State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$25,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Oklahoma AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

Only Learner or Intermediate License drivers have a ban.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

In the state of Oklahoma, an officer can give a driver with a Learner or Intermediate License a citation for holding a cell phone even if no other driving offenses are taking place.

Texting Ban:

In Oklahoma, text messaging is banned for drivers with a Learner or Intermediate License.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for drivers with a BAC of 0.15 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Oklahoma, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 180 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Oklahoma made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for offenders with a BAC of .15 or higher, repeat offenders, and those who refuse the chemical test.

Repeat Offenders:

Minimum penalties for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for at least one year, impoundment or immobilization of offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and imprisonment or community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see longer imprisonment or community service sentences.

Open Container Law:

Open or unsealed containers of any alcoholic beverage are not permitted in a vehicle where drivers or passengers can access them.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years and six months of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 50 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: 10pm-5am
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 10pm and 5am and cannot drive with more than one passenger.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 16.5 (with driver's ed), 17 (without driver's ed)

(Full driver's license): At the age of 16 and 6 months, Oklahoma drivers who took driver's education can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions if they took driver's education. If the driver did not take driver's education, they have to wait until 17 for a full driver's license.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
75 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Oklahoma
Department of Insurance

Website: www.ok.gov/
Address:  Five Corporate Plaza, 3625 NW 56th, Suite 100, Oklahoma City, OK 73112-4511
Phone:  405-521-2828 or 800-522-0071 (In State)

Oklahoma
DMV Information

Website:  www.dps.state.ok.us/dls/
Phone: 405-521-3221