Root Auto Insurance Review: Should you buy in 2024?

Drivers looking for companies that specialize in usage-based car insurance can look into Root auto insurance.

UPDATED: Jun 13, 2024Fact Checked

Laura Berry

Former Licensed Insurance Producer

Laura Berry has experience as a licensed producer selling life, health, and property insurance coverage for both Allstate and State Farm. She has dedicated many hours to helping her clients understand the insurance marketplace so they could find the best car, home, and life insurance products for their circumstances. While she currently helps businesses take advantage of the federal R&D tax...

Former Licensed Insurance Producer

Heidi Mertlich

Licensed Insurance Agent

Heidi works with top-rated insurance carriers to bring her clients the highest quality protection at the most competitive prices. She founded NoPhysicalTermLife.com, specializing in life insurance that doesn’t require a medical exam. Heidi is a regular contributor to several insurance websites, including FinanceBuzz.com, Insurist.com, and Forbes. As a parent herself, she understands the need ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jun 13, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jun 13, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jun 13, 2024Fact Checked
3.3
buyautoinsurance.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Root Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$81

A.M. Best rating:

Not Rated

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Safe drivers will pay less
  • 24/7 roadside assistance
  • You can personalize your coverage
  • Earn cash for referring friends

Cons

  • High likelihood of being declined coverage
  • Number of complaints is higher than average
  • No rating with A.M. Best
  • Not available in every state
Root car insurance is geared primarily toward the driver who hopes to be rewarded for safe driving habits. There are a few other companies on the market that allow buying usage-based auto insurance, but the main focus of Root car insurance is how you drive. Root will also look into what type of vehicle you’re driving and where you’re located, but the company will ultimately make the decision to insure you if you drive safely.  Root Insurance is a fairly new company, being founded in 2015, whereas other companies like State Farm, GEICO, and Allstate have been around for much longer. However, Root has quickly become a comparable source of auto insurance based on its methods of figuring out what drivers will pay for their coverage. For more information on these other providers, see State Farm auto insurance review and Geico auto insurance review. We’ll go over what policies Root offers, as well as the pros and cons of the company. If you still have questions at the end, we have an FAQ section as well.

Insurance like Root is fast gaining traction, but there are still not many companies that offer usage-based coverage. You should still read Root Insurance reviews and compare those reviews against other companies before making your final decision.

By making comparisons and determining what type of coverage you need, you can save the most money on your auto insurance. 

Being a safe driver and getting selected by Root will allow you to pay based on your mileage and driving habits. Make sure you’re comfortable with the Root app using your GPS and don’t forget to check the minimum auto insurance required by state.

What You Should Know About Root Insurance

There are many benefits to being a Root customer. Since Root will only cover safe drivers, it is able to charge less because it doesn’t have to worry about paying out claims for unsafe driving behavior. Safe drivers are rewarded by paying less for their policy. However, there are also drawbacks as well. 

Due to the fact that Root only insures safe drivers, potential customers are more likely to be declined coverage. This is how the company is able to keep its rates low. Whether or not you can get coverage also depends on where you live, because Root isn’t available in all states just yet. 

However, the number of complaints is higher than the typical average found in the industry. Most complaints are regarding the amount of time involved in handling a claim and the lengthy period for reimbursement. Other complaints include rate hikes and drivers having their coverage dropped. Root Insurance is also not currently rated with A.M. Best. 

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

How Root Insurance Works

Root uses real-time road data in order to provide insurance quotes. Using telematics via Root’s app on your phone, your driving habits are monitored in order to give you a personalized quote on the coverage you want. 

The way that a potential customer receives a quote is a little different when it comes to Root. First, you have to sign up for the “test drive,” which is how the company gauges your driving techniques. You can do this either from the website or the app, though you must have the app installed on your phone in order to proceed. 

Through the app, Root uses your GPS to measure your driving habits and behaviors. The amount of distance you cover, your driving routines, and habits such as hard braking and turning speed are all measured. 

Once your test drive is complete, Root will either provide you with a quote or decline to take you on as a customer. Since the company only partners with safe drivers, many drivers will not be offered a quote once they’ve completed the test drive. (For more information, read our “Root Auto Insurance Review: Should you buy?“).

This process is why Root is able to offer such low prices on its policies. Dangerous drivers often drive up the cost of car insurance. By removing these hazardous drivers from the system, Root can charge less. 

Root Insurance Coverage Options

Your Root insurance policy is going to be unique based on your personal preferences and where you live. Each state has different requirements when it comes to auto insurance, so what you need will vary. Often the coverage required by your state is going to include liability auto insurance and protection from uninsured motorists. 

However, if you want more than just the minimum level of insurance, you can also get full coverage from Root. This means you would have not just liability, but collision and comprehensive coverage as well. 

The following are the coverage types that Root offers: 

  • Collision coverage. Collision provides coverage for any repairs that will be necessary after an accident, no matter who is at fault. 
  • Comprehensive coverage. Comprehensive allows for protection against anything outside of an accident, including hitting a deer or any weather-related damage. 
  • Bodily injury and property damage liability. This coverage will pay for any injuries, property damage, or fatalities that are caused by an accident where you were at fault. 
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. If another driver does not have insurance or a minimum policy that doesn’t cover the damage they’ve done, this coverage will protect you. 

Root also offers 24/7 roadside assistance with every policy, except in California and Nevada, where it must be purchased separately. 

Root Insurance App and Website 

Root has both an app and a user-friendly website. According to its website, you can get a quote in less than five minutes, though you’ll still need to take the test drive first. 

Root also states that you’re able to file a claim in minutes minus any paperwork. Reviews for Root Insurance have been mixed. While there are many positive testimonials on its website, there have also been customers who complain about the claim process. Root has received an A+ from the Better Business Bureau (BBB).

If you’re interested in a Root Insurance quote and you want to talk to an agent, all you have to do is enter what state you live in and the website will tell you the number to call.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Root Insurance Rates Breakdown

How much you pay for auto insurance with Root depends on the results of your test drive and whether Root decides to send you a quote. Your “scorecard” on the app will tell you how you did, such as whether or not you had smooth braking and stayed focused behind the wheel.

The test drive lasts about three weeks, and you only get one shot. Should you fail the test drive, you won’t be able to retake it. That being said, there are many reasons why drivers choose to take the test. Root offers both monthly and six-month policies, which you can pay for and manage easily through the website or the app.

While your driving habits will be the primary focus in determining what your rate will be, Root also uses a few other factors as well.

Common variables used by most auto insurance companies are the following:

  • Where you live
  • Your age
  • Your credit score
  • Your driving record
  • What vehicle you drive

Below is an example of what drivers can expect to pay for minimum coverage across the country.

Compare these rates with full coverage auto insurance below. You will notice a large increase in price but you are also a lot more protected.

Besides your coverage options, insurance companies will use your driving record to set premiums. A driver with several speeding tickets or other infractions will be seen as high risk and companies will charge more to cover anticipated future claims. For more information, see cheap auto insurance companies that accept drivers with multiple accidents.

Take a look below at how much you can expect rates to increase after a single traffic ticket.

Drivers will see an even larger increase after a car accident where you are considered at fault.

Does auto insurance cover DUI accidents? It will be no surprise that the largest rate increases will happen if you get a DUI on your record.

Read more: Infinity Auto Insurance Review: Should you buy?

Your credit score can also play a role in how much an insurance company charges. Insurance companies consider drivers with bad credit to be high risk. For more information, see buy cheap auto insurance for drivers with bad credit.

Take a look at the table below to see how rates fluctuate depending on a driver’s credit score.

 

You should also note that Root is only available in some states. According to the company website, Root is available in the following states:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

Root also offers an availability map to show where coverage is going to become available soon.

Root Insurance Discounts Available

If you’re hoping to get a Root insurance discount, you may find that your choices are limited. Since insurance like Root is based on usage, and the company only takes on safe drivers, it’s difficult to tack on an additional safe driver discount. 

The following are the auto insurance discounts that are offered with Root: 

  • Multiple-policy discount. Root offers homeowners, renters, and auto insurance, which means you can bundle and save. 
  • Discount for paying up front. If you purchase a six-month policy, paying for the entire six months can net you some savings.
  • Don’t use your phone while driving. You can save up to 10% off your insurance rates if you don’t make calls, text, or use any other apps on your phone while driving.
  • Autosteer. If you’re a Tesla driver, this is a discount given if you use the automated steering feature.

As with most auto insurance companies, you will want to keep your policy updated if anything changes, because some discounts may not automatically apply. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Root a trusted and real company?

Root is a real company with many testimonials listed directly on its website. Not all drivers will be qualified for a policy, but it all depends on the initial driving test.

Who is the owner of Root Insurance?

The CEO and co-founder of Root Insurance is Alex Trim, who wanted to create a car insurance company that had its prices dependent on driving habits rather than specific demographics.

Can you add another car to your existing Root auto insurance policy?

Yes, you can add other vehicles to an existing policy using the Root mobile app. Open the app, tap on your auto policy, go to your profile information, and then from there you’ll be able to make changes to your vehicles, drivers, and other personal information.

How do I file a claim with Root?

You can file a claim directly through the website or the app. You can also call the Root Insurance phone number assigned to your state if you select “call an agent” from the website.

Will Root cover a rental car?

Yes, a rental car will be covered as long as you’re driving in the U.S., any U.S. territories, or Canada. You’ll still have to follow your policy limits and be mindful of the fact that your roadside assistance won’t be transferable.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Laura Berry

Former Licensed Insurance Producer

Laura Berry has experience as a licensed producer selling life, health, and property insurance coverage for both Allstate and State Farm. She has dedicated many hours to helping her clients understand the insurance marketplace so they could find the best car, home, and life insurance products for their circumstances. While she currently helps businesses take advantage of the federal R&D tax...

Former Licensed Insurance Producer

Heidi Mertlich

Licensed Insurance Agent

Heidi works with top-rated insurance carriers to bring her clients the highest quality protection at the most competitive prices. She founded NoPhysicalTermLife.com, specializing in life insurance that doesn’t require a medical exam. Heidi is a regular contributor to several insurance websites, including FinanceBuzz.com, Insurist.com, and Forbes. As a parent herself, she understands the need ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Root Insurance

3.34 (731 reviews)
5
March 24, 2024

Max_T_

Easy to set up!

Very easy to pick your desired plan based on your preferences. Needed to get coverage ASAP and they made it very easy to set up!
4
March 24, 2024

Ram1500classic

Route auto insurance was a One-Stop shop for all my needs th

My experience with root insurance has been very good I'm very satisfied and hopefully my rates go down after I'm monitored my driving is monitored after 30 days but all in all I give root your auto insurance and a
5
March 22, 2024

Samaggart3442

Cheaper!!!

Love that my payment is $50-80 cheaper than everyone else! And I was able to customize my policy to what I want!
5
March 16, 2024

SierraN

Easy Insurance

Super easy to navigate and saved me so much money for 2 cars. It’s nice to not have to spend so much for car insurance.
5
March 15, 2024

Millihundo123

Best insurance ever ❗️❗️❗️

Best insurance company so far this my first month and I’m very pleased ! I applied got approved and now I’m doing the test drive
3
March 9, 2024

Ennis_in_Florida

Dooped online

Not real happy, thought I was getting a really good price but didn’t include collision. Web site signing up little confusing. When tried to add collision was ridiculously high not worth it
5
March 9, 2024

Polyg12

So far so good!

They did it effortlessly fast and exactly what I liked! I absolutely love them so far! I like that they have a driver rater experience so they could lower the price in the future.
5
March 6, 2024

hastingsline005

First time car owner, very painless

Cheapest quote and was very painless to get car insurance. I was insured the very same day within 10 minutes of going on their website.
5
March 5, 2024

Ferrarijoshua85_

Easy, quick, and affordable

So far, this was the easiest insurance buy I've ever done. For the first month I am being tested to determine if they want to insure me permanently. I think that is a fantastic way to do insurance to keep costs low. Haven't had to try to talk to a person yet, but I have high hopes. Can't be worse than Progressive. Edit: I gave a 5 star customer service although I have not had to deal with that yet. I trust them until I have a reason not to
5
February 29, 2024

TraciW

Easy! Love it!

Extremely easy to use and purchase from. Quick! Coverage that day! Also covers doordash,uber and lyft.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.buyautoinsurance.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption