Infinity Auto Insurance Review for 2022

Infinity auto insurance is only offered in California. However, coverage exists for standard, classic, or commercial vehicles.

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022Fact Checked
2.0
buyautoinsurance.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Infinity Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$1,326

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Easy-to-use website also available in Spanish
  • High-risk drivers given options
  • Will recommend other insurers if you request a quote and you don’t live in CA
  • Free membership to Driver Club

Cons

  • Infinity is only available in California
  • Company has a high number of complaints
  • Kemper and affiliates have been downgraded with A.M. Best

The Bottom Line

Infinity does have more complaints than the average for a company of its size, which can be determined through data accumulated over three years by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. 

Infinity insurance claims are a major issue with some drivers. However, there are also complaints circulating around prices and a lack of communication from customer service. There are more than a few complaints regarding the company not taking care of its customers. 

However, according to the Better Business Bureau, the company has a 100% response rate, and an overall B+ rating. 

Before making any decision on which company you will choose for your car insurance, it’s in your best interest to compare prices, policies, and the companies themselves. Find Infinity reviews, talk to an agent, or sign up for a quote through the website to ensure Infinity is a good fit for you.

Infinity is a company owned by Kemper, and offers both standard and commercial auto insurance along with a number of other vehicle-related coverages. In 1978, Infinity Auto, which is based in Birmingham, Alabama, became Infinity. Infinity in turn is a subsidiary of Infinity Property and Casualty Corporation, so its history is rich with change. 

The company offers insurance to high-risk drivers, budget-watchers, and drivers looking to meet state minimum requirements. While Infinity insurance is only offered in California, the amount of coverage options it offers is fairly wide. 

Is Infinity A Kemper Company a Good Choice?

Infinity has an A- financial strength rating with A.M. Best, with a stable outlook and a financial size category of XII. 

Infinity has also ranked 4th in the Top 15 Insurance Stocks with A.M. Best, with Standard & Poor’s also providing the company with a strong A rating. Kemper and affiliates were downgraded as of August 2022 with A.M. Best, but only from an A to the current A- rating. 

How do you get a car insurance quote with Infinity? 

The company offers three standard options, or you can customize your coverage. The website states that Infinity will work with people who have limited budgets or simply want to meet the minimum auto insurance required by their state

You have the choice to talk to an agent over the phone or utilize the chat feature on the website. Claims can be filed and viewed online, but you can also request updates over the phone. Infinity also has preferred repair shops for you to patronize in the event of an accident. 

In order to obtain a quote, Infinity requests a few different pieces of information. 

You will need to report: 

  • Who is going to be driving. If you are going to have multiple drivers of the vehicle being insured, Infinity will need to know. 
  • What vehicle is going to be insured. You’ll need to provide details about your vehicle, such as the make and model of your car
  • Your current insurance information. Infinity will want to know what your current insurance company is at the time of your request. 

Quotes can be obtained through the website or over the phone. 

Infinity A Kemper Company Rates

The cost of an Infinity insurance policy is going to depend on a number of factors. Not just on your side, but from the company side as well.

Your age, driving record, and the type of vehicle you drive are some of the details often used to determine rates. On your end, you’ll have to decide what your budget is and how much you’re going to be able to afford to pay.

Below is an example of what drivers can expect to pay for minimum coverage by state across the country.

Infinity will cost around $847 per year for minimum coverage, and around $1,859 for full coverage car insurance. The U.S. has a national average of around $1,674 for full coverage, which does make Infinity more expensive than the average auto insurance company.

Rates will vary depending on the aforementioned details used by car insurance companies. One of the leading factors is your driving history. Drivers with clean records usually pay less than people who are declared high risk.

Infinity Insurance for Drivers with Clean Driving Records

Prices for Infinity auto insurance are more or less standard for drivers with clean records. Minimum coverage in California is around $549 per year on average.

This puts Infinity on par with the average, at around 13% less than its competitors. Some companies are cheaper, such as GEICO auto insurance and Mercury auto insurance, but Infinity is still a good deal.

When it comes to full coverage, Infinity’s rates are actually lower than the national average, with a cost of around $1,709 per year. These prices will change if you have any sort of ticket or infraction on your driving record.

Infinity Insurance for High-Risk Drivers

Insurance companies will use your driving record to determine what you will pay for a policy. A driver that has numerous DUIs, speeding tickets, or other infractions will be seen as high risk, which means they will likely cost the company more money in claims. Therefore, they will need high-risk auto insurance.

With Infinity, a driver that has a speeding ticket will pay around 6% less with Infinity than its competitors. Take a look below at how much you can expect rates to increase after a single traffic ticket.

Drivers will see an even larger increase in car insurance rates after an accident where you are considered at fault.

And it will be no surprise that the largest rate increases will happen if you get a DUI on your record. Auto insurance after a DUI will increase to around 3% higher than the national average.

As you can see, in order to recover the cost of having to insure high-risk drivers, auto insurance companies will often charge these drivers more. This is also true with young drivers.

Being a young driver means you have less time on the road, and until you reach a more mature age and have more driving experience, you’d also be considered at higher risk than someone who has been driving for years.

With minimum coverage, auto insurance for young adults around 18 years old should be prepared to pay almost 44% more with Infinity. This doesn’t mean Infinity should be cut out of comparisons entirely since this is all dependent on the individual driver.

Annual Full Coverage Teenage Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies
Insurance Company16-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record16-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record18-Year-Old Male with a Clean Record18-Year-Old Female with a Clean Record
Allstate$7,654$7,299$6,223$5,381
American Family$5,761$4,682$4,684$3,452
Farmers$8,901$9,330$7,238$6,879
GEICO$3,743$3,573$3,043$2,635
Liberty Mutual$9,339$8,592$7,593$6,335
Nationwide$5,714$4,926$4,646$3,632
Progressive$9,766$9,617$7,941$7,090
State Farm$4,191$3,730$3,408$2,750
Travelers$10,762$8,506$8,750$6,271
National Average$7,315$6,695$5,947$4,936

While Infinity does offer insurance for high-risk drivers, its rates are less affordable than other companies. Young drivers will pay more for a car insurance policy through Infinity than the average. This isn’t always the case, however, which is why it’s important to obtain a quote before making a decision.

Plus, there aren’t a lot of insurance companies that will offer coverage to high-risk drivers.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Infinity A Kemper Company Discounts Available

Many insurance companies will offer car insurance discounts in order to offset higher costs.

Infinity has quite a few different discounts available:

  • Good student discount. Students who maintain excellent grades are eligible for this discount.
  • Homeowner discount. You can bundle your homeowners and auto insurance together. 
  • Loyalty discount. If you’ve been a customer for a long while, most companies will offer some form of loyalty discount.
  • Muti-car discount. Having two cars under one policy or more can save you some money.
  • Mature driver discount. This discount is applied if a driver takes an improvement course.
  • Paid-in-full discount. Paying for your entire policy upfront nets you this discount.
  • Paperless discount. Many companies will reward customers who go green.
  • Safe driver discount. Having a clean driving record and practicing safe driving habits will offer you the chance to get a safe driver insurance discount.
  • Switch and save discount. For new customers, this discount acts as an incentive to make the change to Infinity from a current insurance provider.

You’ll want to bring up any requirements that you meet when applying for a quote or updating your policy. Discounts are often not manually applied unless they’re specifically offered at the time you sign up for coverage. 

Infinity A Kemper Company Coverage Options

Infinity offers various auto insurance policies, but what you end up with will depend on how much coverage you want. 

There are many drivers who want a full coverage auto insurance policy so that they’re covered no matter what happens on the road. Full coverage is an umbrella term for having not just the required liability insurance, but collision and comprehensive coverage as well.

Below you can see the most common types of coverage options:

  • Bodily injury and property damage liability. Liability auto insurance pays for injuries, deaths, or property damage from an accident when you’re considered at fault.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. If another driver hits you and has no insurance and insufficient insurance, uninsured motorist coverage kicks in.
  • Collision coverage. Collision insurance pays for expenses from traffic-related accidents, no matter who is at fault.
  • Comprehensive coverage. Comprehensive insurance pays for damages caused by events outside of your control, such as weather, hitting an animal, and vandalism.

If you’re after just the minimum amount of coverage, you’ll want to check your state’s requirements. Most states have a minimum required amount of liability coverage you must purchase to drive legally.

There can also be other factors that determine what coverage you choose. Cost is a major influence on the consumer side when it comes to making insurance-based decisions. 

What else does Infinity offer aside from car insurance?  

Kemper owns Infinity, which means that Infinity is run as an extension of Kemper. According to the Kemper website, the company is dedicated to personalized insurance solutions in a number of ways. However, Kemper and Infinity are separate entities when it comes to buying a policy. Visit our Kemper auto insurance review for more information.

As well as offering standard auto insurance, Infinity offers various other forms of vehicle coverage. You can get commercial auto insurance, classic, or collector car, and access to Infinity’s DriverClub. 

This is the same as roadside assistance and is provided 24/7. Services such as replacing a dead battery, fixing a flat tire, unlocking your vehicle, or providing you with a tank of gas are all covered. While there is no membership fee, you will be responsible for paying for the services rendered. You can even get DriverClub if you don’t have insurance through Infinity. 

Other Types of Insurance With Infinity

You can also obtain insurance for your home, rental, or your business through Infinity. The company has branched out to offer many types of coverage, such as flood or life insurance.

These are all policies under Infinity, with Kemper only being the overarching parent company. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Are Kemper and Infinity the same company?

Kemper is the parent company, having purchased Infinity in 2018 for $1.4 billion. Infinity is a subsidiary company of Kemper that offers auto, home, and life insurance. Kemper has many affiliates, and Infinity is one of them. Infinity held 1.24% of the insurance market in 2015. In 2017 the company had a premium revenue of around $697.3 million. These numbers may have led to the purchase.

What are the ways you can request an Infinity car insurance quote?

Requesting a quote is easy. You can request a quote through the website or by calling the quote customer service phone number, 1-800-INFINITY.

Where does Infinity offer auto insurance?

Currently, Infinity only offers California auto insurance policies. However, it offers a number of different forms of coverage, including classic and collector car insurance, or commercial coverage if you need protection on a business vehicle.

Are you able to purchase rideshare insurance through Infinity?

At this time, Infinity doesn’t offer any rideshare auto insurance for drivers operating under Lyft or Uber.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

Reviews
for Infinity A Kemper Company

2.00 (280 reviews)
1
October 7, 2022

ahmedaldafaae

Very bad company

I have been a customer for Infinity Insurance over 8 years. I lost 2 cars last 4 years because of Houston's flooding seasons. Infinity reimbursement was less than the market values. I tried to negotiate with them but they ignored me. Additionally, they stole $2500 from each check for no reason. It is the worst company I ever dealt with...
5
July 27, 2022

Junk_Hauling_Express

Infinity Insurance is a great company! I highly recommend.

Infinity insurance company is amazing! They have given my company great rates for the last 3 years. He had an auto accident and had to put in a claim. The claim was processed quickly and easily. Great overall experience, I highly recommend this company!
1
July 10, 2022

Harris_family_

Scammers! Worst insurance company ever!!

Me & my husband has been with this company for 3 years! Please be aware!! We never missed a payment! A tree branch fell on my trunk! Under 1300$ to get it fixed! They gave us the run around for 4months! The adjuster & her manager is extremely rude!! They never sent us the check & closed our policy without telling us! Then sent us a 11$ check!!! Please do not trust them!!!
1
June 9, 2022

jka61591

Another lie!

, I WOULD! So after the review I wrote on May 6th 2022 where I explained how unprofessional INFINITY AUTO Insurance was and still is!! So,they replied to my review asking for the claim number and pretending to actually care about our situation. They actually told me to reach out if I still needed assistance to reach out via email. Well I DID reach out!! I poured my heart really thinking that someone was going to listen and help us?!?!? Absolutely...
, I WOULD! So after the review I wrote on May 6th 2022 where I explained how unprofessional INFINITY AUTO Insurance was and still is!! So,they replied to my review asking for the claim number and pretending to actually care about our situation. They actually told me to reach out if I still needed assistance to reach out via email. Well I DID reach out!! I poured my heart really thinking that someone was going to listen and help us?!?!? Absolutely NOT! Honestly, we still haven't received our Vehicle, it was a fender bender!! It's going on the NINTH week!! Yes 9th week. As a result I have lost my job and my wife is close to losing hers. We've exhausted our $ 600 allotment for a rental like the first 2 weeks!!! The deposit itself is 3 to 500 dollars. So that's 7 weeks we've been out in the water having to pray that the rental place puts the deposit back on so you can even think about renting again! Now our option this week is, Do I pay the car note or rent???!? Again this was a minor fender bender! We both drove our vehicles over to the parking lot to exchange info. Minor. 9 weeks. Took them 6weeks to cut the second check. Six weeks to approve a 3 thousand and change repair check, after we've invested 6yrs.+ Paying our bill monthly , Faithfully.. but I thought that's why you get insured they're supposed to have your back in a time of need!! Well I know this Company DID NOT have our back.
1
April 8, 2022

ESOTERIKA_1990

BEWARE of Infinity/Kemper

Absolute worst insurance company I have ever dealt with. There is absolutely no communication on there and once my claim was filed it took them 6 months to hear ANYTHING from them. It seems the company is run roguery and there is literally zero internal communication. I was so upset with this that I left the insurance company BUT THEY CONTINUED TO bill me for three months and had the balls to send it to to collections. I am now proving to collect...
Absolute worst insurance company I have ever dealt with. There is absolutely no communication on there and once my claim was filed it took them 6 months to hear ANYTHING from them. It seems the company is run roguery and there is literally zero internal communication. I was so upset with this that I left the insurance company BUT THEY CONTINUED TO bill me for three months and had the balls to send it to to collections. I am now proving to collections what is going on and even they can't figure out who to talk to! It's actually laughable, steer clear from Infinity or Kemper folks.
1
April 7, 2022

Nerini

Unfair and illegal

Really no one has sued ?? The reviews are horrible . We are in a problem too because infinity cancelled our insurance and my husband crushed with two cars . They said it was his fault . He was paying full cover but when he called them the insurance was canceled . Too weird because they took out in November the payment from the bank (we had autopay) but no only one , they took out 3 more payments on that month and now they said the insurance...
Really no one has sued ?? The reviews are horrible . We are in a problem too because infinity cancelled our insurance and my husband crushed with two cars . They said it was his fault . He was paying full cover but when he called them the insurance was canceled . Too weird because they took out in November the payment from the bank (we had autopay) but no only one , they took out 3 more payments on that month and now they said the insurance is due. If somebody has sued them please let me know .
1
March 25, 2022

Lhholistic22_

Horrible customer service and accountability for employees

We filed a claim, they told us to take it to a body shop. Our car sat there for 10 days before anybody responded to any sort of communication. This is how the rest of my car’s stay at the body shop for over 1 month. We spent several hours in hour phones trying to get ahold of our adjuster, and their boss, and their boss. Turns out, infinity Kemper insurance is the place to work. You get paid to do NOTHING! They had many opportunities to simply ...
We filed a claim, they told us to take it to a body shop. Our car sat there for 10 days before anybody responded to any sort of communication. This is how the rest of my car’s stay at the body shop for over 1 month. We spent several hours in hour phones trying to get ahold of our adjuster, and their boss, and their boss. Turns out, infinity Kemper insurance is the place to work. You get paid to do NOTHING! They had many opportunities to simply call and reach out to update us as customers . They chose not to do so. They did end up sending the check which never arrived and then they only called body shop back to make an instant payment. No call/email to let us know that any sort of payment was on the way. Horrible horrible customer service! They need to clean it up!
1
February 21, 2022

Gabriel559

I’ve paid enough for 6 transmissions but I get nothing!!?

There good at taking your payments but when you need them. They close my case with no explanation now they don’t even respond….
1
December 7, 2021

JDELA

Extremelly Bad customer service

This insurance company doesnt have 24 hours customer service, online access is poor and the app doesnt work at all. Geico and progressive both has 24 hours customer service and you can make changes on your policy through phone calls and even through the app.
1
November 22, 2021

Danielnumberone

Infinity And Beyond Dissatisfied

I was a two year customer of Infinity Kemper Company. After Choosing to leave for a better insurance rate they decided to stick me with $75 in fees as I walked out the door. They immediately sent in to collections in hopes to mess up my credit. Luckily I caught It. After listening to them try and justify the fees that are clearly just attached to my bill for no reason, I decided to pay them there 16.32 and share with anyone who is looking for ins...
I was a two year customer of Infinity Kemper Company. After Choosing to leave for a better insurance rate they decided to stick me with $75 in fees as I walked out the door. They immediately sent in to collections in hopes to mess up my credit. Luckily I caught It. After listening to them try and justify the fees that are clearly just attached to my bill for no reason, I decided to pay them there 16.32 and share with anyone who is looking for insurance what kind of company Infinity Kemper is. Use at Own Risk!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.buyautoinsurance.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption