Erie Auto Insurance Review for 2022

The average Erie customer pays $41 for minimum coverage insurance and $114 for full coverage, up to 40% less than the national average.

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 6, 2022Fact Checked
4.3
buyautoinsurance.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Erie Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$700

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Med

Pros

  • Affordable rates
  • Several features included in policies free of charge
  • High levels of claims satisfaction

Cons

  • Only available in 12 states
  • Online options for buying and managing policies are limited
  • No mobile app

The Bottom Line

Although Erie is a smaller insurance company that only serves 12 states, it has a reputation for offering quality coverage. If you live in one of the states Erie sells in, you might find your cheapest rates with this Pennsylvania-based company.

While there’s a good chance that Erie will have the lowest rates for your situation, you should always check other companies before signing up for a policy. Comparing quotes with as many companies as possible will ensure you get the most affordable rates.

People who are in the market for car insurance often look at big-name companies first, thinking they’ll find the best coverage and lowest rates. However, the biggest companies don’t always have the best rates.

Erie Insurance is a mid-sized Pennsylvanian company selling insurance in 12 states. While it doesn’t have the range of its larger competitors, Erie offers affordable rates, plenty of coverage options, and a solid list of discounts to help customers save.

Erie also includes several features in every standard policy free of charge that other companies usually don’t offer. However, Erie doesn’t offer a mobile app or a usage-based insurance program, and its online options to manage your account are limited.

Read on to learn more about Erie Insurance and if it’s the right choice for your coverage needs. Then, compare rates with as many companies as possible to find the best rates.

Is Erie Insurance Group a Good Choice?

Erie was founded in 1925 by two people looking to improve their working conditions. Since then, Erie has expanded into 12 states and offers a solid selection of insurance products.

With low complaint numbers, high customer satisfaction, and some of the most affordable rates on the market, Erie is a good insurance company worth checking out. One of the only things keeping Erie from being one of the overall best auto insurance companies in the country is its limited availability.

Before you sign up for a policy, check out how Erie does in key areas below.

Third-Party Ratings for Erie

Looking at Erie insurance reviews from customers is important, but a good place to start is with third-party ratings. These ratings give you an idea of how well a company does in several key areas.

A.M. Best rates companies on their financial strength. Companies with high scores are financially stable and will be able to pay any claim you might make. Erie has an A+ from A.M. Best, which is considered a superior score.

Another good place to look is the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), which rates companies on how many complaints they receive compared to their size. A 1.0 is the national average — anything higher means the company receives more complaints.

Erie has a 0.93 from the NAIC, meaning it receives slightly fewer complaints than the average company.

As a mid-sized insurance company, Erie does well in J.D. Power’s customer satisfaction survey, taking first and second place for the regions where it sells insurance. It also earns the third-highest score for its overall shopping experience.

Finally, you can also look at the Better Business Bureau’s (BBB) ratings. The BBB rates companies on their ability to resolve customer issues, and Erie receives an A+.  

Does Erie have good customer service?

Like most insurance companies, reviews for Erie insurance customer service are mixed.

Happy customers say Erie representatives treat them professionally while ensuring they feel appreciated. Many customers also report satisfaction with how quick Erie’s claims handling process is.

As far as unsatisfied customers, a common complaint is that it can be difficult to contact insurance representatives, especially when they need information about a claim. There are also several online complaints from people filing a claim against an Erie driver, stating that it’s challenging to get Erie to pay for the damage.

Erie also has complaints common to every insurance company, including customers upset that their rates increased after making a claim. While increased rates are never fun, all insurance companies raise prices for customers who make multiple claims.

Does Erie give back to its community?

Although it doesn’t affect insurance rates, many drivers are interested in buying from a company that gives back. Although Erie is a relatively small insurance company compared to big names like GEICO and State Farm, it still makes an effort to help its communities. 

Erie participates in the following charitable causes:

  • Charitable giving. Erie makes charitable donations and encourages employees to volunteer with causes that support community building, safety, and environmental responsibility.
  • Corporate partners. Erie donates time and money to organizations like the American Red Cross, United Way, and Habitat for Humanity.
  • Employee giving. Erie makes it easy for employees to make donations to initiatives that mean the most to them.
  • Community partners. Erie helps organize community events with partners like the March of Dimes, American Heart Association, and Big Brothers and Big Sisters.
  • Field office giving. Erie periodically awards $2,500 to charities that go above and beyond in their community service.

According to Erie, it’s donated funds to 975 charities since it began charitable giving, with over 400 employees donating their time. Erie is a great option if you’re interested in a company that gives back.

Erie Insurance Group Rates

Generally speaking, Erie offers lower rates than many of its competitors. In fact, Erie rates tend to be more than 40% cheaper than the national average for minimum insurance and about 35% cheaper for full coverage auto insurance.

While there are many ways to look at car insurance quotes, a quick way to compare rates is to look at multiple companies. Check below to compare Erie’s average rates with some of its biggest competitors.

Monthly Minimum Full Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
Allstate$87
American Family$66
Farmers$76
GEICO$50
Liberty Mutual$90
Nationwide$61
Progressive$69
State Farm$40
Travelers$53
Average$69

As you can see, Erie offers reasonable prices and is often lower than more prominent companies. However, insurance companies look at many factors to determine your rates. These factors can drastically alter how much you pay for car insurance.

Monthly Minimum Full Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$160
American Family$116
Farmers$138
GEICO$80
Liberty Mutual$173
Nationwide$115
Progressive$105
State Farm$86
Travelers$99
Average$119
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Explore how Erie rates change for different demographics below, but remember that Erie will personalize your insurance quote. Any price you see might be very different than the average rate.

Erie Insurance Rates by Age and Gender

Two of the most important factors in the price of your insurance are beyond your control. Young, inexperienced drivers and men pay more for car insurance because they are statistically more likely to file a future claim.

Young drivers lack the necessary driving experience to navigate every dangerous situation the road throws at them, like black ice or low visibility. They also engage in riskier driving behaviors and cause more claims.

Male drivers are likelier than their female counterparts to drive recklessly, engage in road rage behaviors, and drive under the influence. Young male drivers pay the highest rates for insurance, but the price gap lessens between genders with age.

Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Age and Gender for the Top Insurance Companies
Age and GenderAllstateAmerican FamilyFarmersGEICOLiberty MutualNationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersNational Average
18 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$519$390$603$254$633$387$662$284$729 $496
18 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$448$288$573$220$528$303$591$229$523$411
30 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$177$129$160$87$198$139$136$103$106$137
30 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$168$109$154$90$173$127$131$94$98$127
45 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$160$110$133$80$172$115$195$86$97$118
45 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$162$109$134$80$170$113$112$86$96$118
55 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$152$104$126$76$163$109$100$82$92$112
55 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$153$103$127$76$161$107$106$82$91$112
65 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$157$108$130$78$169$112$102$84$95$115
65 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$157$106$130$78$169$112$109$84$95$115

Erie tends to have some of the lowest rates for any age group and gender, especially auto insurance for teenage drivers. For example, an average 18-year-old male driver pays $81 a month with Erie. That same driver might see rates like $167 with Nationwide auto insurance, $106 with GEICO auto insurance, and $124 with State Farm auto insurance.

Erie Insurance Rates for Low Credit Scores

Some factors that affect your insurance rates are obvious, like your driving record or location. Others often surprise drivers, and one of those is your credit score.

Except in Hawaii, California, and Massachusetts, where the practice is banned, insurance companies use your credit score to craft your rates. There are two reasons behind it, and only one has to do with driving.

Statistically speaking, drivers with low credit scores file more claims. The lower your score, the likelier you are to file a future claim in the eyes of an insurance company.

The second reason is that insurance companies assume people with higher scores are more likely to pay their monthly bills on time.

Auto insurance for drivers with bad credit can be up to 60% more. Check below to compare how much Erie charges when you have a low credit score with other companies.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
American Family$203$136$116
Farmers$269$161$139
GEICO$148$100$82
Liberty Mutual$357$226$176
Nationwide$165$132$120
Progressive$206$137$109
State Farm$200$117$90
Travelers$194$127$107
USAA$129$76$63
Allstate$296$196$166
Average$226$148$123
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Although Erie isn’t the most affordable, it still does fairly well for people with low credit scores. However, if the only thing you have working against you is a low score, you should compare rates with GEICO and Nationwide.

Erie Insurance Rates After Traffic Incidents

Traffic incidents are one of the best ways for a car insurance company to get a sense of how risky you are. After all, insurance rates are crafted on the likelihood that you’ll file a claim in the future and cost the company money. People with incidents in their driving record are statistically more likely to add more.

Traffic incidents include small things like a minor speeding ticket and major things like at-fault accidents or reckless driving charges. The amount that incidents affect your rates varies by situation, but you can expect any infraction to increase your monthly bill.

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$225$160
American Family$175$117
Farmers$198$139
GEICO$132$80
Liberty Mutual$234$173
Nationwide$161$115
Progressive$186$105
State Farm$102$86
Travelers$139$99
Average$152$123
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Erie is one of the most forgiving companies of an at-fault accident, with only State Farm beating it for the lowest average rates. Similarly, Erie offers reasonable rates after a speeding ticket.

Although car insurance rates after an accident are higher, they won’t stay high forever. As long as you avoid adding more violations to your driving record, the average incident only affects your insurance rates for about three years.

Erie Insurance Rates After a DUI

Of all the violations you can add to your driving record, DUIs have one of the most significant impacts on your insurance rates. Some insurance companies will drop you after a single DUI, while others will charge you rates so high that they’re virtually unaffordable.

So, how does Erie hold up for auto insurance after a DUI? Compare Erie rates with other companies below.

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUI
Allstate$303
American Family$177
Farmers$191
GEICO$213
Liberty Mutual$325
Nationwide$252
Progressive$146
State Farm$124
Travelers$230
Average$218

Once again, Erie has some of the lowest rates. Depending on other factors, Erie might be your cheapest option.

Like other traffic incidents, a DUI won’t affect your rates forever. However, insurance companies consider a DUI a far riskier prospect for future claims than the average speeding ticket or accident. A DUI affects your rates for about seven years, and you might need to find high-risk auto insurance until it falls off your record.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Erie Insurance Group Discounts Available

Car insurance companies often offer discounts to help drivers save money on their policies. Car insurance discounts are so important in finding affordable rates that a company’s available discounts list is something you should look at when shopping for coverage.

While it doesn’t offer as many as some of its competitors, Erie still has plenty of ways to save. 

You might be eligible for the following Erie discounts:

  • Multi-policy. There are two ways to earn this discount. First, simply insure more than one vehicle on the same policy. Second, buy a home or life insurance policy through Erie along with your car coverage.
  • Vehicle storage. If you plan on storing your vehicle for at least 90 days, Erie will drastically reduce your rates until you use your car again.
  • Safety features. Erie offers discounts for having safety features like airbags, anti-lock brakes, and anti-theft devices installed in your vehicle.
  • Pay in full. Earn a small discount for paying for an entire year of insurance rather than making monthly payments.
  • Youthful driver. A parent or guardian can earn a discount for adding an unmarried driver under 21 to their policy.
  • Youthful driver longevity. Young, unmarried drivers can earn credit towards a new policy when they split off a family plan.
  • Driver training. Drivers under 21 who complete an education course will receive discounted rates.
  • College student. Erie will reduce your rates if you have a student attending college away from home and left their car at home.

It might not be the most comprehensive list of discounts on the market, but Erie does offer some valuable ways to save. You’ll need to check with an insurance representative to see which discounts you’re eligible for, as availability varies by state.

Erie Insurance Group Coverage Options

Most car insurance companies offer everything you need for a basic policy. Most drivers need either minimum insurance or full coverage, and Erie can help with both.

Minimum insurance refers to the minimum auto insurance required in your state. You must meet your state’s requirements before you can legally drive or register your car. Most states require at least liability insurance, though Virginia and New Hampshire drivers do not need coverage.

Full coverage refers to a suite of insurance products, and while it’s not required by any state law, you’ll probably need it if you have a car loan or lease.

To meet these needs, Erie sells the following types of car insurance:

  • Bodily injury liability. This part of liability auto insurance pays for injuries you cause to other drivers in a collision.
  • Property damage liability. The other half of liability insurance, covers damage you cause to other cars, buildings, and other types of property. Liability insurance does not cover your vehicle or medical bills.
  • Collision. Collision insurance helps pay for damage to your car after an accident, no matter who caused it. It also covers your vehicle if you hit a stationary object, like a mailbox.
  • Comprehensive. There’s a lot more than collisions that can damage your vehicle. Comprehensive insurance covers damage from weather, fire, vandalism, animal contact, and theft.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist. Although most states require drivers to carry car insurance, only some follow the law. Uninsured motorist coverage protects you from drivers with inadequate insurance, as well as from hit-and-runs.
  • Personal injury protection (PIP). Personal injury protection insurance helps pay for medical bills for you and your passengers. Some states sell medical payments insurance instead.

Full coverage includes every insurance listed above and offers solid protection for your car. It costs more to buy full coverage, but the extra protection is usually worth it.

Does Erie sell car insurance add-ons?

Car insurance add-ons are convenient ways to add additional coverage and extra features to your policy. Buying add-ons will increase the price of your insurance, but the extra coverage makes up for the added cost.

While it doesn’t have as large a selection of customization options as some competitors, Erie has a few solid offerings. 

Erie sells the following add-ons:

  • Erie Auto Plus. This affordable package includes a diminishing deductible, 10 days of rental car reimbursement, increased coverage limits, a waived deductible for certain incidents, and a $10,000 death benefit.
  • Rate Lock. This add-on prevents your car insurance rates from changing, even if you file a claim. Only adding a new driver or car to your policy will result in rate changes.
  • Motorcycle insurance. You can add coverage for a motorcycle to your Erie insurance without having to start a new policy.
  • New car replacement. Normally, you’d receive a check for your car’s depreciated value after it’s declared a total loss. This add-on ensures you can replace your vehicle with a new model of similar value.
  • Rental car reimbursement. If your car is stuck in the shop after a covered accident, Erie rental car reimbursement insurance will cover the rental cost.
  • Roadside assistance. Erie will come to the rescue when you’re stranded on the side of the road. Roadside assistance covers things like towing, dead batteries, and flat tires.

If you’re interested in any of these add-ons, you’ll need to check with an Erie representative. Add-on availability varies by state, and you might need to go elsewhere to find similar coverage.

Do Erie car insurance policies come with extra features?

One thing that sets Erie apart from its competition is that it includes a variety of features in every policy, free of charge. 

Erie offers the following features with every car insurance policy:

  • First accident forgiveness. As long as you’ve gone three years without an accident with your Erie insurance, your first accident won’t affect your rates.
  • Windshield repair. If your windshield can be repaired rather than replaced, Erie will waive your comprehensive deductible.
  • Pet injury. Erie will cover up to $500 of vet expenses if your pet is injured in a covered accident, up to $1,000.
  • Travel expenses. Your insurance will cover meal and lodging expenses if you’re car becomes disabled in a covered event while you’re away from home.

Like add-ons, you’ll need to check with a representative to see what’s available in your area. A representative can also help you understand exactly what each free feature covers and if you’re eligible for it.

What other types of insurance does Erie sell?

Erie sells various insurance products to cover just about anything important to you. 

You have the following options for additional insurance with Erie:

  • Motorcycle
  • ATV/snowmobile/golf cart
  • RV
  • Boat
  • Collector/classic car
  • Home/renters/condo/mobile home
  • Flood
  • Personal valuables
  • Life
  • Medicare supplemental
  • Long-term care
  • Retirement
  • Personal umbrella
  • Identity theft
  • Business
  • Commercial auto

Like its car coverage, Erie tends to offer affordable rates for its other insurance products. For example, Erie’s home insurance is 15% cheaper than the national average and is usually one of the least expensive options.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Erie car insurance expensive?

Not only is Erie car insurance not expensive, it’s actually some of the cheapest on the market. Erie car insurance is generally the most affordable option for every age group, including teens. However, drivers with low credit scores might find a few cheaper options.

What states does Erie insurance cover?

Erie sells care insurance policies in Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Washington D.C.

Is Erie insurance good?

Erie Insurance offers solid car insurance policies at affordable prices. It also includes many perks for free that other companies don’t offer at all. Only two things prevent Erie from being one of the top insurance companies in America: its limited availability and technology options.

Does Erie Insurance have GAP insurance?

While Erie doesn’t sell actual GAP insurance, it does include the same protection against underwater loans in its new car replacement. As long as your policy includes new car replacement, you won’t have to worry about paying for a car you no longer own.

Does Erie insurance cover rental cars?

Erie covers rental cars in two ways. First, you can add rental car reimbursement to your policy to cover your travel expenses if your vehicle is stuck in the shop after a covered accident. Second, Erie policies extend to cars you rent in the U.S. Whatever coverage you have for your personal vehicle applies to a rental.

How do you make an Erie insurance claim?

Unfortunately, Erie does not have an online option for making a claim. Instead, you’ll need to call the Erie claims phone number or contact your local representative to start a claim.

What additional perks does Erie offer with its car insurance?

Erie includes several perks in its standard policies that other companies don’t offer. These include pet coverage, a diminishing deductible, first accident forgiveness, and an affordable option to lock your rates so they won’t increase.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

Reviews
for Erie Insurance Group

4.28 (1,814 reviews)
5
April 7, 2022

Lee_C

Please don’t hesitate to choose Erie Insurance!

Erie Insurance is excellent! We have had Landis Erie insurance for our homes, cars and business for about 30 years, and we are certain that we will continue to choose this company. They have taken care of every issue we had in a timely manner in the past. Erie Insurance gave us tremendous help when our family was in a couple of extremely difficult times in our life. We recommend it to everyone, including all our families and friends. All our fa...
Erie Insurance is excellent! We have had Landis Erie insurance for our homes, cars and business for about 30 years, and we are certain that we will continue to choose this company. They have taken care of every issue we had in a timely manner in the past. Erie Insurance gave us tremendous help when our family was in a couple of extremely difficult times in our life. We recommend it to everyone, including all our families and friends. All our family members have Erie Insurance. Please don’t hesitate to choose Erie Insurance!
4
January 12, 2021

reaglehouse

Erie Insurance

I have had a great experience with them. When I have had an issue, they correct it immediately. When I called to lower my rate, they were able to find the best option for me.
5
January 2, 2021

Vinjm_75

Best deals around

It's been nothing but a positive experience the nice thing about a small company is that the agents really get to know the customers on a personal level so they really meet your needs more efficiently any more quickly than these larger companies and their rates are the cheapest around we shopped around with all the other agencies and none of them came close to the deal we got with them
4
November 20, 2020

holymama

its alright!

company is fine, they keep raising my insurance though. have not had any claims for the last few years I have been with them.
1
October 27, 2020

Lewis Cooper

Erie Insurance review

Erie is very deceptive. I had Erie insurance for almost 30 years I had myself, my wife, and my daughter on the policy. Over the years, they dropped my son for having a reckless driving ticket I didn’t have a problem with that they dropped my daughter while she had a learners permit for backing into a pole in a parking lot. There was about $1,500 in damage but the kicker was they had requested a copy of my youngest daughter's title. I told her t...
Erie is very deceptive. I had Erie insurance for almost 30 years I had myself, my wife, and my daughter on the policy. Over the years, they dropped my son for having a reckless driving ticket I didn’t have a problem with that they dropped my daughter while she had a learners permit for backing into a pole in a parking lot. There was about $1,500 in damage but the kicker was they had requested a copy of my youngest daughter's title. I told her to send it to them. She did not do it so they canceled my policy without letting me know. The right thing to do would have been to drop her like they did with my son and daughter. I made premium payments for 30 years and never made a claim. My wife had only one claim, and it was my daughter when she ran into the pole. When I contacted my agent his secretary said you might as well just get another policy because Erie probably won't reinstate your policy. I never priced other policies because I never needed to. But when I was forced to, I found several companies that gave me better rates. I gave 1 star only because the website won’t give you the opportunity to give a zero.
4
October 20, 2020

Rose327

Handling claims

Easy to work with, hassle free and great customer service. Recently filed a claim due to a collision where the other driver hit my car. The other driver was not being cooperative and Erie took over so I did not have to be the middle man. This relieved a lot of stress. They were fairly quick at getting my deductible back from the other insurance company however the claims adjuster could have been more prompt at returning phone calls.
2
October 19, 2020

Glitterz17548

Horrible service

This company was completely unprofessional when I had an accident. I carry full coverage and they would not fix my car that had less than 1000 in damages after I had full coverage for over 4 years with them.
5
October 18, 2020

mhake

Great Service and Most Affordable

I purchased an auto policy about 15 years ago and have experienced nothing but great service. They were the best quote by far and I even referred my boyfriend who switched to Erie Insurance. I often check around for new quotes, especially when adding my kids when they were new drivers and they stayed most reasonable. My daughter had an accident and they took care of everything quickly. I would refer anyone to use Erie.
4
October 13, 2020

chrvicars

Good customer service

It was a pleasant enough experience. I was presented with different options to fit my needs regarding the amount of coverage I wanted and how I could pay my bill ( as far as monthly, yearly, or three times a year).
4
October 12, 2020

Kupkake

Great company

They've done everything they can to make prices reasonable while still being able to cover things thoroughly.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.buyautoinsurance.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption