAA does not write every type of insurance it sells. Instead, most of USAA’s policies for sale are written by partners. For example, Cigna and IHC write USAA’s dental plans, while American Collectors handles classic car policies.

USAA also offers a variety of banking and financial services to help military families manage their money. With a USAA membership, you’ll gain access to loans, investments and mutual funds, retirement advice, and credit cards.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is eligible for USAA membership?

USAA membership is available for two groups of people. The first is active or retired military members. The second are spouses and children of military members, though the person who served must open a USAA account first.

How do you get a USAA insurance quote?

Getting USAA auto insurance quotes is usually a simple task. The easiest way is to start an online application. You can also call the USAA auto insurance phone number if you’d rather speak with a representative.

How do you contact USAA?

You can visit the company’s website and fill out the online contact form or call USAA’s customer service line at 1-800-531-USAA (8722). The company’s mailing address is 9800 Fredericksburg Rd., San Antonio, TX, 78288.

What states does USAA sell car insurance in?

You can buy USAA car insurance in all 50 states and Washington D.C.

How do you file a claim with USAA?

USAA makes filing claims easy. Your first option is to use the USAA mobile app, where you can submit picture evidence of your claim. You can also fill out the online form or call the USAA insurance phone number and speak with a representative.

Does USAA offer GAP coverage?

USAA does not sell GAP coverage or loan/lease payoff insurance. Instead, it offers protection from underwater loans in its Total Loss Protection coverage. Only members who get their car loan from USAA are eligible for Total Loss Protection.

Does USAA have SR-22 insurance?

USAA can submit your SR-22 forms to your local DMV, but your rates will likely increase when you need them. Make sure you let USAA know when you no longer need SR-22 forms so you’ll no longer be charged for them.

How do you cancel your USAA policy?

Unfortunately, you can’t cancel your USAA policy online or through the app. Instead, you’ll need to speak with a representative. You might be eligible for a refund if you paid for your entire policy rather than making monthly payments.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

Reviews
for USAA

4.72 (6,418 reviews)
1
October 7, 2022

JesseM

Surprisingly Awful

Outside of the mobile app being frustrating to use, I didn't have any issues with USAA, until I had a windshield claim. Was easy at the start, they use Safelite for all windshield claims, only the first installation resulted in pieces of my car flying off on the freeway. 2nd visit resulted in fixing missing molding from windshield, but the multifunction camera on the windshield kept malfunctioning because of the install being off center. This ...
Outside of the mobile app being frustrating to use, I didn't have any issues with USAA, until I had a windshield claim. Was easy at the start, they use Safelite for all windshield claims, only the first installation resulted in pieces of my car flying off on the freeway. 2nd visit resulted in fixing missing molding from windshield, but the multifunction camera on the windshield kept malfunctioning because of the install being off center. This is where everything got bad. I was unable to reopen the claim with USAA, and they have a circular help system that will make sure you can never actually get through to anyone about an existing claim. Their chatbot is especially diabolical. It wasn't until I left a review on BBB, that I received a call from a special team that deals with BBB complaints. After the 4th windshield was installed and 4 months, I finally have a working car again, but there is no way I'm risking another claim with USAA.
1
July 1, 2022

tWaLPiM7HrUwr9U

#1 worse company

I was shopping price and I told them what I was paying from GEICO and they beat that price when I insured both vehicles and my home. BUT, their good price they quoted me only lasted one month then the price went up to about $60 more a month that what was quoted. When I called them I was told "The cost of everything is going up". So, I canceled them and went with American Family and then USAA continued to try to pull money from my credit card m...
I was shopping price and I told them what I was paying from GEICO and they beat that price when I insured both vehicles and my home. BUT, their good price they quoted me only lasted one month then the price went up to about $60 more a month that what was quoted. When I called them I was told "The cost of everything is going up". So, I canceled them and went with American Family and then USAA continued to try to pull money from my credit card month after month. I had to cancel my credit card to get them to stop. Never had this bad of experience from any company before. As I'm 65 I've had a lot of different companies in the past. I will never do business with them again.
1
June 9, 2022

rhorelus

In a DEPLORABLE Decline

We have been members of USAA for over 37 years and have watched the service deplorably decline in the last two. Recently, our daughter was involved in a hit and run. She had the license plate and make of the other vehicle, and a police report was filed. Without our continuous involvement, little would have been done by USAA to pursue the other driver’s insurance. Once PROGRESSIVE got involved, we found them so much easier to work with and so...
We have been members of USAA for over 37 years and have watched the service deplorably decline in the last two. Recently, our daughter was involved in a hit and run. She had the license plate and make of the other vehicle, and a police report was filed. Without our continuous involvement, little would have been done by USAA to pursue the other driver’s insurance. Once PROGRESSIVE got involved, we found them so much easier to work with and so much more attentive. As the vehicle went in for repairs, we got a sudden notice from USAA they were declaring the vehicle a total loss without any discussion. Once we found out how low they were valuing the vehicle, we provide them over $3,000 in recent repairs and comps that were near exact matches and twice the price they were quoting us. Both should have improved the valuation and kept the vehicle from being a total loss. After paying USAA $100s of thousands in premiums for nearly 4 decades, we are now becoming PROGRESSIVE clients. Run from USAA TODAY!
1
March 4, 2022

Josh_B

Zero faith or trust in USAA

I have zero faith or trust in USAA taking care of me as a customer. I was in an auto accident that was caused by the other party's drive shaft coming off on the highway in front of me. I took pictures of the party's truck along with a picture showing that his drive shaft was missing and had my passenger as a witness of what happened. USAA took this matter and did an arbitration with the other party's insurance. The outcome was that the other part...
I have zero faith or trust in USAA taking care of me as a customer. I was in an auto accident that was caused by the other party's drive shaft coming off on the highway in front of me. I took pictures of the party's truck along with a picture showing that his drive shaft was missing and had my passenger as a witness of what happened. USAA took this matter and did an arbitration with the other party's insurance. The outcome was that the other party was not at fault. I requested documentation regarding the arbitration and was told "The decision is considered work product and we are unable to release this documentation." How can I trust that USAA has my back if they will not release this info to me? [REDACTED]
1
January 3, 2022

Rich_A

USAA has lost its way

As a 52 year CUSTOMER (legitimately there are NO members!), my first 25 years ranged from excellent to good. After that period of time, customer service, pricing, employee credibility and product offering deteriorated to a barely acceptable level, at best, and made USAA indistinguishable from the other big insurance companies. It is my firm belief USAA in the past 20 years has operated solely for the betterment and welfare of its upper managem...
As a 52 year CUSTOMER (legitimately there are NO members!), my first 25 years ranged from excellent to good. After that period of time, customer service, pricing, employee credibility and product offering deteriorated to a barely acceptable level, at best, and made USAA indistinguishable from the other big insurance companies. It is my firm belief USAA in the past 20 years has operated solely for the betterment and welfare of its upper management. The primary corporate focus is the ever increasing of the customer base to increase management bonuses and salary levels. USAA has truly has lost its original purpose, focus and direction it had in its early years. Too bad. I remember what it was when I joined in 1970. Would I recommend USAA to those "eligible", absolutely not!
1
October 4, 2021

djsnyder79_gmail_com

Crap insurance stay away

These people lie to get your money. They absolutely don't care about customers and will cover their own [REDACTED WORD] in order do whatever they want. Might as well go with someone else.
1
July 25, 2021

K_c

This insurance company sucks

They have absolutely no communication skills and dont even let you know when they pay out claims. They dont care about their drivers at all and pay people to shut them up which makes your own rates sky rocket. They paid multiple claims without even a single email to let me know about it so I could fight them. I feel violated by the company I was paying to have my back. Do yourself a favor and choose elsewhere or they will screw you over too.
1
May 14, 2021

CDawn

Awful Customer Service and Incompetence

USAA touts itself as an insurance company for families of Military and Veterans. They are not. First, they could not even do their job and submit the right forms to my state when I had an accident causing my license to be suspended. A form that should have been submitted first thing after the accident. Through an odd circumstance, I found out I had been driving on a suspended license and had no clue! This was 4 months after the accident and I was...
USAA touts itself as an insurance company for families of Military and Veterans. They are not. First, they could not even do their job and submit the right forms to my state when I had an accident causing my license to be suspended. A form that should have been submitted first thing after the accident. Through an odd circumstance, I found out I had been driving on a suspended license and had no clue! This was 4 months after the accident and I was now having to follow up with them because of their incompetence! Not only that but it took them 4 months to get a check issued for the vehicle in the accident and I was stuck dealing with the lender! Also, they dropped my family when my husband got in trouble with the law and had to do time. I might understand not servicing my husband any longer...even though he is an Army Veteran who put his life on the line for our country... However, to drop a whole family while they are already dealing with something this life-changing I believe is unacceptable! They are already dealing with so much, even beyond the loss of a father and now being a single-parent home. I would have expected a little support from a company that touts themselves as being for families, specifically military and veteran families. I would not recommend them and will not do business with them again.
5
February 3, 2021

FAMILY

USAA IS GREAT

I AM SO GLAD WE WENT WITH USAA CAR INSURANCE COMPANY. IT HAS BETTER RATES AND COVERAGE OUT OF ALL THE OTHER COMPANIES WE HAVE HAD CAR INSURANCE COVER WITH. I THINK THEY ARE THE BEST ALL AROUND.
4
February 2, 2021

nityagarg

nice experince

To be honest is a great experience that deserves to be remembered. Quality, service and quality are great
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.buyautoinsurance.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption