NJM Auto Insurance Review for 2022

NJM car insurance is only available in five states, but coverage rates tend to be lower than the national average.

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022Fact Checked
4.7
buyautoinsurance.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

NJM Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$0

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • High customer satisfaction
  • A low number of customer complaints
  • Dividend payment for New Jersey residents in some instances
  • Customizable policies
  • Extensive discounts
  • 12-month policy options

Cons

  • Coverage in only five states
  • No mobile app

The Bottom Line

NJM offers several car insurance coverage options and discounts to help policyholders save money. However, rates with NJM are higher than the national average and may often be higher than other local competitors.

Unfortunately, NJM is only available in five states. If you live in a state that offers NJM coverage, you can go to the company website or call NJM to get more information and see how much your car insurance would cost.

Before you buy a car insurance policy, read NJM’s car insurance reviews online and compare rates with other companies to see who offers the coverage you want at rates that work for you.

If you’re looking for car insurance, you may want to consider New Jersey Manufacturers (NJM) insurance. Unfortunately, NJM auto insurance is only available in Connecticut, Maryland, New Jersey, Ohio, and Pennsylvania. Still, NJM insurance offers several coverage options with competitive rates.

NJM has positive customer reviews and offers several discount options to its policyholders. Unfortunately, the company does not have a mobile app, so customers must file car insurance claims on the company’s website or over the phone. 

Is NJM Insurance Group a Good Choice?

NJM may be an excellent choice if you live in a state where the company’s insurance is available. NJM offers outstanding customer service and offers many options for people who want customizable auto insurance policies. 

According to NJBmagazine, NJM earned J.D. Power’s #1 spot in the Claims Satisfaction Study, and customers agree that NJM’s claims process is straightforward. In addition, NJM insurance reviews suggest the company offers excellent coverage options and has helpful customer service.

The two significant downsides to the company are its lack of presence throughout the U.S. and the fact that it doesn’t have a mobile app. Fortunately, NJM has a mobile-friendly website on which policyholders can file claims and chat with representatives. 

NJM Insurance Group Rates

The cost of car insurance varies for several reasons. You won’t know exactly how much you’ll pay for an NJM policy until you get a quote from the company. Still, you can better understand how NJM compares to other companies and the national average.

Teen Drivers

Teen drivers could pay more for coverage with NJM than with other companies.

Annual Full Coverage Teenage Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies
Insurance Company16-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record16-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record18-Year-Old Male with a Clean Record18-Year-Old Female with a Clean Record
Allstate$7,654$7,299$6,223$5,381
American Family$5,761$4,682$4,684$3,452
Farmers$8,901$9,330$7,238$6,879
GEICO$3,743$3,573$3,043$2,635
Liberty Mutual$9,339$8,592$7,593$6,335
Nationwide$5,714$4,926$4,646$3,632
Progressive$9,766$9,617$7,941$7,090
State Farm$4,191$3,730$3,408$2,750
Travelers$10,762$8,506$8,750$6,271
National Average$7,315$6,695$5,947$4,936

Rates for teen drivers are 35% higher for boys and 27% higher for girls on average.

Adult Drivers

Young adults also tend to pay more with NJM than the national average. The rates aren’t as significant as teen rates, but NJM rates are still nearly $900 more per year than GEICO’s

While adult drivers pay just over $1,800 a year for car insurance with NJM.

Annual Full Coverage Adult Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies
Age and GenderAllstateFarmersGEICONationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersNational Average
30 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$2,118 $1,925 $1,041 $1,667 $1,633 $1,234 $1,274 $1,646
30 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$2,021 $1,843 $1,078 $1,519 $1,569 $1,122 $1,173 $1,523
45 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$1,919 $1,595 $962$1,376 $1,261 $1,032 $1,169 $1,411
45 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$1,941 $1,602 $958$1,355 $1,340 $1,032 $1,154 $1,413
Get Your Rates Quote Now

These rates are around $400 more per year than the national average.

Senior Drivers

Senior Drivers pay more for coverage with NJM than with other companies.

Annual Full Coverage Senior Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies
Insurance Company60-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record60-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record
Allstate$1,847$1,797$1,878$1,900
American Family$1,190$1,175$1,291$1,276
Farmers$1,474$1,383$1,561$1,568
GEICO$892$872$941$938
Liberty Mutual$1,890$1,758$2,022$1,991
Nationwide$1,253$1,189$1,347$1,327
Progressive$1,143$1,105$1,234$1,312
State Farm$912$912$1,010$1,010
Travelers$1,065$1,052$1,145$1,130
National Average$1,296$1,249$1,381$1,383

With GEICO, senior drivers could pay nearly $600 less per year. 

Rates after A Speeding Ticket

Rates after a speeding ticket are around $500 more per year with NJM than the national average.

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$225$160
American Family$175$117
Farmers$198$139
GEICO$132$80
Liberty Mutual$234$173
Nationwide$161$115
Progressive$186$105
State Farm$102$86
Travelers$139$99
Average$152$123
Get Your Rates Quote Now

NJM’s rates are nearly $1,000 more annually than rates with State Farm. Check State Farm’s Drive Safe and Save program for a possible discount.

Rates after an Accident

People with accidents on their driving records will likely have higher rates.

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with an Accident
Insurance CompanyRates with an Accident
Allstate$237
American Family$166
Farmers$198
GEICO$132
Liberty Mutual$236
Nationwide$165
Progressive$190
State Farm$107
Travelers$157
Average$176

With NJM, you could end up paying rates that are 28% higher than the national average for car insurance after an accident. 

Rates after a DUI

A DUI can significantly impact your rates. But with NJM, rates for people with a DUI on their record are only around 2% higher than the national average.

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUI
Allstate$303
American Family$177
Farmers$191
GEICO$213
Liberty Mutual$325
Nationwide$252
Progressive$146
State Farm$124
Travelers$230
Average$218

Most people pay around $950 more for coverage with NJM than with State Farm.

Rates for Drivers with Poor Credit

If you have poor credit, you could pay around $200 more for coverage with NJM than the national average. 

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
American Family$203$136$116
Farmers$269$161$139
GEICO$148$100$82
Liberty Mutual$357$226$176
Nationwide$165$132$120
Progressive$206$137$109
State Farm$200$117$90
Travelers$194$127$107
Allstate$296$196$166
Average$226$148$123

Rates with NJM are $1,100 higher than rates with GEICO.

Minimum Coverage Rates

Liability-only coverage with NJM is 22% higher than the national average.

Average Minimum Coverage Monthly Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
Allstate$50
American Family$48
Farmers$56
GEICO$31
Liberty Mutual$64
Nationwide$49
Progressive$39
State Farm$33
Travelers$37
Average$45
Get Your Rates Quote Now

On average, NJM liability coverage costs $700 more than GEICO.

Full Coverage Rates

Rates for full coverage with NJM are 27% higher than the national average.

Average Full Coverage Annual Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$1,993
American Family$1,386
Farmers$1,674
GEICO$984
Liberty Mutual$2,120
Nationwide$1,445
Progressive$1,310
State Farm$1,091
Travelers$1,287
Average$1,477

Full coverage with GEICO costs around half as much, as with NJM. However, it is always recommended to get quotes from multiple different insurance companies before making your decision.

 

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

NJM Insurance Group Discounts Available

Some of the discounts NJM offers include the following:

  • Multi-policy
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Paid-in-full
  • Auto-pay
  • Full coverage
  • Safety features
  • New car
  • Good student
  • Driver training
  • Defensive driving
  • Mature drivers

Discounts can help you save as much as 25% on your car insurance, so you can speak with an NJM representative to see if you qualify for discounts on your coverage.

NJM Insurance Group Coverage Options

NJM offers the following coverage options:

  • Liability. This coverage helps if you damage someone else’s car or injure someone in an accident. It can also help with legal fees. 
  • Medical expenses. This coverage helps with medical costs after an accident. 
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist. This coverage will help if you’re in an accident with someone who doesn’t carry the proper insurance. 
  • Collision. This coverage pays to repair your vehicle if it’s damaged in an accident. 
  • Comprehensive. This coverage pays to repair your vehicle when it’s damaged in a non-accident incident, such as inclement weather or vandalism. 
  • Classic and collector car. NJM offers this coverage through American Modern, covering classic, vintage, and collector vehicles.
  • Motorcycle and ATV. NJM offers this coverage through American Modern, and it extends to dirt bikes, snowmobiles, and golf carts. 
  • Boat and watercraft. Through American Modern, NJM also offers liability coverage for personal watercraft. 

Along with the coverages listed above, NJM provides add-on coverage options:

  • GAP insurance. This coverage pays the difference between how much you owe on your vehicle and its actual cash value. 
  • Rental reimbursement coverage. This coverage pays you back for any rental car you need after a covered accident. 
  • Roadside assistance. NJM’s roadside assistance provides 24/7 assistance for jump starts, lockout services, flat tires, and gas delivery.
  • Trailer or camper insurance. This is essentially collision and comprehensive coverage for a camper or trailer.
  • Rideshare insurance. This coverage helps if you work for a company like Uber or Lyft and are in an accident while on the clock. 

With so many coverage options from NJM, you should be able to customize your policy to fit your needs.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does NJM offer other types of insurance?

NJM offers condo, renters, umbrella, and business insurance along with car insurance.

In which states does NJM offer coverage?

NJM offers auto insurance in Connecticut, Maryland, New Jersey, Ohio, and Pennsylvania.

How can I cancel my NJM policy?

You must call the company to cancel your auto insurance policy.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

Reviews
for NJM Insurance Group

4.68 (371 reviews)
5
November 19, 2020

mereditha

NJM is a great company

We love NJM. Their customer service is great. We've never had a problem reporting a claim or getting help when we need it. And we also love getting a rebate every year.
5
June 10, 2020

wagspam

NJM Review

NJM is fantastic. I have had to use their services once or twice. The most important factor to me was hasslefree claims, and also the fact that they provide dividends annually is great!
1
May 6, 2020

KarlaSan

The worst insurance company ever. Seriously! Be very careful

As I was told, you never pay DV claims. Your methods of resolution are questionable & ur lack of interest to resolve claims are very evident. Wonder how many victims weren’t compensated for accidents at your client's faults. I hope someday @USSupremeCourt investigates your methods. You guys are worst than a virus, you're a disgrace for people victims where their life cross with this insurance. If I need to shop for an insurance company I will ...
As I was told, you never pay DV claims. Your methods of resolution are questionable & ur lack of interest to resolve claims are very evident. Wonder how many victims weren’t compensated for accidents at your client's faults. I hope someday @USSupremeCourt investigates your methods. You guys are worst than a virus, you're a disgrace for people victims where their life cross with this insurance. If I need to shop for an insurance company I will never ever pick NJM Insurance Group, not because they didn't accept my DV claim but because the [REDACTED WORD] way and the questionable methods they use to process DV claim not to be approved later. I hope this insurance gets audited and punished sooner than later.
5
May 4, 2020

Dano_93

Trusted Insurance Company

NJM Group has always been a great insurance company in my opinion. For example, they pay send you a check at the end of the year depending on your driving record. They also sent me 15% of what I pay for 3 months as a refund because of the pandemic. They area are that money are not driving. They also give discounts if you are a student with a great academic GPA and offer discounts if you complete a driving course.
5
April 29, 2020

Anniem

NJM Excellent customer service

Excellent customer service their employees were always very helpful and ready to explain different coverage options.
5
March 7, 2020

jagslax220

Great

Great insurance company all together. The rates are excellent, and very forgiving for accidents will use for as long as i have a car
5
February 23, 2020

Mcb1099

Great Rates!

Great rates on auto and homeowners insurance. When i was in an accident they worked fast to settle it.
5
February 3, 2020

Doodle1996

NJM is a superior insurance company

NJM is a great insurer. Customer service is top notch. Claims reps and service is second to none. Rates are the best around!
5
January 20, 2020

Jim66

Great Company

Reasonable price, great customer service, fast claim processing. Customer service agents are friendly and helpful.
5
January 14, 2020

PaulRoss

Customer for over 10 years

I think NJM is great. They're fair with pricing compared to other insurance companies. I would recommend them to anyone in NJ.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.buyautoinsurance.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption