Louisiana

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$15,000 limit per person / $30,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$25,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Louisiana AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

In the state of Louisiana, an officer can give a driver with a Learner or Intermediate License (regardless of age) a citation for holding a cell phone even if no other driving offenses are taking place.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers cannot use a cell phone at all while driving during their first year of having a driver's licence.

Texting Ban:

In Louisiana, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There are increased penalties for driving with a BAC of .15 and .20 and above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Louisiana, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 90 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit. For a second conviction, a 45-day hard suspension of driving privileges is required.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Louisiana made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for all offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

None for Louisiana.

Open Container Law:

None for Louisiana.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving hours, 15 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: 11pm-5am
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger under 21 between 6pm-5am

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 11pm and 5am and cannot drive with more than one passenger under 21 between the hours of 6pm and 5am.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 17

(Full driver's license): At the age of 17, Louisiana drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Louisiana
Department of Insurance

Website: www.ldi.la.gov/
Address:  950 North Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9214
Phone:  225-342-5900 or (800) 259-5300 or 800-259-5301 (In State)

Louisiana
DMV Information

Website:  omv.dps.state.la.us/
Phone:  225-925-6146

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption