Safeco Auto Insurance Review 2022

Safeco car insurance comes with many coverage options but has a relatively high number of customer complaints.

UPDATED: Dec 7, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

UPDATED: Dec 7, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 7, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our auto insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different auto insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 7, 2022Fact Checked
4.0
buyautoinsurance.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Safeco Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$849

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Has a lower number of customer complaints compared to other companies
  • Offers policies with accident forgiveness and diminishing deductibles
  • Customers can customize their auto policy coverage
  • Bundle discounts are available for multiple policies
  • Discount programs like the “Right Track”

Cons

  • The ratings for customer satisfaction are below average for car insurance claims
  • You have to work with an agent to obtain an initial quote

The Bottom Line

Safeco provides a variety of discounts for drivers that will make your life easier by not having to choose between coverage and costs. It rewards good drivers and makes it easy to access the information you need about your policy. 

The company has an A rating from A.M Best, meaning it’s financially equipped to cover your claims and provides other coverage such as home and pet insurance.

Safeco really is a one-stop shop for all your insurance needs and offers unique auto insurance add-ons that can save you money after an accident or collision. You can bundle multiple policies to save even more money.

To see how much you can save with Safeco, enter your ZIP code below. You’ll get free auto insurance quotes from local companies to compare insurers against one another and see which can offer you the best rates possible.

If you are searching for car insurance that provides coverage variety, discounts, and bundles for an affordable price, Safeco might be worth checking out. 

Before you start shopping for car insurance, think about what car insurance coverage you want and what you’re required to buy in your state. Minimum coverage requirements vary based on where you live, but laws typically require liability insurance and uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage.

Full coverage insurance can give you extra protection. Still, this kind of coverage isn’t just one niche Safeco policy type — it’s a mix of Safeco policy types like liability, collision, and comprehensive insurance.

This guide discusses the kind of insurance Safeco offers so you can decide if it is the right auto insurance company for you. Keep reading to compare Safeco car insurance rates and policy types and learn more about the company’s customer service ratings.

Is Safeco Insurance a Good Choice?

Despite cheap rates and a varied array of insurance options, Safeco has a higher number of complaints. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Safeco rating is 1.33, meaning it receives a few more complaints than other mid-size insurance companies. 

Safeco also performed just below average in the J.D. Power customer and claims satisfaction studies.

Safeco Customer Satisfaction Review
J.D. Power Customer Satisfaction StudySafeco Insurance Rating
Claims Satisfaction871/900 (#12 out of 18 companies)
Insurance Shopping Satisfaction845/900 (#10 out of 11 companies)
Overall Satisfaction (Southeast)847/900 (#8 out of 16 companies)
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Although its claims satisfaction is relatively high, Safeco insurance reviews place the company somewhere in the middle of the pack when compared to the competition.

However, you may find better customer service with another insurer. This is why it’s important to shop around and compare more than just insurance rates before you decide to buy auto insurance. 

How to Make an Auto Insurance Claim With Safeco

Claim phone support is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, by calling 1-800-332-3226. You can also file a claim through your online account or on the Safeco mobile app. 

You will need the following information handy when filing your claim:

  • Your policy number
  • Resulting damage
  • The accident information, along with a description
  • Contact information

Once you file the claim, you can check the status via the mobile app or online. To help your claim run smoothly, you can upload photos of any damage through the app.

How To Cancel Your Safeco Car Insurance

Canceling your policy will have to be done by contacting your independent agent. Make sure to have your name and policy number ready to give to the agent. 

Make sure to ask for written or email confirmation of your canceled policy before ending the call. Also, jot down your renewal date and lock in a new insurer before you cancel to ensure no lapse in coverage.

Safeco Insurance Rates

The average cost of auto insurance in the United States is roughly $1,070 yearly and $89 monthly. Safeco offers lower-than-average rates at around $71 monthly, or $852 per year, for drivers with good records.

Safeco also has different discounts that vary by the situation to help good drivers get the lowest rates possible.

Here are the average Safeco auto quotes by driving profile.

Safeco Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates Based on Driving Record
DriverU.S. AverageSafeco Insurance Rates
45-year-old male with a clean record$1,431$849
45-year-old female with a clean record$1,433$869
45-year-old male with a DUI$2,507$1,466
45-year-old female with a DUI$2,513$1,502
45-year-old male with an accident$2,072$1,317
45-year-old female with an accident$2,079$1,351
45-year-old male with a ticket$1,761$1,069
45-year-old female with a ticket$1,762$1,090
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Your Safeco car insurance rates will increase if you have a speeding ticket, accident, or DUI on your record. Take a look at the table below to get an idea of how much your rates can increase after a single traffic ticket.

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$225$160
American Family$175$117
Farmers$198$139
GEICO$132$80
Liberty Mutual$234$173
Nationwide$161$115
Progressive$186$105
State Farm$102$86
Travelers$139$99
Average$152$123
Get Your Rates Quote Now

The same goes for being involved in an accident that was your fault.

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with an Accident
Insurance CompanyRates with an Accident
Allstate$237
American Family$166
Farmers$198
GEICO$132
Liberty Mutual$236
Nationwide$165
Progressive$190
State Farm$107
Travelers$157
Average$176

Drivers will see the largest increase in rates if they have a DUI on their record. 

Average Monthly Rates for the Top Insurance Companies for Drivers with a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUI
Allstate$303
American Family$177
Farmers$191
GEICO$213
Liberty Mutual$325
Nationwide$252
Progressive$146
State Farm$124
Travelers$230
Average$218

Your rates will also go up if you are a young or teen driver. However, Safeco auto insurance rates are more affordable than average, even after an accident. 

Now you have insight into what your Safeco Insurance quotes may look like by the type of driver you are. In addition, you can get even lower rates by qualifying for Safeco insurance discounts.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Safeco Insurance Discounts Available

A few notable Safeco auto insurance discounts include multi-car policies and discounts for anyone who has completed a driving course. If you have never made an insurance claim, 

Safeco will automatically reduce the collision deductible by $100 with each annual policy renewal up to $500 or five years.  Those are just a few perks to having Safeco auto insurance. 

Here are some additional discounts offered by Safeco Auto Insurance. Each discount may vary depending on your state:

  • Discount for taking a driving course. If you take a driving class on accident prevention, a discount could be coming your way.
  • Discount for having safety features. If your car includes certain safety features, Safeco will provide a discount.
  • Discount for having multiple policies. You can save up to 15% by bundling insurance policies together through Safeco. 
  • Discount for having multiple vehicles. Receive a discount if you insure multiple vehicles under the same policy. 
  • Discount for being a safe driver. A clean driving record while driving a safe car model  — with the addition of taking an accident prevention course — can earn you multiple safe driving discounts, which you can stack to save even more money on auto insurance. 

These discounts can make an enormous difference in your monthly auto insurance quotes and will be an incentive to continue being a good driver on the road. 

Add-On Features for Safeco Car Insurance

Safeco offers more ways to save money beyond just discounts, including add-on features that can help save you money after a car accident.

Here are some bonus features that Safeco Auto Insurance provides:

  • Diminishing deductible. Safeco will reduce your collision deductible each year, up to $500 or five years, if you don’t make a car insurance claim.
  • Accident forgiveness. After a set number of years with no violations or accidents, Safeco Car Insurance will not raise your rates after your first accident.
  • Claims-free cash back. You can receive a check for 2.5% of your premium every six months if you remain with no claims.

Not all auto insurance companies provide these extras, so you may want to shop with Safeco if you could benefit from these perks. 

Safeco Insurance Coverage Options

Safeco allows drivers to customize their auto insurance coverage, and there are many different policy options you can buy that will save you considerable loss. 

Here are the top policy options to showcase: 

  • Pet coverage. Veterinary expenses or a death benefit if your cat or dog is injured or dies in a collision, will be covered.
  • Electronic key and lock replacement. If you need to replace lost or stolen electronic keys, remote control pads, and locks, Safeco will cover it with no deductible.
  • Rideshare coverage. Your personal policy does not cover you when driving for a company like Uber or Lyft, and the ridesharing company’s insurance is limited between rides. Safeco rideshare insurance picks up the slack while you’re driving for work.
  • New car replacement. Safeco will pay to replace your car if it’s stolen or totaled. The vehicle must be less than a year old and have fewer than 15,000 miles on it.
  • GAP coverage. Safeco will pay the difference between what’s left on your loan or lease and the value of your car if it’s stolen or totaled. Be aware that most dealerships will require GAP insurance when you lease a new car. 
  • Custom equipment coverage. This includes permanently installed audiovisual equipment, a modified or custom engine, roll bars, custom wheels, murals, and decals.
  • Rental car reimbursement. This perk will pay for the cost of a rental car service if your vehicle is being repaired after a covered accident.
  • DVD and CD replacement. Will reimburse you if your audio-visual media, such as DVDs, CDs, and videotapes are damaged or stolen.

You can choose to bundle some of these coverage options with Safeco at discounted rates, but your quotes will increase if you want one or more of these add-ons. 

Does Safeco offer other types of insurance coverage?

Safeco offers more than just auto insurance. 

Here are some of the other insurance options available at Safeco.

  • Motor home insurance
  • Umbrella insurance
  • Classic car insurance
  • Motorcycle insurance
  • Condo insurance
  • Boat insurance
  • Identity theft insurance
  • Landlord insurance
  • Off-road vehicle insurance
  • Homeowners/renters insurance
  • Pet medical insurance
  • Golf cart insurance
  • Snowmobile insurance

You can choose to bundle some of these coverage options with your Safeco car insurance to earn discounted rates. It’s also less hassle to have multiple coverage options under one company. 

So, if you want to insure more than one piece of property, Safeco is a competitive and affordable choice. 

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the cost of Safeco Car Insurance?

Although Safeco does not list specific quotes online, it costs around $850 per year or $71 monthly. Your rates will vary based on your driving record, experience, location, age, and car make and model.

Where can I buy car insurance from Safeco?

Once you decide to buy Safeco auto insurance, the only way to get a policy is to contact an independent agent through the Safeco website.

Is there accident forgiveness with Safeco?

Accident forgiveness is implemented with Safeco only for your first crash and as long as you have not filed a claim for several years. Ask to see if you are eligible, as it is not available in every state.

How do I file a claim with Safeco Auto Insurance?

You can file a claim with Safeco Auto Insurance online, with your agent, or through the Safeco app.

Is Safeco considered a good insurance company?

The overall answer is yes. Safeco provides great prices and coverage options, but we found unhappy customers at times, so it can be subjective. You may want to shop elsewhere if you want a better shopping experience or claims service.

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Full Bio →

Written by Sara Routhier
Director of Outreach Sara Routhier

Cynthia Lanctot is an insurance professional with ten years of industry experience. Cynthia is licensed in several states, and holds an associate in claims law, as well as a bachelor’s degree in English. Cynthia’s experience includes the New England and Northeast states. She currently works as a liability claims professional and an occasional online contributor.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Cynthia Lanctot
Licensed Agent Cynthia Lanctot

Reviews
for Safeco Insurance

3.98 (1,143 reviews)
1
November 26, 2022

NatQueenCole

Canceled policy without notice

They have canceled my policy twice now for returned payments. The first one was a bank error. Over draft should've pulled funds from our savings but didn't. 2nd one was after switching credit unions. I received no phone call, text, email or letter about the payment until they canceled. I've been driving with no insurance for a week & didn't even know it!? We definitely would have switched our auto pay account to the new bank right away had we kno...
They have canceled my policy twice now for returned payments. The first one was a bank error. Over draft should've pulled funds from our savings but didn't. 2nd one was after switching credit unions. I received no phone call, text, email or letter about the payment until they canceled. I've been driving with no insurance for a week & didn't even know it!? We definitely would have switched our auto pay account to the new bank right away had we known! Wepay every 6 months so it wasn't caught with the rest of our accounts rights away. We only chose this company because a quote bundled it well with our home policy.
1
November 14, 2022

araeyoung

HORRIBLE company, zero stars

We decided to go with this company because at the time it was the cheapest. We liked them up until we were in an accident where another driver was driving in the wrong lane and hit us head-on. This company is absolute garbage! No one ever answers the phone, we had documents lost which we had to re-sign, and it took months for us to get our money from the accident. And now when I am trying to add another vehicle to our policy, I can't get through ...
We decided to go with this company because at the time it was the cheapest. We liked them up until we were in an accident where another driver was driving in the wrong lane and hit us head-on. This company is absolute garbage! No one ever answers the phone, we had documents lost which we had to re-sign, and it took months for us to get our money from the accident. And now when I am trying to add another vehicle to our policy, I can't get through to anyone. They are SO frustrating to deal with, DO NOT work with this agency.
1
October 13, 2022

shirleystonejones

RUN

If you want to pay a good price for insurance, Safeco is it. If you want them to pay for an accident, Safeco IS NOT IT. I canceled my insurance last February on our snowmobile and added the new one. Then in April, I found out the new one was never added, and I was still paying for the old one. So if we would have gotten into an accident during snowmobiling, we would not have been covered. I never got reimbursed. I complained many times about not ...
If you want to pay a good price for insurance, Safeco is it. If you want them to pay for an accident, Safeco IS NOT IT. I canceled my insurance last February on our snowmobile and added the new one. Then in April, I found out the new one was never added, and I was still paying for the old one. So if we would have gotten into an accident during snowmobiling, we would not have been covered. I never got reimbursed. I complained many times about not honoring their mistake. I was in a car accident in February. I called my agent. He said he would put in the order. I got the quotes he said to get from 2 shops and sent them to him. In May, I had not heard back from him, so I called, and he stated he had forgotten. In April, I called him again he said he would do it right then. I said I've been losing money since February because I can't drive to work. His exact words were, "ok, let's get your car in, get it fixed, and get you on the road." So I did. I got it in a shop, got it fixed, and sent him the bill. It was denied. I went to corporate, and they did not honor what the agent told me to do, and now I have a huge bill. I called my agent to have a vehicle added because I was going to take it on a 7-hour drive. He did not do it, so I drove it on the interstate, and if I would have been in an accident or gotten pulled over, I would have gotten into so much trouble. I called corporate, and they honored nothing. But I got insurance at a good cost with lots of coverage but no company honor to pay. I'm in the process now of hiring an attorney to sue them, and he says I have a solid case. I gave them many chances to make their many mistakes right, but they refused. They finally canceled the old snowmobile, and I guess that makes it right in their eyes, but it doesn't. I paid my bill every month for a service I may or may not have needed, and when I did, they screwed me over. This has been almost a year, and that is long enough to hope they would do the right thing with me.
5
September 21, 2022

RioRobin

Safeco is awesome!!

We unfortunately had to file our first claim this week. After many years of paying insurance, we were a bit apprehensive as this was the cheapest insurance we could find. Several times other companies have tried to steal us, but rates dont come close to safeco. [REDACTED NAME] [REDACTED NAME] was our claim manager, and I cannot say enough great things about her, but will try: She was very patient and answered all our questions in a clear to und...
We unfortunately had to file our first claim this week. After many years of paying insurance, we were a bit apprehensive as this was the cheapest insurance we could find. Several times other companies have tried to steal us, but rates dont come close to safeco. [REDACTED NAME] [REDACTED NAME] was our claim manager, and I cannot say enough great things about her, but will try: She was very patient and answered all our questions in a clear to understand way!! She showed sincere sympathy for our situation, and worked hard to get our claim handled in less than 2 days! We hope you realize, She is one of your companies greatest assets! Thank you [REDACTED NAME] and everyone at safeco for taking care of your customers!! Robin & Mark [REDACTED NAME]
2
September 16, 2022

Ado86

Loss of savings if using RightTrack

It seems to be an okay insurance Company but there RightTrack Savings Program penalizes you if you happen to either leave for or head home from work in between the hours of midnight and 4:00 a.m. penalty seems to be $30 of loss in savings every time you have to drive during those hours until you reach a $0 savings which I think is ridiculous
1
September 14, 2022

Jrosec18_gmail_com

[REDACTED NAME] and her team of crooks!!!

We have been loyal customers for years and just attempted to file our first claim. No one replies in a timely manner. They do not answer the phone and will refuse to pay any claim. [REDACTED NAME] had the worst attitude and basically treated me as if I was a liar. Then she sends a letter dated 9/8 which was received 9/13 overnighted on the package that we have to comply with her unreasonable request by 9/15 or they will deny the claim. Last 6 mo...
We have been loyal customers for years and just attempted to file our first claim. No one replies in a timely manner. They do not answer the phone and will refuse to pay any claim. [REDACTED NAME] had the worst attitude and basically treated me as if I was a liar. Then she sends a letter dated 9/8 which was received 9/13 overnighted on the package that we have to comply with her unreasonable request by 9/15 or they will deny the claim. Last 6 months of bank statements, auto loan bill showing amount, name on the bill, and account number, proof we were where we said we were from 9/1-9/3, my wife’s drivers license, phone records of our call logs from 9/1-9/8. This is completely absurd. I have never been through this with any business or insurance company. We leave messages to no avail and still get nowhere. This company is full of crooks who are pros at it. The only thing you get when you pay for this insurance is proof you have insurance. Don’t ever file a claim because they will do everything on their power to deny it.
1
September 1, 2022

TwTJenn

Horrible customer service!

I was in a car accident last week. The company representative kept calling telling me I had to get my things out of the car and I needed to release the vehicle to them so they can move it to their facility immediately. When I did, it took the insurance company a week to move the car, and perform their valuation. Now, they don't want to pay me the valuation of the car! And they haven't paid the finance company yet either! This insurance company is...
I was in a car accident last week. The company representative kept calling telling me I had to get my things out of the car and I needed to release the vehicle to them so they can move it to their facility immediately. When I did, it took the insurance company a week to move the car, and perform their valuation. Now, they don't want to pay me the valuation of the car! And they haven't paid the finance company yet either! This insurance company is a bunch of thieves. The only way the agents communicate with you is via email as well. No personal customer service. I definitely do not recommend them at all.
1
August 11, 2022

Angry_customer

Safeco's going to kill us

Late winner of 2021 in the middle of the night on a desolate road with no shoulders we experienced a flat tire. We had to pull into a ditch and required roadside assistance from Safeco insurance. After sitting for 5 hours and no tow truck I know answers from Safeco insurance we had to call 911 because diabetes untreated is deadly and we needed to get some insulin for my husband. If it wasn't for the police officer a tow truck would not have come....
Late winner of 2021 in the middle of the night on a desolate road with no shoulders we experienced a flat tire. We had to pull into a ditch and required roadside assistance from Safeco insurance. After sitting for 5 hours and no tow truck I know answers from Safeco insurance we had to call 911 because diabetes untreated is deadly and we needed to get some insulin for my husband. If it wasn't for the police officer a tow truck would not have come. The tow truck only arrived thank you to the Idaho State patrol. It is August 11th 2022 and we are requiring road assistance again. After 3 hours of waiting I was able to get a ride back into town while my husband stayed out on the side of the highway with no shade in 100° weather waiting on Safeco to get a tow truck. They kept insisting we use their hyperlinks when there was no internet service where we were broke down at. my husband is still on the side of the road I have since called Safeco to figure out what can be done and their solution was to either again have the police handle it for them or to simply abandon our vehicle on the side of the road. I did ask Safeco insurance if I could file a formal complaint and was refused. After speaking with about 10 different staff members all I got was asinine explanations of policies and procedures that did not apply to the situation at hand. Talk about some salt on the want. We've held this policy for over 10 years you think of business would appreciate their customers a lot better. Putting people's lives in danger because you want to follow a script should be against the law. Shame on you Safeco insurance how dare you put people's lives in danger
1
July 30, 2022

spencercarpenter

This company is horrible

I was a victim of an accident where the other party admitted fault. Decided that did not want to sue because the insurance stated they would fix my car at any given auto shop. At the very start of the claim, Safeco/ Liberty Mutual was very distant and not at all communitive with me about the process. I had to initialize everything with everyone in the process except the auto shop was impossible to get in touch with. Finally a month or more later ...
I was a victim of an accident where the other party admitted fault. Decided that did not want to sue because the insurance stated they would fix my car at any given auto shop. At the very start of the claim, Safeco/ Liberty Mutual was very distant and not at all communitive with me about the process. I had to initialize everything with everyone in the process except the auto shop was impossible to get in touch with. Finally a month or more later I was able to get my car in the shop and they helped me to even get a rental car for work. I live paycheck to paycheck in these hard times and need a car for work every day. Then the emails between Mr. [REDACTED NAME] and Mr. [REDACTED NAME] stated the rates and what they would be paying. Safeco in the rates was severely undercutting the rates given by the auto fix shop (the only Mazda-certified shop in Arizona). The great communications of the auto shop were met with very poor communications by Liberty mutual. This has to be the worst insurance experience I've gone through. Safeco stated that they would not budge and never contacted me about any of this, I had to find out when trying to pick up my car when it was fixed. I live an hour and a half away from the auto shop, not to mention throughout the process had to take 2 non-paid days off work (I can't afford this). Safeco stated my car was fixed and needed to be picked up or I would have to start paying for the rental car out of pocket. The auto shop stated that same day that they would start to charge me storage fees if not picked up that day. When I arrived they stated that the insurance refused to pay the $770.47 for the labor fees and that I will not be getting my car back till it was paid. I don't have $770.47 for this surprise expense. I needed a car, communicating with Safeco/Liberty Mutual was no help at all. They said that I would have to cover this and that they would not be helping at all. They said I get to pick the auto shop, but nothing was communicated about me having to pay this surprise expense and was never able to get in touch with Mr. [REDACTED NAME] throughout the entire process (called, emailed, voicemail). Communication was the biggest factor where Safeco/Liberty Mutual failed, because if I was told that I would have to pay for something that I know I didn't have the money for then I would have taken my car to a shop less expensive.
1
June 23, 2022

Aethurbe

They secretly cancel your policy

They are extremely shady in that they will send you new cards and tell you you are set for automatic renewal, then cancel your policy when you don't pay. They make it very unclear that there's still a bill to be paid and that it is not an automatic payment. Then after going months without insurance because they secretly cancel the policy, they reinstate you at a higher charge when you figure it out. They do not tell you your policy got canceled a...
They are extremely shady in that they will send you new cards and tell you you are set for automatic renewal, then cancel your policy when you don't pay. They make it very unclear that there's still a bill to be paid and that it is not an automatic payment. Then after going months without insurance because they secretly cancel the policy, they reinstate you at a higher charge when you figure it out. They do not tell you your policy got canceled and allow you to be uninsured unknowingly for months. Stay far away from this company.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.buyautoinsurance.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes Now

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption