Amica Car Insurance Review for 2022

UPDATED: Nov 12, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

UPDATED: Nov 12, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Nov 12, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Nov 12, 2022Fact Checked
4.2
buyautoinsurance.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Amica Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$2,118

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Amica mobile app
  • Online quotes available
  • Multiple discounts
  • Unique coverage options, including Amica Platinum Choice
  • Offers accident forgiveness, GAP insurance, and rental reimbursement
  • Reimbursement of deductible if driver found not at fault

Cons

  • Insurance coverage options are not available in all 50 states
  • No rideshare, pay-per-mile, or usage-based insurance options
  • Limited office locations

The Bottom Line

Amica could be a good fit for any driver interested in minimum or full coverage, but younger drivers could benefit most from an Amica car insurance policy. Thanks to its unique discounts, such as legacy and young driver training discounts, drivers under the age of 30 years old could save significantly.

Additionally, since Amica offers multiple types of insurance coverage, even more savings can be earned by bundling two or more policies. 

If you want to buy Amica auto insurance, start comparing quotes from other companies to see if it’s the right match for you. Our free comparison tool below provides quotes from affordable auto insurance companies near you.

Amica, also known as Automobile Mutual Insurance Company of America, was founded in 1907, making it the country’s oldest auto mutual insurer. Automobile, theft, and fire insurance were its first products, but the company has expanded and now offers a full suite of personal insurance policies. 

Amica has high ratings for auto insurance claims and purchase process satisfaction, but this auto insurer also offers several unique discounts to help drivers save on their monthly rates.

If you’re in the market for car insurance, take a look at our review of Amica car insurance. It could be a good fit for anyone looking for high-quality, affordable car insurance.  

Is Amica Mutual Insurance Company a Good Choice?

Yes, Amica car insurance is good. The auto insurer has an A+ rating from A.M. Best and the Better Business Bureau (BBB). 

In 2022, J.D. Power included Amica in its U.S. Auto Claims Satisfaction Study, which surveys auto insurance customers who filed claims within the last six months. Amica is the highest-ranking auto insurer among the 18 rated in the study, with a customer satisfaction rating of 903, based on a 1,000-point scale, 

Additionally, Amica is ranked the highest in New England for the 10th consecutive year. It also ranked the third-highest among mid-size auto insurers in the J.D. Power 2022 U.S. Insurance Shopping Study, which surveys customers’ experiences throughout the auto insurance shopping and purchase process. 

In NAIC’s 2021 report, Amica received a score of 0.92 on the customer complaint index, which is below the national complaint index of 1.0. This decrease from the company’s 2020 score of 1.90 means fewer customer complaints have been received in the past year.

The Amica insurance reviews indicate that this is a solid insurance company from both a financial and customer service perspective.

Amica Mutual Insurance Company Rates

Auto insurance rates vary between car insurance companies due to many factors, including the driver’s gender, age, location, type of vehicle, and more. 

We compared Amica car insurance rates to other providers based on various driver profiles to help you better understand what you could pay and how things such as age and driving record can impact your rates.

Factors Impacting Amica Auto Insurance Rates

Insurance companies require customers to submit certain information when purchasing car insurance.

Amica uses the following to determine if a driver can be insured and calculate their insurance rates:

  • Age. The older the driver, the more experienced they are with driving, meaning they are less likely to file a claim.  
  • Gender. Female drivers are less likely to file claims compared to male drivers.
  • Vehicle. Vehicle year, make, model, safety features, previous ownership, and repair costs. 
  • Mileage. Drivers with low annual mileage are less likely to cause an accident because they do not get behind the wheel often.  
  • Credit score. Credit score predicts the likelihood of a driver filing a claim, so a high score means a driver is safe and probably won’t be involved in an accident. 
  • Location. Most states have a minimum coverage amount drivers must carry, but vandalism, theft, accident rates, vehicle storage location, and type of area (urban or rural) are also important. 
  • Driving record. Driving records include details regarding years of experience, traffic violations, and accidents.
  • Coverage type. Type of auto insurance coverage, coverage limits, and deductible amount. 

Rating systems vary, so it is common for these factors to impact your premiums differently depending on the car insurance company. 

Compare Amica auto insurance to local companies in your area to see which offers you the best rates. Scroll down to start comparing Amica car insurance rates.

Amica Auto Insurance Rates By State

Here’s how Amica’s car insurance rates compare to its competitors by state. 

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by State
StateAllstateFarmersGEICOLiberty MutualNationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersAverage
AK$1,667 $1,195 $807$1,223
AL$1,332 $1,644 $1,099 $1,999 $1,189 $1,388 $1,337 $972$1,370
AR$2,007 $1,120 $1,227 $1,581 $1,620 $989$1,367 $1,416
AZ$2,226 $1,664 $808$1,436 $1,039 $999$1,292 $1,352
CA$1,996 $1,553 $1,774
CO$2,054 $2,010 $1,161 $1,133 $1,324 $1,490 $1,168 $1,475
CT$2,421 $768$2,486 $1,382 $1,641 $1,126 $1,030 $1,550
DC$2,976 $855$2,126 $1,420 $1,371 $1,750
DE$2,555 $1,243 $6,117 $1,777 $1,115 $1,431 $1,019 $2,180
FL$2,263 $1,103 $1,995 $1,272 $1,889 $1,223 $1,624
GA$2,035 $754$3,259 $1,878 $1,417 $1,324 $1,778
HI$1,113
IA$1,008 $1,006 $1,432 $900$930$804$1,143 $1,049
ID$1,587 $1,139 $708$975$1,018 $653$707$992
IL$2,172 $587$935$1,146 $1,103 $796$1,077 $1,153
IN$1,729 $977$785$2,269 $1,198 $849$872$856$1,207
KS$1,973 $1,781 $923$2,148 $1,141 $1,575 $1,003 $1,071 $1,447
KY$988$2,080 $2,277 $1,377 $1,212 $1,725 $1,610
LA$2,547 $1,739 $1,990 $1,537 $1,953
MA$1,342
MD$2,481 $1,671 $1,313 $1,493 $1,322 $1,656
ME$1,334 $1,446 $454$1,485 $1,166 $724$759$1,053
MI$5,017 $4,140 $1,219 $5,250 $3,184 $1,880 $2,585 $2,268 $3,193
MN$1,977 $1,333 $1,118 $4,640 $1,070 $828$1,732
MO$1,831 $1,674 $1,112 $1,597 $816$1,212 $1,051 $1,326
MS$1,822 $886$1,477 $1,190 $1,487 $1,018 $1,092 $1,282
MT$1,903 $2,025 $1,020 $726$1,093 $2,109 $870$1,392
NC$2,095 $851$1,020 $1,367 $393$949$1,228 $1,129
ND$1,679 $1,324 $749$4,919 $949$1,364 $943$1,715
NE$1,545 $1,606 $1,139 $2,213 $952$1,175 $850$1,358
NH$1,585 $624$2,453 $953$785$729$1,188
NJ$1,948 $2,861 $917$3,446 $1,154 $1,403 $1,679 $1,915
NM$1,958 $1,615 $1,119 $1,186 $1,069 $855$1,300
NV$2,046 $1,915 $1,361 $1,375 $1,386 $1,018 $1,272 $1,122 $1,470
NY$1,820 $963$2,473 $2,026 $1,188 $1,695 $2,159 $1,761
OH$1,483 $1,193 $728$1,311 $1,408 $1,051 $863$784$1,065
OK$1,668 $1,684 $1,350 $2,279 $1,362 $1,122 $1,577
OR$1,896 $1,378 $1,155 $1,738 $1,372 $959$926$1,197 $1,326
PA$1,829 $843$2,704 $1,066 $1,834 $938$931$1,449
RI$2,333 $1,547 $2,905 $2,351 $1,438 $939$1,275 $1,827
SC$1,650 $2,059 $979$1,459 $1,294 $1,089 $1,422
SD$1,682 $1,398 $706$2,849 $943$1,298 $827$1,446
TN$1,777 $1,065 $970$1,464 $1,141 $895$1,090 $1,200
TX$2,488 $1,303 $1,908 $1,493 $1,109 $1,745
UT$1,442 $1,417 $906$1,466 $1,154 $1,174 $1,269 $1,266
VA$1,277 $859$1,061 $754$785$947
VT$1,759 $469$1,242 $954$2,233 $1,079 $1,289
WA$1,415 $1,260 $922$1,140 $866$746$858$1,042
WI$1,521 $1,346 $766$1,039 $2,797 $1,158 $721$1,265
WV$2,000 $1,030 $2,419 $1,288 $1,362 $979$1,513
WY$1,918 $1,604 $1,369 $922$1,017 $1,366

Each state has minimum insurance requirements, meaning location will impact car insurance rates. 

How much is minimum coverage with Amica?

Here’s what drivers can expect to pay for minimum coverage with Amica, which includes bodily injury and property damage coverage. 

Average Minimum Coverage Monthly Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
Allstate$50
American Family$48
Farmers$56
GEICO$31
Liberty Mutual$64
Nationwide$49
Progressive$39
State Farm$33
Travelers$37
Average$45
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Since the state minimum insurance requirements vary, location can impact the cost of minimum coverage with Amica and other auto insurance companies. 

How much is full coverage with Amica?

With any insurance company, including Amica, drivers can expect to pay more for full coverage than they would for minimum coverage. 

Monthly Minimum Full Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$160
American Family$116
Farmers$138
GEICO$80
Liberty Mutual$173
Nationwide$115
Progressive$105
State Farm$86
Travelers$99
Average$119
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Although full coverage is not required, it offers added protection that can keep drivers safe financially in the event of an accident. 

Amica Auto Insurance Rates for Teen Drivers

Below are Amica’s rates for teen drivers. 

Annual Full Coverage Teenage Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies
Insurance Company16-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record16-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record18-Year-Old Male with a Clean Record18-Year-Old Female with a Clean Record
Allstate$7,654$7,299$6,223$5,381
American Family$5,761$4,682$4,684$3,452
Farmers$8,901$9,330$7,238$6,879
GEICO$3,743$3,573$3,043$2,635
Liberty Mutual$9,339$8,592$7,593$6,335
Nationwide$5,714$4,926$4,646$3,632
Progressive$9,766$9,617$7,941$7,090
State Farm$4,191$3,730$3,408$2,750
Travelers$10,762$8,506$8,750$6,271
National Average$7,315$6,695$5,947$4,936

Teen driver car insurance rates tend to be higher than any other demographic due to their inexperience. 

Amica Auto Insurance Rates for Adult Drivers

Young adult drivers who choose Amica will often see lower rates than teen drivers because they have gained experience. Young adult drivers have access to certain discounts with Amica. So even though their rates aren’t as low as adult drivers, they can still save on their monthly rates.

Similar to young adults, adult drivers often have several years of driving experience, making them less likely to file a claim. As a result, their rates are lower than rates for teen and young adult drivers. 

Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Age and Gender for the Top Insurance Companies
Age and GenderAllstateAmerican FamilyFarmersGEICOLiberty MutualNationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersNational Average
18 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$519$390$603$254$633$387$662$284$729 $496
18 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$448$288$573$220$528$303$591$229$523$411
30 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$177$129$160$87$198$139$136$103$106$137
30 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$168$109$154$90$173$127$131$94$98$127
45 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$160$110$133$80$172$115$195$86$97$118
45 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$162$109$134$80$170$113$112$86$96$118
55 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$152$104$126$76$163$109$100$82$92$112
55 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$153$103$127$76$161$107$106$82$91$112
65 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$157$108$130$78$169$112$102$84$95$115
65 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$157$106$130$78$169$112$109$84$95$115

Most drivers see this decrease in car insurance rates around age 25. 

Amica Auto Insurance Rates for Senior Drivers

Below are Amica’s rates for senior drivers. 

Annual Full Coverage Senior Auto Insurance Rates for the Top Insurance Companies
Insurance Company60-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record60-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record
Allstate$1,847$1,797$1,878$1,900
American Family$1,190$1,175$1,291$1,276
Farmers$1,474$1,383$1,561$1,568
GEICO$892$872$941$938
Liberty Mutual$1,890$1,758$2,022$1,991
Nationwide$1,253$1,189$1,347$1,327
Progressive$1,143$1,105$1,234$1,312
State Farm$912$912$1,010$1,010
Travelers$1,065$1,052$1,145$1,130
National Average$1,296$1,249$1,381$1,383

Although senior drivers have many years of experience on the road, they can be seen as risky to insure, so rates can be higher than adult drivers. 

Amica Auto Insurance Rates After a Speeding Ticket

Here are Amica’s rates for drivers after a speeding ticket. 

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$225$160
American Family$175$117
Farmers$198$139
GEICO$132$80
Liberty Mutual$234$173
Nationwide$161$115
Progressive$186$105
State Farm$102$86
Travelers$139$99
Average$152$123
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Speeding can cause an accident, so when a driver receives a speeding ticket, they can be viewed as an unsafe, reckless driver. 

Amica Auto Insurance Rates After an Accident 

A car accident can have a similar impact on car insurance rates as a speeding ticket because it can signal to the insurance company that you are not a safe driver. 

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with an Accident
Insurance CompanyRates with an Accident
Allstate$237
American Family$166
Farmers$198
GEICO$132
Liberty Mutual$236
Nationwide$165
Progressive$190
State Farm$107
Travelers$157
Average$176

Typically, an accident can stay on a driver’s record and impact car insurance rates for at least three years. 

Amica Auto Insurance Rates After a DUI

Here are Amica’s rates for drivers after a DUI. 

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUI
Allstate$303
American Family$177
Farmers$191
GEICO$213
Liberty Mutual$325
Nationwide$252
Progressive$146
State Farm$124
Travelers$230
Average$218

Since a DUI is another type of violation, it can increase your monthly auto insurance rates.  

Amica Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with Poor Credit

A driver with a poor or bad credit score is more likely to file a claim than a driver with good or excellent credit. With a higher likelihood of filing a claim, these drivers are seen as risky to insure, so they pay higher rates for car insurance.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
American Family$203$136$116
Farmers$269$161$139
GEICO$148$100$82
Liberty Mutual$357$226$176
Nationwide$165$132$120
Progressive$206$137$109
State Farm$200$117$90
Travelers$194$127$107
Allstate$296$196$166
Average$226$148$123

Drivers who improve their credit scores may see lower rates upon renewal. 

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Amica Mutual Insurance Company Discounts Available

Amica offers drivers the following discounts to help lower their insurance rates:

  • Bundling. Customers who buy multiple Amica policies can save up to 30%. 
  • Paid in full. Earn a discount for paying your premium in one payment. 
  • AutoPay. Earn a discount for automatically paying your premium using your preferred payment method.
  • Paperless. Earn a discount for receiving your Amica bills and documents electronically. 
  • Multi-car. Customers who own two or more cars that are insured with Amica can save up to 25%.
  • Loyalty. Customers who stay with Amica for at least years see lower rates. 
  • Homeownership. Available to customers who own a home.
  • Young driver training. Drivers younger than 21 can earn a discount for completing an accredited driver training program. 
  • Good student. Earn a discount for full-time high school or college students between ages 15 and 25 with a B average or higher listed on your auto policy. 
  • Student away at school. Earn a discount for having a full-time student who is away at school on your auto policy. 
  • Legacy. Earn a discount for children younger than 30 whose parents have had an Amica policy for at least five years.  
  • Accident-free. Earn a discount for going three years without filing a claim. 
  • Defensive driver training. Earn a discount for completing a driver safety course. 
  • Anti-theft. Earn a discount for insuring a vehicle with anti-theft devices. 
  • Electronic stability control. Earn a discount for insuring a vehicle with electronic stability control.
  • Passive restraints. Earn a discount for insuring a vehicle with passive restraints, such as airbags. 
  • Forward-collision warning. Earn a discount for insuring a vehicle with a collision-avoidance feature. 
  • Adaptive headlights. Earn a discount for insuring a vehicle with adaptive headlights. 

Depending on the state, not all discounts are available. 

Amica Mutual Insurance Company Coverage Options

Amica offers the following car insurance coverage:

  • Bodily Injury Liability. Pays for medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, and funeral expenses for other drivers and passengers involved in an accident you caused. 
  • Property Damage. Pays for damage to vehicles and other property for others involved in an accident you caused.  
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury. Pays for your medical bills, lost wages, and other injury expenses resulting from an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver. 
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Property Damage. Pays for vehicle damage resulting from an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver. 
  • Medical Payments (MedPay). Assists with medical expenses for you and your passengers following an accident.
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP). Pays for medical bills, lost wages, funeral expenses, and loss of services for you and your passengers following an accident.  
  • Collision. Collision insurance covers the cost of repairing or replacing your vehicle after it is damaged due to a collision with a vehicle or object, such as a tree or guardrail. 
  • Comprehensive. Comprehensive insurance covers the cost of repairing or replacing your vehicle after it is vandalized, stolen, or damaged by extreme weather, such as an earthquake, hurricane, or a fallen tree. 

Though it’s not required, many drivers choose to purchase a combination of liability, collision, and comprehensive coverage, which is referred to as full coverage car insurance.

How much car insurance do I need from Amica?

Part of your responsibility as a driver is determining how much car insurance you need. This means there are several things you need to consider to ensure you choose the right car insurance company and the right coverage.

Here’s what to consider when determining how much car insurance coverage to purchase:

  • Coverage options. Depending on your state, you’ll purchase the minimum required coverage, but additional coverage can offer you the financial protection you need.
  • Coverage amounts. Coverage amounts determine how much Amica will pay in the event of an accident, so you want to ensure you have enough coverage to keep you protected in any scenario.  
  • Cost of policy. Coverage types and limits factor into the cost of your policy, so you’ll want to confirm your rates and whether or not you can afford it. 
  • Deductible. If you opt for collision and/or comprehensive coverage, you’ll have to pay a deductible before insurance repairs or replaces your vehicles, so it is best to choose a deductible you can afford. 

Remember, Amica offers various discounts, so whether you choose to have minimum or full coverage, you may be able to catch a break on your premium. 

Amica Add-On Car Insurance Coverage Options

Amica offers the following add-on car insurance coverage options: 

  • Auto/Loan Lease Coverage. Also known as GAP insurance, it pays the difference between the vehicle’s value and the remaining amount owed on the loan or lease. Available to drivers with collision and comprehensive coverages and must be added within 30 days of the lease or purchase date. 
  • Full Glass Coverage. Pays for repair or replacement of your auto glass with no deductible. 
  • Roadside Assistance. Also known as towing and labor coverage, it pays for emergency roadside assistance, including towing, jump-start, gas delivery, and flat-tire change. 
  • Rental Reimbursement. Pays for the cost of a rental car, rideshare, taxis, buses, and trains following the loss of transportation resulting from an accident. 

If you buy any of these add-ons to supplement your Amica auto insurance policy, you will see your rates go up.

Amica Platinum Choice Auto

Amica Platinum Choice Auto offers drivers certain insurance coverages in a convenient package, which includes the following:

  • Credit and identity fraud monitoring. Monitors credit files and personal information to deliver timely alerts regarding any unusual activity.
  • New car replacement. Replaces a totaled vehicle with a new one if the vehicle is less than one year old with no more than 15,000 miles. 
  • Glass repair or replacement. Replaces or repairs auto glass without chagrin drivers a deductible. 
  • Prestige rental coverage. Covers the cost of a rental car similar to your damaged vehicle, up to $5,000, with no daily limit.

Each coverage option included in the Platinum Choice Auto package can be added to your policy as an individual add-on, but you will see a rate increase.

Does Amica offer any other special services?

Unfortunately, Amica lacks some of the programs you might find at other insurance companies. For example, Amica does not offer pay-per-mile insurance or a usage-based insurance program. 

Amica also does not offer rideshare insurance. If you drive for Uber, Lyft, or another rideshare service, you must purchase rideshare insurance from a different auto insurance company. 

Additional Insurance Products Offered by Amica

Amica offers the following insurance products in addition to auto insurance:  

  • Renters insurance
  • Home insurance
  • Condo insurance
  • Life insurance
  • Umbrella insurance
  • Wedding and event insurance
  • RV and travel trailer insurance
  • Boat insurance
  • Motorcycle insurance
  • Flood insurance
  • Pet insurance
  • Small business insurance

Remember, when purchasing multiple policies from Amica, drivers receive a bundling discount. 

Does Amica have a mobile app?

Customers can use the Amica mobile app to complete the following tasks: 

  • Manage bills and payments
  • File and track claims
  • View Amica policies
  • View insurance cards 
  • Request roadside assistance
  • Request paper copy of proof of insurance
  • Contact customer service

The Amica mobile app is available to both Apple and Android users. 

How to Pay for Amica Auto Insurance

Amica customers can pay for their car insurance using the following payment methods:

  • Checking account
  • Savings account
  • Debit card
  • Credit card

Payments can be made online, through the mobile app, by calling the Amica insurance phone number at 800-492-6422, or by mail at Amica Mutual Insurance, P.O. Box 9128, Providence, RI 02940-9128.

Amica offers customers four different payment plans for their car insurance:

  • Monthly. Pay your premium in monthly installments. 
  • Quarterly. Pay your premium in four installments.
  • Semiannually. Pay your premium in two installments.
  • Full payment. Pay your premium in one installment.

If you choose to pay for your premium in more than one installment, you can sign up for Autopay and avoid installment fees, which vary by state. The payment will be automatically deducted from your preferred payment method on the due date. 

Once you purchase your car insurance policy from Amica, you can create an online account, where you can complete the following tasks:

  • Update personal information
  • Manage payments
  • View and print Amica car insurance ID cards
  • E-sign Amica documents
  • File and track claims
  • Upload and view Amica claim documents

Customer service is also available to assist with the tasks mentioned above. 

How to Contact Amica 

Amica customer service can be reached the following ways:

  • Live Chat
  • Online contact form
  • Phone at 800-242-6422
  • Mail at Amica Mutual Insurance Company, PO Box 9128, Providence, RI 02940-9128

Customers can also contact a local Amica office for assistance. To locate the nearest Amica office, visit the website and enter the city and state or ZIP code. 

How to File an Amica Insurance Claim

Following an accident, customers can file claims online, through the mobile app, or by phone at 800-242-6422. 

Here’s what information you need to file a claim with Amica: 

  • Names and addresses of involved drivers, passengers, and witnesses
  • Location of accident
  • Make, model, and license plate numbers of vehicles involved

Once the claim is filed, Amica will investigate the accident and determine who was at fault. Customers who pay a deductible can potentially get reimbursed if found not at fault. Additionally, any payments issued on claims can be sent electronically or by mail within two days of Amica receiving all requested information and documentation. 

Amica will request drivers get an estimate or appraisal for minor damage and send it in for review. However, for severe damage, Amica will assign an appraiser to come and inspect the vehicle and determine the cost of repairs. Drivers can then have their vehicle repaired by the shop of their choice. 

If it is determined the cost of repair is higher than the appraiser’s value, they will reinspect the vehicle and write a supplemental appraisal. Payments will be sent directly to your repair shop if the shop is part of the Auto Repair Assistance Program.

Customers with questions or concerns regarding the claims process can log into their online account and track their claims or contact customer service. 

How To Get Amica Auto Insurance Quotes

Interested in a car insurance quote from Amica? You can visit the Amica website or contact customer service by phone at 800-492-6422 to get a quote.

The following information is required to receive a quote from Amica: 

  • Name
  • Address
  • Contact information (phone and email address)
  • Date of Birth
  • Vehicle information (make, model, year)

After you enter the information and answer a few questions, you’ll be presented with your insurance quote. If you wish, you can adjust coverages to better fit your needs. Once you determine the cost of an Amica car insurance policy, you can decide if you want to move forward with your purchase. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Amica expensive?

Amica’s rates vary based on several factors, so all drivers will pay different rates. However, Amica auto insurance offers multiple discounts that can lower your auto insurance rates to something more affordable.

Is Amica better than GEICO?

The cost of insurance from Amica and GEICO varies based on different factors, but Amica has higher claims satisfaction and offers more of a variety of discounts than GEICO.

Is Amica worth the money?

Yes, Amica is worth the money because of the variety of unique discounts and coverage options available to its customers.

Who owns Amica?

Amica Mutual Insurance Company owns Amica Auto Insurance, but as a mutual insurance company, it is owned by the policyholders. 

What does Amica stand for?

Amica is also known as Automobile Mutual Insurance Company of America. 

What information do I need to file a claim with Amica?

To file a claim with Amica, customers must provide the following information: 

 

  • Names and addresses of involved drivers, passengers, and witnesses
  • Location of accident
  • Make, model, and license plate numbers of vehicles involved

 

Once the claim is filed, it can be tracked online from the driver’s Amica account.

How can customers contact Amica?

Amica customer service can be reached via

 

  • Live Chat
  • Online contact form
  • Phone at 800-242-6422
  • Mail at Amica Mutual Insurance Company, P.O. Box 9128, Providence, RI 02940-9128

 

Customers can also contact a local Amica office for assistance

Does Amica offer payment plans for car insurance?

Amica offers customers four payment plans for their car insurance:

 

  • Monthly. Pay your premium in monthly installments. 
  • Quarterly. Pay your premium in four installments.
  • Semiannually. Pay your premium in two installments.
  • Full payment. Pay your premium in one installment.

 

Customers who opt for one full payment can earn a discount.

What is Amica Platinum Choice?

Amica Platinum Choice Auto is a package that offers drivers certain insurance coverages, including:

 

  • Credit and identity fraud monitoring. Monitors credit files and personal information to deliver timely alerts regarding any unusual activity.
  • New car replacement. Replaces a totaled vehicle with a new one if the vehicle is less than one year old with no more than 15,000 miles. 
  • Glass repair or replacement. Replaces or repairs auto glass without chagrin drivers a deductible. 
  • Prestige rental coverage. Covers the cost of a rental car similar to your damaged vehicle, up to $5,000, with no daily limit.

 

Each coverage option included in the Platinum Choice Auto package can be added to your policy as an individual add-on.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

Reviews
for Amica Mutual Insurance Company

4.22 (768 reviews)
2
June 24, 2022

mandafae

Good coverage, bad customer service

I was with Amica for over 13 years. I had one accident in that time, and, while my coverage was great, customer service was generally unhelpful. I'm trying to resolve an issue (that their poor customer service caused) now that my policy has been cancelled, and customer service is even worse. I've been told I'll receive call-backs and haven't received them, and agents are completely unwilling to even try to help. I haven't made many calls to them ...
I was with Amica for over 13 years. I had one accident in that time, and, while my coverage was great, customer service was generally unhelpful. I'm trying to resolve an issue (that their poor customer service caused) now that my policy has been cancelled, and customer service is even worse. I've been told I'll receive call-backs and haven't received them, and agents are completely unwilling to even try to help. I haven't made many calls to them in the last 13 years, but they always seemed like they couldn't get off the phone fast enough unless they were trying to sell me something.
1
January 11, 2022

Rnbowens_

Discussed and Hurt

We have been a loyal customer of Amica auto insurance for at least 13 yrs. Our First and only claim happened in Dec 2021. The accident happened out of state so we are made arrangements to get our personal belongings ($1800+). And some sentimental items out of the vehicle. On at least 3 separate calls the Amica representatives told my wife not to go because of the distance and they will send a Rep to the vehicle and everything in the trunk and ins...
We have been a loyal customer of Amica auto insurance for at least 13 yrs. Our First and only claim happened in Dec 2021. The accident happened out of state so we are made arrangements to get our personal belongings ($1800+). And some sentimental items out of the vehicle. On at least 3 separate calls the Amica representatives told my wife not to go because of the distance and they will send a Rep to the vehicle and everything in the trunk and inside the vehicle will be placed in boxes and mailed to us. They assured us that they have done this for customers for years and we had nothing to worry about and we will be getting our belongings. Well one month later we got an envelope with 5 minor items. We have been lied to over and over and have taken another major lost. We are beyond discussed and hurt.
1
October 1, 2021

ACustomer

Reprehensible, criminal practices

This company’s business practices are beyond reprehensible and criminal. My husband, having been a loyal customer, for much over a decade, with both cars and home ensured by Amica, called to understand what it might cost in the future, if he were to insure his teenage boy, once he gets a license. We knew the child may be insured through either one of the parents, and we didn’t decide at this point in time how we would want to proceed. The cu...
This company’s business practices are beyond reprehensible and criminal. My husband, having been a loyal customer, for much over a decade, with both cars and home ensured by Amica, called to understand what it might cost in the future, if he were to insure his teenage boy, once he gets a license. We knew the child may be insured through either one of the parents, and we didn’t decide at this point in time how we would want to proceed. The customer rep, without prior notice, proceeded to ask some information about the child, then quoted 3000 dollars for the yearly insurance. He then proceeded to tell us that once the child gets a license, he will be automatically added to the insurance policy, without prior consent from the policy owner. We explain that we explicitly prohibit him from adding the child to the policy, since there will be other ways we are looking at ensuring him. The clerk proceeded to tell us that there was nothing we could do about this, and that we will be charged and the child will automatically be put on the existing policy - since the clerk was able to get a hold of identification information for the child, from us. Of course my husband lost it. And the clerk simply hang up. Needless to say, they are now losing our business, and hopefully additional business in the future. I don’t know in what world, an organization is legally able to force someone to pay 3000 dollars for services they refuse to buy from them, while also stripping them of any human dignity, by telling them there’s nothing they could do about it. The call was recorded. This has got to make a great case for litigation.
2
August 9, 2021

Dale549

Don't trust Amica to give you good rates.

In Nov. of 2020 I received a notice of cancellation on my Home Owners and Umbrella policy. Both these policies were on auto pay from a bank that I have had an account with for more than 30 years. The account never has a balance less than $70,000. To date Amica has not been able to explain how this happened. In July of this year I decided I had better make a complete review of all my accounts to see what what going on. I found that my new Jee...
In Nov. of 2020 I received a notice of cancellation on my Home Owners and Umbrella policy. Both these policies were on auto pay from a bank that I have had an account with for more than 30 years. The account never has a balance less than $70,000. To date Amica has not been able to explain how this happened. In July of this year I decided I had better make a complete review of all my accounts to see what what going on. I found that my new Jeep was showing a load from some outfit in NC. I live in KS and purchased and paid cash for the vehicle. Again no explanation from the agent as to how this happened. I also found that when Amica changed their policies from 12 months to 6 months they increased the premium on one of my vehicles 54%. Since the other vehicle was new I could not make a direct comparison but noticed that it was 16% higher than what I was paying for the 3 vehicles previously on the policy plus that was with 3 drivers on the policy. All conversations with the agent about these issues net no explanation as to why these this were happening. Brief shopping around with other reputable insurance companies resulted in annual policy savings in the $3,000 and $4,000 range. I would not consider Amica to be a reputable insurance company an proves the point that you should check rates with other companies regularly. You can't trust any of them, let alone Amica.
5
January 5, 2021

dreammmm123

great service

They were the best price by far but also the most comprehensive. The coverage was better at a lower rate. The agents were wonderfully personal and responsive.
3
January 2, 2021

Jacjyyyyyy

positive stuff

nothing out of the ordinary just the usual stuff but I would recommend them anyway because I kinda liked them
4
December 16, 2020

KDPlazed123

Review of Amica

The overall customer experience with the insurance has been fantastic overall, as I was able to come my claims and issues with the my vehicle.
5
October 17, 2020

Basketref

Great Company

Awesome company, great prices, and customer service are great. I have always received great service and the people are very friendly and understand me all the time.
5
October 4, 2020

shanjoybud

Amica is a great company...

I have had only great experiences with Amica. Their customer service was excellent and they helped me right away after I had my car accident, giving me a rental car without question of fault. Very affordable, even for full coverage. They've been an awesome insurance company to have for my vehicle, and as soon as I start driving again, I'll be sure to call them first!
5
October 2, 2020

loochiesimba

customer service

great customer serice and easy to work with. Talked to someone over the phone and they couldn't be more knowledgable or friendly
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.buyautoinsurance.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption