Alabama

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$25,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Alabama AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

No Hand-held Cell Phone Ban

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers that are 16 years old or 17 years old with an Intermediate License for less than 6 months cannot use a cell phone at all while driving in Alabama.

Texting Ban:

In Alabama, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for driving with a BAC 0.15 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Alabama, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 90 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit.

Ignition Interlocks:

Ignition Interlocks: These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Alabama has made ignition interlocks mandatory for all repeat drunk driving offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

Pending review by NHTSA & FHWA

Open Container Law:

Pending review by NHTSA & FHWA

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 30 hours of supervised driving hours, 0 of which need to be with driver's education.

Intermediate Stage:

Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: Midnight-6am
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): 16-year-old drivers who passed the driver's test are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of midnight and 6am and they cannot have more than one passenger in their vehicle, except family.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 17

(Full driver's license): At the age of 17, Alabama drivers can now get a standard driver's license without restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Alabama
Department of Insurance

Website: www.aldoi.gov
Address: 135 South Union Street #200, Montgomery, Alabama 36130
Phone:  334-269-3550

Alabama
DMV Information

Website: revenue.alabama.gov/motorvehicle/index.cfm
Phone:  334-242-1170

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption