Wisconsin

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Coverage Requirements

Coverage Type

State Coverage Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000 limit

Collision

Not required, but recommended

Comprehensive

Not required, but recommended

Medical Expenses

Not required, but recommended

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Not required

Uninsured Motorist

$25,000 limit per person / $50,000 limit per accident

Underinsured Motorist

$50,000 limit per person / $100,000 limit per accident, may be rejected in writing

Property Protection (PPI)

Not required

Average rates vs National Average

National AVG.

Wisconsin AVG.

source: www.iii.org

Cellphone/Texting

Explained

Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban:

There is not a ban.

All Cell Phone Use Ban for Novice Drivers:

Drivers with a Learner or Intermediate License cannot use a cell phone at all while driving.

Texting Ban:

Text messaging is banned for all drivers in Wisconsin.

DUI Laws

Explained

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC):

The legal limit for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) while driving is 0.08. It is a crime to drive with a BAC at this number or above it.

Increased penalty for high BAC:

There are increased penalties for drivers with a BAC of 0.17, 0.20 and 0.25 or above.

1st offense Suspension:

Administrative license suspension on the 1st offense: In Wisconsin, law enforcers can confiscate a first-time offender's driver's license for 6 months if he or she exceeds the legal limit. Limited driving privileges, such as to and from work, are permitted.

Ignition Interlocks:

These are devices installed in the cars of convicted drunk drivers, which analyze the breath or the driver before starting the vehicle and disable the ignition if alcohol is detected. Wisconsin made ignition interlocks mandatory for all offenders with a BAC of .15 or above and repeat offenders.

Repeat Offenders:

Minimum penalties for repeat offenders include suspension of driving privileges for at least one year, impoundment or immobilization of offender's vehicles, or the installation of ignition interlocks to all vehicles owned by the offender, mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment, and imprisonment or community service for a second-time offender. Third-time and further offenders can see longer imprisonment or community service sentences.

Open Container Law:

No driver or passenger can have any bottle, can, or other receptacle containing any alcohol that has been opened, the seal broken, or with partial contents removed in his or her possession or in any area of the vehicle where it would be easily accessible by the driver or passengers, including the glove compartment. These containers may be carried in the trunk or in an area of the vehicle not normally occupied by drivers or passengers.

Graduated Drivers License

Explained

Learner Stage:

(Supervised driving, to be completed with a driving test): At 15 years and six months of age, individuals can begin driving with supervision for a period lasting a minimum of six months. In this stage, the new drivers are required to get 30 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which need to be at night.

Intermediate Stage:

Min. Age: 16
Night Driving Restriction: Midnight-5am
Passenger Restriction: No more than 1 passenger

(Some limits are applied to unsupervised drivers in high-risk situations): Drivers who passed the driver's test at 16 are now unsupervised drivers in the intermediate stage. These drivers are not allowed to drive between the hours of midnight and 5am and cannot drive with more than one passenger.

Full Privilege Age:

Age: 16.75

(Full driver's license): At the age of 16 and nine months, Wisconsin drivers can now get a standard driver's license without any restrictions.

Speed Limit

Car

Truck

Rural Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Urban Interstates:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Other Limited Access Roads:

SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH
SPEED LIMIT
65 MPH

Page Source: ghsa.org

Wisconsin
Department of Insurance

Website: www.oci.wi.gov/
Address:  125 South Webster Street, Madison, Wisconsin 53703-3474
Phone:  608-266-3585 or 800-236-8517
Call Center Hours:  Monday - Friday 7:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. (except for legal holidays)

Wisconsin
DMV Information

Website:  www.dot.state.wi.us/drivers/index.htm
Phone:  414-266-1000 or 608-261-2583 or 608-264-7133
Call Center Hours:
 7:45 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption