Root Auto Insurance Review for 2022

Drivers looking for companies that specialize in usage-based car insurance can look into Root auto insurance.

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022Fact Checked
3.2
buyautoinsurance.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Root Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$0

A.M. Best rating:

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Safe drivers will pay less
  • 24/7 roadside assistance
  • You can personalize your coverage
  • Earn cash for referring friends

Cons

  • High likelihood of being declined coverage
  • Number of complaints is higher than average
  • No rating with A.M. Best
  • Not available in every state

The Bottom Line

Insurance like Root is fast gaining traction, but there are still not many companies that offer usage-based coverage. You should still read Root Insurance reviews and compare those reviews against other companies before making your final decision.

By making comparisons and determining what type of coverage you need, you can save the most money on your auto insurance. 

Being a safe driver and getting selected by Root will allow you to pay based on your mileage and driving habits. Make sure you’re comfortable with the Root app using your GPS and don’t forget to check your state’s coverage requirements.

Root car insurance is geared primarily toward the driver who hopes to be rewarded for safe driving habits. There are a few other companies on the market that offer usage-based auto insurance, but the main focus of Root car insurance is how you drive. Root will also look into what type of vehicle you’re driving and where you’re located, but the company will ultimately make the decision to insure you if you drive safely. 

Root Insurance is a fairly new company, being founded in 2015, whereas other companies like State Farm, GEICO, and Allstate have been around for much longer. However, Root has quickly become a comparable source of auto insurance based on its methods of figuring out what drivers will pay for their coverage. 

We’ll go over what policies Root offers, as well as the pros and cons of the company. If you still have questions at the end, we have an FAQ section as well.

Is Root Insurance a Good Choice?

There are many benefits to being a Root customer. Since Root will only cover safe drivers, it is able to charge less because it doesn’t have to worry about paying out claims for unsafe driving behavior. Safe drivers are rewarded by paying less for their policy. However, there are also drawbacks as well. 

Due to the fact that Root only insures safe drivers, potential customers are more likely to be declined coverage. This is how the company is able to keep its rates low. Whether or not you can get coverage also depends on where you live, because Root isn’t available in all states just yet. 

However, the number of complaints is higher than the typical average found in the industry. Most complaints are regarding the amount of time involved in handling a claim and the lengthy period for reimbursement. Other complaints include rate hikes and drivers having their coverage dropped. Root Insurance is also not currently rated with A.M. Best. 

How Root Insurance Works

Root uses real-time road data in order to provide insurance quotes. Using telematics via Root’s app on your phone, your driving habits are monitored in order to give you a personalized quote on the coverage you want. 

The way that a potential customer receives a quote is a little different when it comes to Root. First, you have to sign up for the “test drive,” which is how the company gauges your driving techniques. You can do this either from the website or the app, though you must have the app installed on your phone in order to proceed. 

Through the app, Root uses your GPS to measure your driving habits and behaviors. The amount of distance you cover, your driving routines, and habits such as hard braking and turning speed are all measured. 

Once your test drive is complete, Root will either provide you with a quote or decline to take you on as a customer. Since the company only partners with safe drivers, many drivers will not be offered a quote once they’ve completed the test drive.

This process is why Root is able to offer such low prices on its policies. Dangerous drivers often drive up the cost of car insurance. By removing these hazardous drivers from the system, Root can charge less. 

Root Insurance Rates

How much you pay for auto insurance with Root depends on the results of your test drive and whether Root decides to send you a quote. Your “scorecard” on the app will tell you how you did, such as whether or not you had smooth braking and stayed focused behind the wheel.

The test drive lasts about three weeks, and you only get one shot. Should you fail the test drive, you won’t be able to retake it. That being said, there are many reasons why drivers choose to take the test. Root offers both monthly and six-month policies, which you can pay for and manage easily through the website or the app.

While your driving habits will be the primary focus in determining what your rate will be, Root also uses a few other factors as well.

Common variables used by most auto insurance companies are the following:

  • Where you live
  • Your age
  • Your credit score
  • Your driving record
  • What vehicle you drive

Below is an example of what drivers can expect to pay for minimum coverage across the country.

Compare these rates with full coverage insurance below. You will notice a large increase in price but you are also a lot more protected.

Besides your coverage options, insurance companies will use your driving record to set premiums. A driver with several speeding tickets or other infractions will be seen as high risk and companies will charge more to cover anticipated future claims.

Take a look below at how much you can expect rates to increase after a single traffic ticket.

Drivers will see an even larger increase after a car accident where you are considered at fault.

And it will be no surprise that the largest rate increases will happen if you get a DUI on your record.

Your credit score can also play a role in how much an insurance company charges. Insurance companies consider drivers with bad credit to be high risk.

Take a look at the table below to see how rates fluctuate depending on a driver’s credit score.

 

You should also note that Root is only available in some states. According to the company website, Root is available in the following states:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

Root also offers an availability map to show where coverage is going to become available soon.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Root Insurance Discounts Available

If you’re hoping to get a Root insurance discount, you may find that your choices are limited. Since insurance like Root is based on usage, and the company only takes on safe drivers, it’s difficult to tack on an additional safe driver discount. 

The following are the discounts that are offered with Root: 

  • Multiple-policy discount. Root offers homeowners, renters, and auto insurance, which means you can bundle and save. 
  • Discount for paying up front. If you purchase a six-month policy, paying for the entire six months can net you some savings.
  • Don’t use your phone while driving. You can save up to 10% off your insurance rates if you don’t make calls, text, or use any other apps on your phone while driving.
  • Autosteer. If you’re a Tesla driver, this is a discount given if you use the automated steering feature.

As with most auto insurance companies, you will want to keep your policy updated if anything changes, because some discounts may not automatically apply. 

Root Insurance Coverage Options

Your Root insurance policy is going to be unique based on your personal preferences and where you live. Each state has different requirements when it comes to auto insurance, so what you need will vary. Often the coverage required by your state is going to include liability insurance and protection from uninsured motorists. 

However, if you want more than just the minimum level of insurance, you can also get full coverage from Root. This means you would have not just liability, but collision and comprehensive coverage as well. 

The following are the coverage types that Root offers: 

  • Collision coverage. Collision provides coverage for any repairs that will be necessary after an accident, no matter who is at fault. 
  • Comprehensive coverage. Comprehensive allows for protection against anything outside of an accident, including hitting a deer or any weather-related damage. 
  • Bodily injury and property damage liability. This coverage will pay for any injuries, property damage, or fatalities that are caused by an accident where you were at fault. 
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. If another driver does not have insurance or a minimum policy that doesn’t cover the damage they’ve done, this coverage will protect you. 

Root also offers 24/7 roadside assistance with every policy, except in California and Nevada, where it must be purchased separately. 

Root Insurance App and Website 

Root has both an app and a user-friendly website. According to its website, you can get a quote in less than five minutes, though you’ll still need to take the test drive first. 

Root also states that you’re able to file a claim in minutes minus any paperwork. Reviews for Root Insurance have been mixed. While there are many positive testimonials on its website, there have also been customers who complain about the claim process. Root has received an A+ from the Better Business Bureau (BBB).

If you’re interested in a Root Insurance quote and you want to talk to an agent, all you have to do is enter what state you live in and the website will tell you the number to call.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Root a trusted and real company?

Root is a real company with many testimonials listed directly on its website. Not all drivers will be qualified for a policy, but it all depends on the initial driving test.

Who is the owner of Root Insurance?

The CEO and co-founder of Root Insurance is Alex Trim, who wanted to create a car insurance company that had its prices dependent on driving habits rather than specific demographics.

Can you add another car to your existing Root auto insurance policy?

Yes, you can add other vehicles to an existing policy using the Root mobile app. Open the app, tap on your auto policy, go to your profile information, and then from there you’ll be able to make changes to your vehicles, drivers, and other personal information.

How do I file a claim with Root?

You can file a claim directly through the website or the app. You can also call the Root Insurance phone number assigned to your state if you select “call an agent” from the website.

Will Root cover a rental car?

Yes, a rental car will be covered as long as you’re driving in the U.S., any U.S. territories, or Canada. You’ll still have to follow your policy limits and be mindful of the fact that your roadside assistance won’t be transferable.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

Reviews
for Root Insurance

3.23 (593 reviews)
1
October 26, 2022

Roxy_81

Don’t use this company

After being with Root for a year and having a clean driving record they increased my insurance by $90 with no legitimate reason
1
October 17, 2022

bheimple

Terrible Customer Service & No Transparency

I would not suggest if customer service is something you look for, I would highly suggest looking somewhere else. They also couldn't care less about your insurance score and the damage to that score by picking up and dropping you within a month of issuing you a policy. They utilize an app to see if you are eligible to continue using their service, but can't talk about the data they have received, even when the application is saying that you have ...
I would not suggest if customer service is something you look for, I would highly suggest looking somewhere else. They also couldn't care less about your insurance score and the damage to that score by picking up and dropping you within a month of issuing you a policy. They utilize an app to see if you are eligible to continue using their service, but can't talk about the data they have received, even when the application is saying that you have been a safe driver. Furthermore, they don't empower any of their employees to know anything about the policy you hold and if you want to speak with a supervisor for clarification, they will give you a callback at a later date, but still are extremely vague and can't answer policy questions. Terrible business model and horrible transparency about what you are signing up for. I guess you get what you pay for.
2
September 20, 2022

Jbk

All honeymoons come to an end

Root started out as a great priced alternative to other insurances. However, after nearly 3 years with them the illusion has worn off. Let me start by saying my driving record is squeaky clean. I’ve had two tickets my whole life: back in the late 90s as a teen for no seatbelt; early 2000s for a headlight out (a fix-it ticket.) Only this year has Root really messed me around. I started off the year paying $139 for near maximum coverage. In...
Root started out as a great priced alternative to other insurances. However, after nearly 3 years with them the illusion has worn off. Let me start by saying my driving record is squeaky clean. I’ve had two tickets my whole life: back in the late 90s as a teen for no seatbelt; early 2000s for a headlight out (a fix-it ticket.) Only this year has Root really messed me around. I started off the year paying $139 for near maximum coverage. In April of ‘22 they kicked my cost up to $161. Now for renewal in October they want to spike it again to $190. Remember, I have a perfect driving record. Two things happened that truly irk me. First, they won’t negotiate. They just copy/paste their FAQs and email you back when you ask why the rate change. Second, more frustratingly, they sneak the info of premium increase into their cheer-filled email in tiny print so you can accidentally overlook it. Seems immensely shady to me. But with the power of the internet I’ll be happily sharing this everywhere I can because I think it’s bad business practice.
1
August 31, 2022

Kevstuh

Root

I found a new insurance company a c'pla years ago. Company name: Root insurance. They seemed to have fairly low rates so I gave them a try. What a mistake! On August 11 2022, thieves helped themselves to my catalytic converter. I called police and filed a statement. The adjuster appeared to be on the case. He said a check was sent out on the 15th and it would take 7-10 days to get to my mechanic. The mechanic showed me the part. He had it deliver...
I found a new insurance company a c'pla years ago. Company name: Root insurance. They seemed to have fairly low rates so I gave them a try. What a mistake! On August 11 2022, thieves helped themselves to my catalytic converter. I called police and filed a statement. The adjuster appeared to be on the case. He said a check was sent out on the 15th and it would take 7-10 days to get to my mechanic. The mechanic showed me the part. He had it delivered to his shop. The entire muffler with converter attached. However he never got the check and as I expected, he wouldn't do the work until he was paid. As it should be. Now, I'm not wealthy. I can't afford to take 2 days off work, much less 10! Other insurance companies I've been with tend to settle claims much faster. But this company obviously doesn't want to pay because they've made it clear they don't care. My premiums are paid on time every time since I have auto-pay. All I can say is if you are a Root customer, cancel that policy before an incident happens. Their policy is: take your money and avoid paying claims. This is the worst insurance company on planet earth! Run!
1
August 26, 2022

AngryAtRoot

They will milk you for your money

My family and I were driving home from vacation, in the middle of the night in the mountains of Utah, when we hit a whole semi tire laying in the middle of the road. It ripped up my front bumper and simultaneously debris flew up and hit my windshield, cracking it. But root claims that they can't relate my windshield being cracked to this accident and required me to file a second claim and pay my deductable AGAIN to get the windshield damage fixed...
My family and I were driving home from vacation, in the middle of the night in the mountains of Utah, when we hit a whole semi tire laying in the middle of the road. It ripped up my front bumper and simultaneously debris flew up and hit my windshield, cracking it. But root claims that they can't relate my windshield being cracked to this accident and required me to file a second claim and pay my deductable AGAIN to get the windshield damage fixed. Additionally, after just one claim they increased my premium by over 50%. Absolutely unreal. I switched to progressive who are much more helpful and friendly, and CHEAPER. I will never come back to root and will always tell people to choose different insurance. This company is scum.
5
August 24, 2022

Mandyrm1989

Great company to use

Root is awesome. I hit a deer and the agent was so helpful. They let me choose where I wanted to take my car and sent the company a check within days of my claim. They also provide free roadside assistance. I have used roadside multiple times with no problems. I definitely recommend.
3
August 13, 2022

McKnightC_

Disappointed

Overall root is okay... I am very disappointed that i clicked the link for the referral program and for some reason it didn't connect and after i finished the test drive neither one of us got the 25 incentive and when i reach out to support they said that they would not honor it.. admittedly i won't refer anyone to root because of that.. it is very misleading
1
August 4, 2022

Terry75638

Cheaper to pay out of pocket than to use root

I was happy with root until I got ran off the road by another vehicle and my glass got busted. Called them and they transferred me to Safelite. Now Safelite wanted $500 to fix my glass. Mind you I have full coverage with uninsured motorist. I told Safelite I can get it fixed at eagle glass for $200. Not happy with either root or Safelite. I pay $214 month and it cost me more to use root insurance when something happens. I believe they just lo...
I was happy with root until I got ran off the road by another vehicle and my glass got busted. Called them and they transferred me to Safelite. Now Safelite wanted $500 to fix my glass. Mind you I have full coverage with uninsured motorist. I told Safelite I can get it fixed at eagle glass for $200. Not happy with either root or Safelite. I pay $214 month and it cost me more to use root insurance when something happens. I believe they just lost a customer
5
July 24, 2022

Jotickles

Root is the absolute best

Fast and easy and so much cheaper than progressive. I love you so much. You’re saving me financially.
1
July 14, 2022

Cfryer

Laughable money "saving" insurance

Thought this would be a great way to go since the initial quote came in under 100/month. That was the first month only, ever moth since has been more and more expensive. I just cancelled today as the policy is now 275/month, I should note here my wife and I are both over 30 with zero accidents and tickets on our record. The app they tell you to install to get a better rate is a scam to get more money out of you... It calculates numbers as if I we...
Thought this would be a great way to go since the initial quote came in under 100/month. That was the first month only, ever moth since has been more and more expensive. I just cancelled today as the policy is now 275/month, I should note here my wife and I are both over 30 with zero accidents and tickets on our record. The app they tell you to install to get a better rate is a scam to get more money out of you... It calculates numbers as if I were driving when I'm not and if you get in a vehicle that you aren't driving it'll still track you and ding you for the other person's driving. I'd hate to see what my bill would be if I had taken my phone to a theme park. All in all root is a joke and a scam, look elsewhere for way better deals and coverage, for their main ad tactic being we save you the most... They failed miserably!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.buyautoinsurance.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption