Virginia

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$20,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Underinsured Motorist

Combined with uninsured motorist coverage

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Virginia AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

There is no ban.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers under the age of 18 cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In Virginia, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There are increased penalties for drivers with a BAC of 0.15 and .20 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Utah, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 7 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Virginia made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for all offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

Minimum penalties for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for at least one year, impoundment or immobilization of offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and imprisonment or community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see longer imprisonment or community service sentences.

Open Container Law:

None in Virginia.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years and six months of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period lasting a minimum of nine months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 45 hours of supervised driving, 15 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16.25
Night Driving Restriction: Midnight-4am
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger under 21 (first year), no more than 3 passengers under 21 (for the rest of the period)

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 and three months are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of midnight and 4am and cannot drive with more than one passenger under 21 for the first twelve months and no more than three passengers under 21 for the rest of the intermediate stage.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 18

(Full driver's license): At the age of 18, Virginia drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Virginia
Department of Insurance

Website: www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/
Address:  Tyler Building, 1300 E. Main St., Richmond, Virginia 23219
Phone:  804-371-9741 or 1-800-552-7945

Virginia
DMV Information

Website:  www.dmv.state.va.us/
Phone: 804-497-7100

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption