FR-44 Coverage

FR-44 insurance is not auto insurance, but it's a certification you need to prove that you carry the minimum FR-44 requirements. The minimum FR-44 auto insurance limit requirements are 50/100/50 and are only required for DUI convicted drivers in Florida and Virginia. FR-44 insurance rates could cost over $600/mo. Compare companies and shop around to find the cheapest rates even with an FR-44.

Compare Quotes Now

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor of Features and Outreach, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming worl...

Full Bio →

Written by

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent

UPDATED: Jan 26, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

A Concise Overview

  • FR-44 insurance is only available in Florida and Virginia.
  • Any driver with FR-44 will have higher than average auto insurance rates.
  • Enrolling in FR-44 is one of the requirements for reinstating your license.

FR-44 insurance is proof that you have auto insurance after you’ve been convicted of a DUI. However, FR-44 isn’t part of the standard auto insurance coverages – it’s a certification that says you have insurance. So how do you get an FR-44? Our guide explains what FR-44 insurance is, where you can get it, how it affects auto insurance quotes, and why you may need FR-44.

You won’t find FR-44 insurance quotes specifically, but if you enter your ZIP code in the free comparison tool above, you’ll find cheap auto insurance quotes in your local area. For more information about FR-44 insurance, continue reading.

What is FR-44?

FR-44 is a certification that says that a driver who’s been convicted of DUI has car insurance. The FR-44 certification is only available in Florida and Virginia. Any driver with FR-44 must have at least $50,000 for bodily injury liability attached to their coverage limits.

Is there a difference between FR44, FR-44, and FR 44 auto insurance? FR44, FR-44, and FR 44 are the same thing but are often used interchangeably.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Is FR-44 insurance considered auto insurance?

Contrary to the name, FR-44 insurance (or FR-44 auto insurance) is not a substitute for auto insurance. FR-44 certification is attached to a car insurance policy. Therefore, you’ll need to go through an auto insurance company to buy FR-44 insurance quotes.

How do you get FR-44?

Let’s say you’ve been convicted of DUI in Florida or Virginia. Either state will ask you to get car insurance based on FR-44 minimum requirements.

What are the minimum coverage amounts for an FR-44 certification? If you need FR-44 insurance, you’ll need $50,000 for bodily injury of one person, $100,000 for bodily injury of multiple people, $50,000 for property damage (or 50/100/50). These coverage limits are considered medium coverage limits from some car insurance companies. 

Alert the auto insurance company of your conviction by reporting it during the quote process. If you’re getting auto insurance online, the question may come up whether you have multiple accidents or have a DUI on your driving record.

If the car insurance company accepts your quote, they will attach FR-44 insurance to your policy. Some companies can do it electronically, so you may not need to do anything else after you have an auto insurance policy. Drivers who have a court date should bring proof of auto insurance.

Do you need to pay a fee to get FR-44?

Yes. You could pay up to $25 for an FR-44 form. It may seem like a problem considering the cost of auto insurance that will follow, but it’s better than being uninsured.

How long do I need an FR-44?

FR-44 can last at least three years. Car insurance companies usually look back three years on your driving record. However, a DUI conviction in Florida remains on the driver’s record for 75 years. DUIs convictions in Virginia will be on your driving record for 11 years. Ultimately, you may have to reapply for FR-44 insurance every three years.

When can you cancel FR-44 insurance? As long as you have a DUI on your driving record, an auto insurance company may consider you a high-risk. Considering the number of years a DUI stays on your driving record in Florida and Virginia, you could be dealing with FR-44 certification for a while.

How much FR-44 insurance rates?

DUIs have a significant impact on your car insurance rates. Since you can’t buy FR-44 insurance, we’ll show you what auto insurance cost would look like if you have FR-44 insurance attached to your policy.

Examine the car insurance rates from the best companies in the United States based on DUIs on a driving record.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates Based on One DUI by Company
CompaniesAverage Monthly Rates Based on One DUI
USAA$292
State Farm$303
Progressive$331
American Family$361
Nationwide$379
Farmers$393
GEICO$406
Travelers$478
Allstate$522
Liberty Mutual$634
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

USAA is the cheapest company on the list, but Liberty Mutual is the most expensive company. Usually, auto insurance companies aren’t this expensive. However, a DUI can quickly turn you into a high-risk driver.

Despite USAA’s cheap auto insurance status, only veterans and their immediate families are eligible to get a policy from them.

All policyholders can pay monthly installments or pay their auto insurance policy in full when you have to deposit to start the policy. 

Three Ways You Can Save Money with FR-44

FR-44 attached to your car insurance policy can be expensive. However, there are a few options you can take to get more affordable FR-44 insurance. Here are three ways you can save on auto insurance with FR-44 attached.

  • Discounts – FR-44 doesn’t disqualify you from some discounts. Anti-theft and safety feature discounts can lower car insurance rates.
  • Liability-Only Coverage – If you own an older model year vehicle, you could get liability-only auto insurance.
  • Comparison Shop – Use our free comparison tools on our site to compare multiple companies and see which company has the cheapest auto insurance rates under FR-44.

It will take a few years to reach cheap car insurance under FR-44. If you stick to one auto insurance company for a while, you can receive more reasonable rates.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

FR-44 vs. SR-22

Drivers may be confused about FR-44 and SR-22. Both certification programs are for drivers who’ve violated driving laws or have too many accidents on their driving record.

So how do you know when FR-44 or SR-22 is required? Let’s look at the different reasons below.

The Difference Between FR-44 and SR-22
Reasons Why You Need FR-44 Reasons Why You Need SR-22
Causing Injury While Driving Under The InfluenceDriving With A Suspended Driver's License
Driving Under The Influence of Alcohol or DrugsReceived A Citation For Failing To Maintain The Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
Driving With Revoked Driver's License Due To A ConvictionYou've Been Convicted Of Serious Driving Violations Like Reckless Driving
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

In addition to these reasons, the minimum car insurance requirements are different for FR-44 and SR-22. For FR-44 insurance, you’ll need to carry a 50/100/50 coverage limit. However, SR-22 insurance rules state you only need to have the state minimum.

Can I get FR-44 without a vehicle?

Yes. Non-owner FR-44 insurance is possible. This means that the driver with an FR-44 certification doesn’t own a car, but they drive a vehicle owned by someone else. Under non-owner FR-44, you prove that you’re financially responsible even though you don’t own the car. However, the policy only provides compensation to another driver if you’re at fault.

FR-44 Insurance Coverage: The Bottom Line

You will only find FR-44 insurance in Florida and Virginia. FR-44 is one of the high-risk auto insurance options you’ll need if you want to drive in Florida and Virginia. The FR-44 insurance program demands that a driver higher than minimum requirements, which seems cruel to drivers who made a mistake. However, DUIs cause one too many accidents each year, and the law wants to crack down on DUI-related deaths and property damage.

Compare multiple companies that can attach FR-44 insurance to your policy by entering your ZIP code in our free online quote tool.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption