Massachusetts

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$20,000 limit per person / $40,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$5,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

$8,000 limit

Uninsured Motorist

$20,000 limit per person / $40,000 limit per accident

Underinsured Motorist

Not required, but recommended

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Massachusetts AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

No.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers under the age of 18 cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

In Massachusetts, text messaging is banned for all drivers.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There's an increased penalty for drivers between the ages of 17 and 21 with a BAC of 0.20 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Massachusetts, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 90 days if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Massachusetts made the installation of ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

Minumum penalities for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for no less than one year, impoundment or immobilization of any and all of the offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and a sentence of at least five days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see at least ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any bottle, can, or other receptacle containing any alcoholic beverage that has been opened, the seal broken, or with partial contents removed in any area of the vehicle where it would be easily accessible, including the glove compartment, by the driver or passengers. However, open containers of alcohol may be transported in the trunk of a vehicle, a locked glove compartment, or in the area behind the last upright seat or an area not usually occupied by the driver or passenger in a vehicle without a trunk.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 16 years of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period of time lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 40 hours of supervised driving hours or only 30 if the driver has advanced driver training.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16.5
Night Driving Restriction: 1230am-5am
Passenger Restriction: No passengers under 18 for the first 6 months

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 and six months are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of 1230am and 5am and cannot drive with with any passengers under the age of 18 for the first six months.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 18

(Full driver's license): At the age of 18, Massachusetts drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions. At 17, there are no more passenger restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Massachusetts
Department of Insurance

Website: www.mass.gov/ocabr/government/oca-agencies/doi-lp/
Address:  1000 Washington Street, # 810, Boston, Massachusetts 02118-6200
Phone:  617-973-8700 or 877-563-4467 (Toll Free)

Massachusetts
DMV Information

Website:  www.massrmv.com/
Phone:  857-368-8000 or 800-858-3926
Call Center Hours:
 Monday-Friday from 9:00 AM until 5:00 PM except holidays

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption